1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ScanGaugeII XGauge 2nd Gen Auto TransTemp?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by ZanexGt, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. Nov 1, 2010 at 9:02 PM
    #1
    ZanexGt

    ZanexGt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44999
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Fairfax, VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC SR5 4x4
    Hey all,

    I have had a ScanGauge II since 2006. t has the older v3.0 firmware from Linear Logic.

    Since my purchase, the ScanGauge folks have released newer firmware v3.15 with advanced commands and the ability for end users to program new gauges. They call this the XGauge feature(s).

    On the website they tout that folks can use the XGauge feature to monitor things like fuel trim, O2 sensor info, and Auto Trans Temps!

    I can upgrade my scangauge but wanted to check with all you 2nd Gen Auto Trans folks to see if your ScanGaugeII XGauge reads the factory Oil Temp sensors. The ScanGauge website does not list what works for each vehicle. Thanks. -Robert
     
  2. Nov 1, 2010 at 9:11 PM
    #2
    ZanexGt

    ZanexGt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44999
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Fairfax, VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC SR5 4x4
    Bummer. Well, at least I found out before updating the old ScanGaugeII

    Does the UltraGauge read Tranny Temps or is my only option a "gauge holder" A-pillar w/ an Autometer (or equivalent) gauge?
     
  3. Nov 2, 2010 at 6:24 AM
    #3
    ec8

    ec8 Newby

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Member:
    #26083
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Stuart
    Vehicle:
    2006
    From when I Searched on this topic, the Ultragauge does not read the AT temp either. There is another thread about the ScanGuageII and releases of new codes, etc. but not have ever worked for tranny temp.
     
  4. Nov 3, 2010 at 4:56 AM
    #4
    ZanexGt

    ZanexGt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44999
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Fairfax, VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC SR5 4x4
    Thanks. I'll take a look at that thread.
     
  5. Dec 14, 2010 at 8:10 AM
    #5
    Ygorla

    Ygorla New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Member:
    #47645
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Female
    Hey folks,

    Sorry for resurrecting a sorta old thread. I didn't want to start a new one for my question and this seemed like the most recent, semi-relevant thread.

    My boyfriend has a 2nd gen Taco and, in the past, has mentioned wanting to add gauges for, um... transmission temp, voltage and oil pressure. He hasn't gotten them yet, so I figured this would be a good xmas present for him.

    My question: what are the differences between the different gauges (brand and price points)? I've seen pics on here of Phantom gauges (I guess by Autometer) and Cobalt. Why would one pick one type over the other?

    Also, if I wanted to get gauges that closely matched the stock gauges in the truck (I'll have not pay attention next time I'm in there, but I think... white background with amber backlighting?), which ones would I get?

    Sorry for a somewhat dippy post. :) Just trying to figure all this stuff out!

    Thanks in advance!
     
  6. Dec 14, 2010 at 8:17 AM
    #6
    My68ur8trd

    My68ur8trd Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Member:
    #2961
    Messages:
    1,531
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Williamsburg, VA
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD OR Dcab 4x4
    URD Catback | TRD CAI | TRD S/C | APR X-1 | DTLT | APR 2.85" Pulley |Fabtech 6" | Icon C/O | Alcan Leafs | 33 Grabber AT2 | 17" XD Addicts

    There are more options that just the a-pillar.

    I like the cravenspeed flexpod better

    [​IMG]

    I had the A-pillar in my X and I like this setup much better

    Justin
     
To Top