1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Scosche kit bounces!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by blacksandtaco, Jun 6, 2009.

  1. Apr 21, 2012 at 9:07 PM
    #41
    DavidS

    DavidS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Member:
    #73030
    Messages:
    76
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma TRD Sport
    We really don't have any options. You and I both have 2012's and nobody actually make a dash kit to fit our rigs. Apperently, Scosche will have them available in May so I would recommend you wait a few more weeks before pulling the trigger. I'm using a 2011 dash kit on a temparary basis and it is obvious that it doesn't fit correctly.
     
  2. Nov 24, 2012 at 1:08 PM
    #42
    scottobot

    scottobot Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Member:
    #71486
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    scott
    dallas
    Vehicle:
    TRD 2WD
    leveling kit, navigation, audio
    yellow clips part number 90467-10203
     
  3. Nov 27, 2012 at 7:21 PM
    #43
    bkmcinty

    bkmcinty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Member:
    #79103
    Messages:
    1,322
    Gender:
    Male
    Fort Myers, FL
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5
    Black Badges
    He said anal hehe. I have had both kits and never had that problem with either one! Although i have always had single din radios so the weight of the double din im sure could be the issue.
     
  4. Nov 27, 2012 at 11:48 PM
    #44
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    3,440
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    Prerunner SR5
    The 2012 Scosche kit has metal brackets. Fits good.
     
  5. Aug 31, 2013 at 10:11 AM
    #45
    bravosvo

    bravosvo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Member:
    #30871
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm having the same issue with the Scosche trim (finish) piece not fitting. How have you guys resolved this?
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2013
  6. Aug 31, 2013 at 10:42 AM
    #46
    FlashCulprit

    FlashCulprit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Member:
    #107459
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    N. Attleboro MA
    Vehicle:
    10' SR5 Tundra
    New truck. Mods to come!
    The unit I got fit pretty tightly on installation. Where is it not fitting? Make sure you push the top in first so it snaps in the factory clips.
     
  7. Aug 31, 2013 at 1:30 PM
    #47
    bravosvo

    bravosvo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Member:
    #30871
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm talking about the trim bezel piece that's supposed to fit into the 4 notches on the main panel of the kit. The bezel that surrounds the head unit.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2013
  8. Aug 31, 2013 at 3:08 PM
    #48
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    11,638
    Gender:
    Male
    Buy new stock clips for the kit from Toyota. Solved my issues.

    You can also wrap the clips in a thin foam like Ensolite from Raam Audio and that helps with squeaking.
     
  9. Aug 31, 2013 at 4:49 PM
    #49
    bravosvo

    bravosvo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Member:
    #30871
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    There seems to be some confusion as to what part I'm talking about. It's the thin bezel that comes with the kit that is not part of the main mount that uses the yellow oem clips.
     
  10. Aug 31, 2013 at 5:25 PM
    #50
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    No confusion... those are the only clips on any part of the factory system.
    Metal side plates bolt to the HU and the whole thing sides in, secured with screws behind the AC panel.
    The clips go on the front bezel and will kinda hold the unit in place until you run the 4 bolts in.

    Aftermarket kits, the front bezel is a separate piece, popped in after the HU is mounted, and ONLY the clips hold it in place. Without the clips, it's only retained by the tension on the wires on the hazard/clock module.
     
  11. Sep 1, 2013 at 10:53 AM
    #51
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    11,638
    Gender:
    Male
    My tabs broke on mine. Little double-sided 3m tape fixed it right up.
     
  12. Sep 1, 2013 at 2:50 PM
    #52
    DMS

    DMS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Member:
    #62330
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    HI
    Vehicle:
    '11 MGM DCSB TRD Sport
    It's the thin black finish trim piece that is inset into the main gray panel and surrounds the head unit correct? How is it not fitting? You may need to fiddle with positioning of the head unit as you tighten down the four bolts. There's only a small gap all around for that trim piece to fit...so if the head unit is not centered, it may be hard to snap the trim piece in place. Mine fits well, with a very small even space all the way around.
     
  13. Sep 4, 2013 at 3:50 AM
    #53
    Yaozer

    Yaozer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Member:
    #100689
    Messages:
    464
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2011 Red DCSB TRD Sport
    Flowmaster exhaust, 3" Old Man Emu lift, Konig Countersteer Rims, and too much more.
    I had the scosche double din kit for a dnx890 and I installed the oem metal brackets from the factory radio bc the plastic ones that came w the kit had holes that didn't align well. They were also kind of flimsy. I used ensolite to pad the brackets along w the factory yellow clips, but the head unit rattled like a dildo at low speeds w the drivetrain vibration.

    Im currently using the metra kit, but I'm bummed that the scosche kit didn't work bc it seemed like it was sturdier.
     
To Top