1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Scangauge Question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by grammy, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. Sep 13, 2009 at 7:29 PM
    #1
    grammy

    grammy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Member:
    #7158
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Male
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Vehicle:
    4x4 v6 X-Cab
    Can anyone tell me if the Scangauge II X can display the outside (ambient) air temp? This would be for an 09.

    Thanks
     
  2. Sep 13, 2009 at 7:34 PM
    #2
    gavonder

    gavonder She's Kickass!

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Member:
    #3825
    Messages:
    390
    Gender:
    Male
    Bethel, Ct
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Sunroof, Leer Cap w/ Thule rack, Factory Running Boards, Fog Light Mod, Hood Struts, Scangauge, w/homemade mirror mount, AC/Defrost mod, Rear Spring TSB, TRD Center Caps
    no, it does not.

    GA
     
  3. Sep 13, 2009 at 7:36 PM
    #3
    afd23a

    afd23a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9483
    Messages:
    1,838
    Gender:
    Male
    The Dynamo of Dixie
    Vehicle:
    05 Access Cab 5 Lugger
    Factory Fog Lights, Removed Secondary Air Filter, Metra Ipod Adapter, Int Wiper Stalk, Wet Okole's, URD Short Shifter, Scanguage II w/Blendmount, Fat Bob's 2.75" spacer lift, ARE topper, SP Performance Pads & Slotted Rotors, 4.10 gears
    On my 05, it can display the air intake temp, which uses a different sensor than the compass/temp gauge.
     
  4. Sep 13, 2009 at 7:37 PM
    #4
    Snyperx

    Snyperx Seniore Marcos

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Member:
    #11838
    Messages:
    672
    Gender:
    Male
    It only displays the intake air (IA) temperature. That's as close to outside ambient temperature you are going to get.
     
  5. Sep 13, 2009 at 9:55 PM
    #5
    carmellocafe

    carmellocafe Begin With The End In Mind.

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Member:
    #17267
    Messages:
    2,266
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    KEVIN
    N. California
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR Access cab longbed
    If you have the gauge set on intake temp. and check it after the engine has been shut off for a long while, the reading is actually very accurate. Also at highway speeds it will give you a close enough "ballpark" figure.:)
     
  6. Sep 13, 2009 at 11:37 PM
    #6
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,254
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    With the stock intake my intake temp is usually 4 to 10 degrees higher than the overhead temp display.
     
  7. Sep 14, 2009 at 4:22 AM
    #7
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,254
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    X2
     
  8. Apr 28, 2010 at 7:27 AM
    #8
    swbimny

    swbimny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Member:
    #33340
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San diego
    Vehicle:
    4X4
    I found someone with a 2010 toyota yaris had entered ambient air temperature in Xgauge and was successful getting outside air temp. I tried the same values for CANSF as he did but no luck. Wondering if anyone else has tried this. It matches the Scangauge website.

    Ambient Air Temperature (F)
    07DF0146 04410546 2808 00090005FFD8
    AIR Degrees Fahrenheit
     
  9. Apr 28, 2010 at 7:34 AM
    #9
    Jeff3004x4

    Jeff3004x4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Member:
    #24445
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    East Killingly CT
    Vehicle:
    Timberland Mica
    Stock for now
    Scangauge is basically a scan tool, it reads sensors on your vehicle. Your vehicle would have to be equipped with a outside air temp sensor for scan gauge to read it. The Ambient Air Temp function on scan gauge is basically useless. If your vehicle had an outside air temp sensor, it would have a thermometer already. Why would anyone need their scan gauge to read the sensor to display the outside air temp on the scangauge when they already have a thermometer?
     
  10. Apr 28, 2010 at 7:51 AM
    #10
    swbimny

    swbimny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Member:
    #33340
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San diego
    Vehicle:
    4X4
    With my access cab configuration the thermometer display was not an option to purchase. But learning from other posts, I found the temp sensor in front of the radiator by the horn and the wiring harness that goes to the display console above the mirror. Someone said the sensor was also used by A/C so it's needed even without having the display. Can't believe everything we read but just hopeful. Thanks for the reply
     
  11. Apr 28, 2010 at 7:51 AM
    #11
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    If you have it set to read you intake temp you can use it to show the outside air temp first thing. I check mine before I head to work to see the temp every morning. Once u start driving it won't be accurate
     
  12. Aug 14, 2015 at 11:23 AM
    #12
    127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 AKA ::1

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Member:
    #93641
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    /etc/hosts
    Vehicle:
    2013 NBM AC 4.0 4x4 Auto OR
    if the truck has A/C

    scangauge will work

    it is a matter of figuring out the codes for the xgauge for outside temp

    old Yaris codes don't work
    old and new prius codes don't work

    I haven't tried any others. any toyota with a/c has an outside temp
    sensor specifically for the a/c system and it sends temp to cansf bus.

    my yaris scanguage shows outside temp and I got the codes from a prius forum

    scangauge can pick anything up off this bus....but they keep changing
    stuff year to year and outside temp...could be any of 16 possible txd/rxd/mth combos
     
To Top