1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Scanguage question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by snowgod06, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. Jan 1, 2010 at 10:05 AM
    #1
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 [OP] UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,386
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab CLONE
    crap bolted and welded together....
    Can you use a scanguage to recalibrate the speedo? Mines off by about 5mph's once you get to about 45mph. And i seen some other units out their that can recalibrate the speedo, but hoping the scanguage can.
     
  2. Jan 1, 2010 at 10:08 AM
    #2
    NetMonkey

    NetMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Member:
    #8536
    Messages:
    1,725
    Gender:
    Male
    Geogetown, TX
    Vehicle:
    2010, 4x4, DC, off-road, shortbed, automatic
    Toytec Ultimate Lift @ 3", Mickey Thompson MTZ's 285/75/16, Moto Metal 955b, rear 2" ALL, Marlin Crawler sliders
    you can use it to REPORT the actual speed, but it will not recalibrate your speedometer.
     
  3. Jan 1, 2010 at 11:04 AM
    #3
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,254
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    There is a setting to adjust the speed reading displayed on the scangauge.

    For example: my speedometer in dash displayed 55 and scangauge displayed 55, but gps system displayed 53. So I was able to use the scangauge settings to adjust the scangauge display to show 53. But the in dash gauge still shows 55.
     
  4. Jan 1, 2010 at 11:20 AM
    #4
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 [OP] UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,386
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab CLONE
    crap bolted and welded together....
    ok guys thanks. I hope then i can get a scanguage soon to help me out. I dont want tot risk the heaps of tickets ill get if i get pulled for speeding. I say that after i let my father borrow my truck, he got pulled for speeding since the speedo is off. Didnt get a ticket tho,but im looking at about $1000 in violations on my truck in oregon in i get pulled over.
     
  5. Jan 1, 2010 at 11:25 AM
    #5
    fletch aka

    fletch aka www.BeLikeBrit.org

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Member:
    #12223
    Messages:
    7,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Left Coast
    Vehicle:
    09 Magnetic Gray TRD OffRoad
    TRD cat back exhaust, TRD Cold Air Intake, differential breather mod' Hellwig rear sway bar, 16x8 TRD Ivan Stewart's, Michelin LTX A/T2, DTRL Stealth Mode Mod, custom "Texas Edition" shift knob, Sock's "Classic" bedside decals, MetalMiller custom grill emblem, 20% front tinted windows, tinted taillights, Viper alarm, ScanGauge II, Flyzeye Designs V2W Tacoma Interior LED lighting, de-mud flapped, de-badged, extra D-rings under bed bolts, WeatherTech ED floor mats, G4 Elite Fold a Cover ,Toyota bed mat, tailgate theft deterrent device and absolutely no plasti-dip!

    Your speedo is going to show the speed by 1-3 MPH to fast. Both my GPS and Scangauge read the same. My speedo is off by 2 MPH (fast) at all speeds.
     
  6. Jan 1, 2010 at 11:27 AM
    #6
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 [OP] UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,386
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab CLONE
    crap bolted and welded together....
    id be happy with 2MPH, but mines off by 5MPH (fast), starting at 45MPH.
     
  7. Jan 1, 2010 at 11:29 AM
    #7
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    His might be off due to larger tires. I haven't heard about the speedo being off in the pre-2009 models. Seems to be just the 2009's(perhaps 2010 too?). Mine is off like yours.
     
  8. Jan 1, 2010 at 8:30 PM
    #8
    Terrier

    Terrier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3288
    Messages:
    223
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2008 SR5 Access Cab 4x4 2.7
    When my speedometer shows 80 mph, my gps shows 75 mph.
     
To Top