1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

shims

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by jnoley07, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. Nov 13, 2009 at 2:59 PM
    #1
    jnoley07

    jnoley07 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Member:
    #2796
    Messages:
    1,297
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black DC TRD SPORT 4X4
    Will I need axle shims if I install 5100's? I have a leveling kit now, and am going to be taking it off to install the 5100's. I currently have a small driveline vib at 35mph. Just wondering? Thanks fellas
     
  2. Nov 13, 2009 at 3:03 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,154
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    You can install them and see if it helps the vibe. If not, they are easilly removed.
     
  3. Nov 13, 2009 at 3:04 PM
    #3
    jnoley07

    jnoley07 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Member:
    #2796
    Messages:
    1,297
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black DC TRD SPORT 4X4
    I have em sitting in the garage, just havent had the time to do it.
     
  4. Nov 13, 2009 at 3:21 PM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    Are you changing anything in the rear suspension?

    The front suspension (5100's) won't have anything to do with the driveline vibration......

    So, if you currently have a vibe and you're not changing anything in the rear - then I would recommend installing the shims and see if that helps.

    What size shims are they? 2.5* is the smallest you can get and probably all you'll need.
     
  5. Nov 13, 2009 at 7:05 PM
    #5
    jnoley07

    jnoley07 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Member:
    #2796
    Messages:
    1,297
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black DC TRD SPORT 4X4
    Yeah I have the 2.5* degree shims from toytech.
     
  6. Dec 2, 2009 at 9:51 PM
    #6
    baldy77

    baldy77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Member:
    #11041
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Offroad Doublecab Speedway Blue
    3" Toytec Adj Coilovers w/Bilstein 5100's front and rear, Toytec TSB AAL, LR UCA, Avid Weld-on Sliders, A.R.E. CX Topper.
    Did you ever install the shims? i'm curious because i just added a leaf to my rear with the 5100s and i think i have a 5-10mph vibration; not sure if i'm being paranoid. if you did install them, did that solve your problem?
     
  7. Dec 3, 2009 at 4:17 AM
    #7
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    As Chris mentioned above....buy some 2.5 degree shims (they're cheap), install them and see if it helps. The install should be fairly easy if you do some research and get some people to help you with it.

    If you install the shims properly without any other issues - you really can't go wrong and it won't hurt anything.
     
To Top