1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Scangage Question?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Jimsc, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. Aug 19, 2010 at 3:35 AM
    #1
    Jimsc

    Jimsc [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Member:
    #40413
    Messages:
    468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab
    Aries Nerf Bars, Cargo Seperator
    Does anyone know if you can get the outside temp reading on a 2010. It is my understanding that it has the temp sensor installed.
     
  2. Aug 19, 2010 at 3:42 AM
    #2
    Trap

    Trap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Member:
    #37878
    Messages:
    901
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Indego Ink TRD OR
    Electric Tail Gate Lock, EZ Down + Cable Mod, Galvanized Underbody, DK 9000, CloudRider SS Grill insert. BakFlip HD, Cabin Air Filter mod, Alarm, Zero Rust !
    How many temperature readings do you need, is there not one already in the overhead?
     
  3. Aug 19, 2010 at 3:56 AM
    #3
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I don't believe the 09+ 2GEN w/ temp sensors go thru same wiring as the older models. Something about in goes into the HVAC controls. There are some posts here that explain it.
    FWIW, I have a scangauge & it plugs into the ECU & is limited even with its Xgauge capabilities to read much more than it advertises.
    I haven't seen a hack here anyways.

    I added a wireless outside/inside temp gauge to my non-TRD truck. It was $10 at Walmart & works great. Even painted it with testors to match the interior.
     
  4. Aug 19, 2010 at 9:26 AM
    #4
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,872
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    I haven't gotten the outside temp to read on my 09 through the standard SGII commands or thru various X-Gauge settings
     
  5. Aug 19, 2010 at 10:22 AM
    #5
    Jimsc

    Jimsc [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Member:
    #40413
    Messages:
    468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab
    Aries Nerf Bars, Cargo Seperator
    Thanks the Wal-Mart idea sounds good!
     
  6. Aug 19, 2010 at 10:28 AM
    #6
    709GADE

    709GADE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Member:
    #26073
    Messages:
    273
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '09 Toyota Tacoma 4X4 SR5 DC LB - Pyrite Mica
    Toyota aluminium side steps, Toyota door sill protectors Extang trifecta tonneau cover, U-Haul Class 3 hitch, Black Weathertech's, Front mudflaps trimmed 4", OEM Fog Lights, WeatherTech Bug Deflector, 13" Stubby antenna, TRD Skid Plate, ScanGaugeII, Carriage Works Billet Grille, Plasti Dipped overhead temp/compass console, LT265/75/16 Duratrac's LR C
    This is what I use;
    [​IMG]

    I mounted the wireless sensor in the box cubby. Works pretty good and at least gives you some idea of the outdoor temp... $10 at wally world
     
  7. Aug 19, 2010 at 10:29 AM
    #7
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,872
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Ambient air temp
     
To Top