1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Should I install radio myself or take it in?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by loaderman82, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. Nov 21, 2010 at 7:38 PM
    #1
    loaderman82

    loaderman82 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Member:
    #43964
    Messages:
    523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dalton
    Flippin, AR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Off-Road
    Just bought the Pioneer P3200BT and it is on it's way! Got it online at Best Buy and thought about taking it in to be installed, but my wife wants me to try to put it in myself to save some money. Only problem is that I've never done this sort of thing and don't know what all I need to install it! So, should I take it in a just spend the extra $150 or try it myself?
     
  2. Nov 21, 2010 at 7:43 PM
    #2
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,776
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    You should be able to do it. Are you installing new speakers or any kind of steering controls? That was the hard stuff for me. If you're just putting in the new unit you're pretty much just matching colors!
     
  3. Nov 21, 2010 at 7:48 PM
    #3
    Detective_Dan

    Detective_Dan "Place original and witty user title here"

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Member:
    #27235
    Messages:
    4,506
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB Beast / 2016 Yamaha FZ-07
    Pelfreybilt Plate Bumper, Pelfreybilt Sliders, OME 886/Dakars, SCS F5's, 33" Ko2's, Cobra 75WXST/3' Firestik, oil catch can, aero turbine 2525, rear differential breather extension, bedmat, weathertech digital fit front/rear, BHLM, custom shiftknob (made by me),
    if you have NEVER wired up a radio before, be ready for a screw up. its simple if you screw up, you will be able to hear static or what not. just get it all wired up via the diagram, and go into the settings and change the speakers to front right, then front left, back right, back left and make sure they all sound good and are not crackly or static and you should be good to go :thumbsup:
     
  4. Nov 21, 2010 at 7:49 PM
    #4
    loaderman82

    loaderman82 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Member:
    #43964
    Messages:
    523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dalton
    Flippin, AR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Off-Road
    no new speakers, but would like to have the steering wheel controls and the DVD player work while driving! Does the radio come with all the wiring needed?
     
  5. Nov 21, 2010 at 7:51 PM
    #5
    Taco76087

    Taco76087 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Member:
    #29458
    Messages:
    4,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Weatherford,Texas
    Vehicle:
    04 Tacoma prerunner TRD SR5
    Rockford Fosgate p2 10'', Q-Logic Enclosure, JVC KD-PDR30 Ipod Connection, Rockford p200.2 Amp, Clear Corners, KING Coilovers, Rancho Rear shocks FJ TRD Trail Teams Wheels with 285/75/16 Duratracs
    They make wiring kits that are sold at walmart that all you have to do is solder the wires together by color and connect the connector.
     
  6. Nov 21, 2010 at 7:51 PM
    #6
    JGUT

    JGUT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Member:
    #5115
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Yuma, AZ
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner Off Road Package
    2 Kicker 8" SL5, Kicker 750.1 mono amp, Kicker 200.4 amp, Kicker 6x9's front, Kicker 6.5's Rear, Pioneer AVH-P3200BT, Rear view camera
    I'm gonna try mine myself. I paid $339 for the 3200BT, just bought mine on Thursday. The thing is I have to wait until the 29th for it to come in since it's coming all the way cross country from Virginia. I was too cheap to pay for expedited shipping.

    That price I paid included everything I need. The dash kit, wiring harness and the installation instructions. Plus since it was part of Crutchfields signature series it included lifetime product support. From what I hear their product support line is very helpful when needed.

    Here's the link for anybody who wants to bite the bullet like I did.

    http://www.crutchfield.com/s_130P3200BT/Pioneer-AVH-P3200BT.html?tp=20220
     
  7. Nov 21, 2010 at 7:53 PM
    #7
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,776
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    The radio will come with pretty much all the wire you will heed. Remember you will need your trucks wiring harness if you don't have that. And to make the DVD play at anytime, the wire that they want you to run with the park brake, just ground it.
     
  8. Nov 21, 2010 at 8:00 PM
    #8
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,979
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    It's cake. However you can't just ground the light green wire that posed to go to your parking brake. I posted in your other thread to seach YouTube for the fix, you need to wire in a relay (like 6 bucks at AutoZone) and it's simple also. PM me if you need any help, I'll do my best.
     
  9. Nov 21, 2010 at 8:09 PM
    #9
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    Wiring stereos is easy if wiring things is something that comes naturally to you. If you do not have an aptitude or basic knowledge of car connections then I would pay someone else if I were you.
     
  10. Nov 21, 2010 at 8:09 PM
    #10
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,776
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Mine didn't work at first when I grounded it with the HU ground, but when I grounded it separately it worked just fine. I know nothing about the relays so ^^^ is likely right on that
     
  11. Nov 21, 2010 at 8:55 PM
    #11
    loaderman82

    loaderman82 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Member:
    #43964
    Messages:
    523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dalton
    Flippin, AR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Off-Road
    Holy cow! I just checked out what all this radio can do on youtube! Now I really can't wait to get it, and I think by what all you guys are saying, that I will take it in and get it done right. This unit is amazing!
     
  12. Nov 21, 2010 at 11:52 PM
    #12
    Bozack

    Bozack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37649
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rube
    Dirty South
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC
    Do it yourself. It's easy. I did mine. A Pioneer P4200 w/Btb200. Took about an hour. I used the Scosche kit, and it fits like a glove. http://www.amazon.com/Scosche-010TA...TF8&s=electronics&qid=1290412103&sr=1-2-spell

    Make sure you have the wire harness. Just match wire color to wire color. It will make your life a lot easier. Also, don't forget to tape under the a/c, so you don't scar the trim when removing the a/c panel.

    Last thing. Whatever you plan to install in the future; go ahead and wire it while the radio's out. For instance, RCA cables for a future amp, USB cord, etc. There is a tutorial posted that will show you how to remove stock radio. Or just check tacotunes.com for instructions. Don't worry. You'll do fine and the wifey will be impressed! But good luck anyway.
     
  13. Nov 22, 2010 at 9:14 AM
    #13
    HeadTaco

    HeadTaco PIMP

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12569
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    16 Tacoma TRD Sport Crew Cab
    20" 4Runner Wheels
    I did it myself to save money. I just put in my 3200DVD and its alot easier than you think. I always paid someone to do it for me but it cheaper to do it yourself and you actually take pride in knowing you did it yourself. I used the scosche kit and bout the harness at best buy. Easiest thing i ever hooked up. I used the relay method for the DVD that i found on youtube.
     
  14. Nov 22, 2010 at 10:12 AM
    #14
    IDtrucks

    IDtrucks Just out for a rip are ya bud?

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38254
    Messages:
    20,542
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Boise ID
    Vehicle:
    96' X-Cab 4x4 TRD Off Road Clusterfuck
    JVC Deck, 10" sub mountd in rear seat cubby, 2 LED off road lights mounted in grille, amber raptor style grille lights, LED rock lights, square led bed light, custom made fuse block tray, 12 blade Blue Sea fuse block, 100a marine circuit breaker, black plasti dipped full grille, tinted tail lights + third, Uniden 520 with 4' firestik, Bilstein 5100s with 620lb Eibach coils, Diff drop, Chevy 63 leaf swap, TG creeper joints, 14" triangulated biletein 5125s, 8" extended steel braided brake line, TG Rock Sliders, CBI Moab 1.0 front bumper, custom fabbed bed rack, full TRD E-Locker axle swap and matching re-gear with custom stand alone wiring circuit, 29 spline pinion flange from an 06 wishbone runner, tubbed for 35x12.5" general grabbers on Ultra type 181 wheels, crush sleeve eliminator, Mini ARB compressor, front ARB locker, garage fab aluminum front skid plate, custom built high clearence rear bumper, removable mothafuckin doors
    Installing it your self is pretty easy. I had never done any kind of car wiring before and i installed a new deck, sub, and amp myself. It took a little while but i saved a whole bunch of money by doing it myself.
    Just get the wiring diagram for your truck's radio and your new radio will have a wiring diagram. Just match up the right wires because sometimes the wires out of your truck are not the same colors as the ones out of the new radio. You can solder them or i used wire connecters and electrical tape. It holds together really good. If you decide to do it yourself if you ever run into a roadblock just post up the question and hopefully youll get a quick response. Good luck:thumbsup:
     
  15. Nov 22, 2010 at 11:58 AM
    #15
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    6,000
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Lockers, CBI/Relentless/Pelfrey armor, HAM radio
    If you want it done right, do it yourself.

    You don't know how to do it. Great - you've got the first step down, which is knowing that you need to do some research! Folks get into trouble when they dive into jobs they *think* they know how to do.

    Crutchfield sells a book on how to install your stereo. That's a good start.

    The most important part - and the reason you don't want to have the so called "pro's" do it, is this:

    DO NOT CUT ANY OF YOUR CAR'S FACTORY WIRES!

    The pros think they know better and can get away violating this advice. And they're right. Usually. Sometimes. Mostly. But it sucks when yours is the car that they short something out on.

    So anyway, use mail order and get yourself a custom wiring harness/install kit for your particular car. Read the directions carefully and crimp yourself up a custom wiring harness. Double check it. Triple check it. Quadruple check it. Now you've got l plug and play between your new radio and your existing car's existing wiring harness, so you won't smoke anything.

    You'll need a crimper, a stripper, crimps for the right size wire gauge, and an ohm meter. (Digital multi-meters are really cheap anymore, just go for that.)

    To do the job right, between book, kit, tools, and materials, you'll spend about half of what a "pro" would have charged, and a weekend. But you'll have the satisfaction of knowing you did the job. And you'll have a leg up on your next job.
     
  16. Nov 22, 2010 at 12:04 PM
    #16
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    6,000
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Lockers, CBI/Relentless/Pelfrey armor, HAM radio
    There's one other important lesson I've learned on jobs like this.

    You're not a pro - so you don't need a time clock. The job is done on "hippy time" - it's done, when it's done and not before.

    The reason for this is that there are always complications. If you allow yourself to have time pressure, this will create stress, anxiety, hasty decisions, and mistakes.

    If you're taking the job in its own time, it's fun, relaxing, an engaging challenge.

    This critical difference in mental perspective can't be overemphasized.

    I just installed my new HAM unit over the weekend. Saturday was lost two return-errands back to the store to get the right unit and parts.

    Sunday was the actual job.

    It's not actually finished yet - cosmetic and ergonomicly convenient mounting still to be done. But I can drive my car, and I can listen to the new unit.
     
  17. Nov 22, 2010 at 12:06 PM
    #17
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    If you decide to not do it yourself don't take it to best buy. Not that they are not capable but if you go to a privately owned store I guarantee it will be cheaper. I only charge $100 to do that install with a lifetime labor warranty
     
  18. Nov 22, 2010 at 12:06 PM
    #18
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    6,000
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Lockers, CBI/Relentless/Pelfrey armor, HAM radio
    I've had several "pro" installations done over time, and I ended up disassembling all or part of all of them for various reasons (most commonly component failure years later, but not always!) Only ONE job was done to my satisfaction. The others were all h@lf @ssed in some way.

    EDIT - Daudio and I were posting at the same time. I didn't mean this reply to be "at" you Daudio. I was just relaying my truthful track record with installations. I'm have no reason to believe you don't do a fine job for your clients.
     
  19. Nov 22, 2010 at 4:21 PM
    #19
    loaderman82

    loaderman82 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Member:
    #43964
    Messages:
    523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dalton
    Flippin, AR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Off-Road
    will it make a difference in the price if the installer has to hook up the steering wheel controls or is that part of the wiring harness?
     
  20. Nov 22, 2010 at 7:15 PM
    #20
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,776
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    I would say yes... For me that honestly was the most difficult part.
     
To Top