1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

scanguage 2 question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 05TRD4WD, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. Jul 18, 2009 at 5:43 PM
    #1
    05TRD4WD

    05TRD4WD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Member:
    #16710
    Messages:
    678
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Taylor
    Chesapeake, VA
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD OFFROAD 4X4
    ; 17 x 9 xd revolvers wrapped in 295/70-R17, volant cold air intake, Gibson exhaust, BHLM, Yellow fog covers, access rollup tonneau, kenwood dnx-9960, all jl audio, jl stealth box, 900/5 amp, Fab Tech 6" lift
    hi

    i've been thinking about one and was wondering about the vehicle speed function and does it go off the speedo in the truck or does it go off of itself

    e.i. if the speedo in the truck was off from larger tires will the scangauge also be off
     
  2. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:06 PM
    #2
    gavonder

    gavonder She's Kickass!

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Member:
    #3825
    Messages:
    390
    Gender:
    Male
    Bethel, Ct
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Sunroof, Leer Cap w/ Thule rack, Factory Running Boards, Fog Light Mod, Hood Struts, Scangauge, w/homemade mirror mount, AC/Defrost mod, Rear Spring TSB, TRD Center Caps
    It gets the signal from the computer, so I think it would be off if the tires are a different size.

    GA

    it actually reads more accurate than the speedo
     
  3. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:17 PM
    #3
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    it reads the info from the computer, but you can input a percentage into the SG2 for your larger tires. It will then display the correct speed on the unit(not the factory speedo though, it'll still be off) and the trip functions on it will give you an accurate distance traveled as well.
     
  4. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:17 PM
    #4
    littledvl

    littledvl ride BMX!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Member:
    #10345
    Messages:
    3,667
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Saint Leonard MD
    Vehicle:
    08 taco dc 4x4 / 15 tundra dc 4x4
    Too many to list
    Well I just installed the scangauge II today and its reading within 1-2mph off my speedo. according to my gps if im doing 65mph, my scangauge is reading 59, and my speedo is reading 60.
     
  5. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:19 PM
    #5
    05TRD4WD

    05TRD4WD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Member:
    #16710
    Messages:
    678
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Taylor
    Chesapeake, VA
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD OFFROAD 4X4
    ; 17 x 9 xd revolvers wrapped in 295/70-R17, volant cold air intake, Gibson exhaust, BHLM, Yellow fog covers, access rollup tonneau, kenwood dnx-9960, all jl audio, jl stealth box, 900/5 amp, Fab Tech 6" lift
    what is the percent you enter the percent larger height of the tire
     
  6. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:19 PM
    #6
    RDAY

    RDAY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11700
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    NY
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    ahh man i had a big misunderstanding on this i was about to order one i thought it would read ur correct spped on ur speedometer. what do i need for that because i don't want to be racking on extra miles with diffrent tires.
     
  7. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:24 PM
    #7
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    the stock tires are 30.5", and say you are running 33's, the you'd take 33/30.5= 1.08 which means you'd want to bump the reading by 8%.
    How would you be racking up extra miles on the odo? If you run larger tires, you'll travel slightly farther than the odometer would tell you so you'd actually get more warranty. :)
     
  8. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:26 PM
    #8
    05TRD4WD

    05TRD4WD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Member:
    #16710
    Messages:
    678
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Taylor
    Chesapeake, VA
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD OFFROAD 4X4
    ; 17 x 9 xd revolvers wrapped in 295/70-R17, volant cold air intake, Gibson exhaust, BHLM, Yellow fog covers, access rollup tonneau, kenwood dnx-9960, all jl audio, jl stealth box, 900/5 amp, Fab Tech 6" lift
    thanks
     
  9. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:29 PM
    #9
    RDAY

    RDAY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11700
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    NY
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    oh my bad i had it backwards it would just be nice if it corrected the speedo as well
     
  10. Jul 18, 2009 at 6:38 PM
    #10
    05TRD4WD

    05TRD4WD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Member:
    #16710
    Messages:
    678
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Taylor
    Chesapeake, VA
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD OFFROAD 4X4
    ; 17 x 9 xd revolvers wrapped in 295/70-R17, volant cold air intake, Gibson exhaust, BHLM, Yellow fog covers, access rollup tonneau, kenwood dnx-9960, all jl audio, jl stealth box, 900/5 amp, Fab Tech 6" lift
    yea that would be nice
     
  11. Jul 19, 2009 at 4:52 AM
    #11
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    Changing the speedo on the dash and/or the data in the computer would require a change of whatever 'mechanicals' that reads the data and inputs it into the computer.

    For example - in Jeep Wranglers.... there's a gear inside the transfer case that is removable. Depending on your tire size & gears (in the diff), you need a different teeth count to make the speedo read correctly. The Jeep dealerships actually sell the different gears to install to correct the speedo.

    I have no idea how Toyota's work. Do some research...maybe someone has some ideas on how to mechanically change the input to the computer. Or maybe it can't be done at all. That's where the Scangauge comes in.....it's probably the best bet aside from buying an expensive programmer.
     
To Top