1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sensor 1 Bank 1

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by NH03TacomaTRD4x4, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. Dec 21, 2011 at 11:13 AM
    #1
    NH03TacomaTRD4x4

    NH03TacomaTRD4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Member:
    #23932
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    03 TRD Double Cab 4x4 Tacoma
    Hi guys my check engine light came on and I had it checked it said sensor 1 Bank 1 AFR. is this something I can fix in my driveway? its an 03 TRD 3.4 liter. Had a mechanic look at it and said the sensor cost $179 his cost.

    Any help is appreciated
    Thx
     
  2. Dec 21, 2011 at 11:20 AM
    #2
    meatman

    meatman I deal with dead animals

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53630
    Messages:
    3,678
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Murphy N.C.
    Vehicle:
    (built) 04 Tacoma SR5 4x4 and 01 TRD 4x4 DD
    More than the wife knows!
    I got both o2 sensors shipped from rock auto for 180.00 they are denso brand. I have read that it better to replace them both at the same time and never use anything but denso on our trucks they are very picky that way.
     
  3. Dec 21, 2011 at 2:54 PM
    #3
    NH03TacomaTRD4x4

    NH03TacomaTRD4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Member:
    #23932
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    03 TRD Double Cab 4x4 Tacoma
    Thx Meatman I called around to local autoparts places and the cheapest one was Sanels at $150.29 for the sensor. And at Rockauto.com they are $97.79.

    Thx for the info. Now I need to find out if I can do it myself or not.
     
  4. Dec 21, 2011 at 4:00 PM
    #4
    meatman

    meatman I deal with dead animals

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53630
    Messages:
    3,678
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Murphy N.C.
    Vehicle:
    (built) 04 Tacoma SR5 4x4 and 01 TRD 4x4 DD
    More than the wife knows!
    I dont think its too bad it is just 2 nuts i think 10mm. but i would hit it with pb blaster for several days before. I did'nt do mine for the lack of time and let my mechanic do it as a trade off for some processing i did for him
     
  5. Dec 21, 2011 at 4:35 PM
    #5
    slidyr

    slidyr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Member:
    #51504
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    I recently did mine the rear harness is easily accessible. Also don't know if your truck is 5 speed or not if it is you will have to remove the trim and boots to access the harness which will be located toward the rear and down a little, you can see it once you get to it just be careful unplugging the old harness. And PB blaster or something similar will make the bolt removal easier.
     
  6. Dec 22, 2011 at 3:55 AM
    #6
    NH03TacomaTRD4x4

    NH03TacomaTRD4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Member:
    #23932
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    03 TRD Double Cab 4x4 Tacoma
    Does anyone have a write up on how to do this or know of a book that explains it? My truck is a 3.4 liter V6 Automatic. and it is the front banks I need to replace.

    thx
     
  7. Dec 22, 2011 at 4:04 AM
    #7
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    This is for a manual....
    http://www.lieblweb.com/o2replacement.html

    The only difference - is probably the routing of where the wires go and where its plugged in. Not that hard to figure out.....

    Just remove the sensor and follow the wiring to the plug & unplug it.
     
  8. Dec 22, 2011 at 4:26 AM
    #8
    Toyota Tech31

    Toyota Tech31 Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Member:
    #62769
    Messages:
    10,378
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Debary, Florida
    Vehicle:
    '08 SWB Bad ass SPORT
    Air Raid air intake, 40 Series Flowmaster Muffler, Front Turn Signals Now Turn And Park, KENWOOD HEAD UNIT W/ ALL KENWOOD SPEAKER UPGRADES AND 2-10" KENWOOD SUBS BEHIND BACK SEAT, Bilstein 5125'S In Rear W/ 1.5 AAL'S, Bilstein 5100 W/ Eibachs Up Front, LR Upper control arms, NFAB steps, Bruteforce Fab Hybrid front bumper, LP10000 SuperWinch, 2 Rigid Industries SRM-2's, OKLedlightbars 6 CREE LED lights as fogs, AVID RBG, 2 4" red ring HIDs mounted behind the grille.
    In 12+ years in this business i have never recommended both sensors be replaced at the same time. I have on many occasions replaced one or the other with no issue. Save your money OP.
    It is just 2 nuts, they are 12 mm nuts, go easy with them when you remove them, i have had more than a few strip out on me during removal. The heat is a bitch on them.
     
To Top