1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sirius/Factory radio install 2009 Tacoma

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by BPachom, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. Mar 1, 2009 at 2:26 PM
    #1
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    I am sorry that my first post did not show the photos, I am new to this and did not know there is a special way to upload pictures.

    I installed Sirius satellite in an 09 Access cab utilizing the factory satellite ready radio with "sat" button and factory satellite antenna. This was accomplished by installing the SCC1 & TOY-SC1 into/under the center console, connected to the factory radio and factory satellite antenna connection (located in the driver side kicker panel) via the SFA 12M sharkfin adapter.

    Below are photos for reference.

    Equipment needed shown here on Sirius web site, plus the SFA 12M shark fin adapter (approx. $58.00) which can be found on line at other web sites and allows use of the factory installed satellite antenna.
    [​IMG]

    In order to access the kicker panel, the door sill has to be removed.
    [​IMG]
    The door sill is removed by lifting it up with your hand:
    [​IMG]

    Next step is to remove the foot rest by lifting up with your hand;
    [​IMG]

    Removing the foot rest, exposes a plastic knob that unscrews by hand. After removing knob, pull the kicker panel towards the rear of the truck it simply snaps out.
    [​IMG]


    With the kicker panel removed, the factory antenna connection is exposed;
    [​IMG]

    Insert the SFA 12M sharkfin adapter here, and run the other end to the Sirius tuner, hiding the wire in and behind the dash.

    [​IMG]
    The above photo shows the factory radio pulled out from the dash with the factory wire connections. The black plug on the right (second to last) is disconnected, replaced by the Sirius tuner harness and this black factory unplugged connection is plugged into the Sirius harness, see next photo.

    [​IMG]
    Tuck and feed the Sirius harness thru the dash to the SCC1 & TOY-SC1 devices located in and behind the center console, (wherever they are located). Reinstall the factory radio. (FYI… if you notice the long time span between these photos, was due to me searching for the best location of the SCC1 & TOY-SC1. I took this photo after testing all devices and just before re-installing the radio.)


    [​IMG]
    Both units are simply wedged in and stay in place, even after driving on rough terrain. A strong double sided mounting tape would provide additional support.
    My choice for the interface location was easy access as there are settings for display on how it appears on the factory radio (scrolling, number of characters, etc.) and a fuse on this device. So in the event I decided to change the display, or had to replace the fuse, it can be done without any tools.

    [​IMG]
    The above photo shows the SCC1 tuner which can be seen from this angle, but not when sitting in the vehicle and it does not interfere with your passengers feet or anything else.

    [​IMG]
    This is end result, with no clutter or extra components on the console, dashboard, windshield, etc. There are three “SAT” channels (SAT1 is shown) with six settings per SAT. The display setting is showing the channel name (Howard Stern Sirius 100) which by the pressing the “Text” button, can change to the channel number or what song is being played.


    My estimation is from start to finish takes about an hour.
     
  2. Mar 2, 2009 at 8:31 AM
    #2
    napsmears

    napsmears New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9814
    Messages:
    4
    Vehicle:
    09 sr5
    great post

    Just wondering, do you need the vehicle kit also that you have pictured? If so, for what? cables?

    thanks
     
  3. Mar 2, 2009 at 1:35 PM
    #3
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    Napsmears,

    I am glad that you asked, because it is not needed if you are using the SCC1 (tuner) & TOY-SC1 (interface). I had copied the picture from Sirius web site and did not realize that the vehicle kit was in the pictue. In doing a little research on this vehicel kit, it says that is used for;
    SiriusConnect™ Vehicle Kit [​IMG] Model#: SCVDOC1 [​IMG] The SCVDOC1 allows SIRIUS Stiletto and Dock & Play radios with universal docking capability to be connected to and controlled by Sirius-Ready headunits, select OEM headunits, and other SIRIUS compatible controllers when combined with specialty Sirius-Connect interface adapters. Enjoy an integrated radio interface in your vehicle combined with the convenience and mobility of a Portable or Dock & Play radio with a single subscription.
    As indicated in my install, I used the tuner and interface together, all wiring harnesses, etc. were included with the exception for the SFA 12M sharkfin adapter which allows you to connect to the factory installed satellite antenna.

    Note; A magnetic mount Sirius antenna is included with (I believe) the SCC1 tuner, I remember seeing it in one of the two boxes (tuner & interface) but believe it was with the tuner.

    Hope this answers your question.

    Bob
     
  4. Apr 24, 2009 at 5:44 PM
    #4
    jerrome55

    jerrome55 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16396
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Buffalo Texas
    Vehicle:
    Tocoma 2009
    I need some information on sirius insulation on my 2009 tacoma. I installed everything just like you described in your insulation instructions. My am sat button when you press just stays on am It does not even show anything about sat 1,2,3 . Is there any way to test the SCC1 & TOY-SC1 devices to see if bad or not. Or is there any way to test radio. I hve gone over and over on this insulation but can't seem to find anything wrong in my connection. Have you got any suggestions? I also had a ipod interface in my truck. I was told that you can,t have ipod and xm so I diconected it completely and still no results. Any help or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
     
  5. Apr 24, 2009 at 8:52 PM
    #5
    ilovetacos

    ilovetacos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4464
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gavin
    Sacramento/Woodland
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD Sport 4x4 DC
    Sold!
    Nice write up!

    Howard 100 and 101 :thumbsup: The only 2 channels I really listen to on Sirius.
     
  6. Apr 24, 2009 at 10:24 PM
    #6
    acozzens

    acozzens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Member:
    #15791
    Messages:
    175
    Gender:
    Male
    98056 , washington state
    Vehicle:
    06 4d 4wd trd sr5 silver
    Michelin ltx m/s WSU (cougs) License Plate Holder $1.99 Gate Theft Mod DIY HU install DIY SWI-JACK install DIY rear speaker & baffle DIY ipod audio/video interface DIY HD radio DIY Alpine pdx 5 DIY front components install DIY RedLine Tuning Gas hood lift ( very slick ) DIY slimcubby gb hid head/fog DIY extang trifold trifecta DIY dynolock tailgate lock
    nice thread..
    Could be a good place for my hd radio thingy that's in the mail.
     
  7. Apr 25, 2009 at 8:44 AM
    #7
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    Jerome55,

    Wow, I am at a loss with this one. My thoughts are: A) Did the fuse blow on the interface? B) Are all wire the connections between the tuner, interface and factory radio are connected right and/or fully plugged in?

    The other thing to know about (once you’ve fixed the problem) is that the audio level while in satellite mode is much lower than AM or FM radio. Below is the way to adjust or program the volume while in satellite mode so they are equal.

    Wow, I am at a loss with this one. My thoughts are: A) Did the fuse blow on the interface? B) Are all wire the connections between the tuner, interface and factory radio are connected right and/or fully plugged in?

    The other thing to know about (once you’ve fixed the problem) is that the audio level while in satellite mode is much lower than AM or FM radio. Attached (I hope I am doing this right) is the way to adjust or program the volume while in satellite mode so they are equal.

    [FONT=&quot]
    [/FONT]
     
  8. Apr 25, 2009 at 8:45 AM
    #8
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    Thank you.
     
  9. Apr 25, 2009 at 6:06 PM
    #9
    jerrome55

    jerrome55 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16396
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Buffalo Texas
    Vehicle:
    Tocoma 2009
    This may be a silly question, are you able to get the sat 1,2,3 reading before you subscribe to sirius. Just going through the activation subscription it ask if you can hear audio on preview channel 184. I am going back and check all my connections tomorrow i am still confused about my insulation.
     
  10. Apr 25, 2009 at 6:17 PM
    #10
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    Yes, I did see the SAT 1, SAT 2, SAT 3 prior to my Sirius subscribe, as well as the preview channel 184.

    Good luck!
     
  11. Apr 27, 2009 at 5:26 AM
    #11
    marcusx

    marcusx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Member:
    #13178
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Edmonton
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport, Std Trans
    Sirrius Sat, that's it so far..
    DEI US has admitted that they have a problem with TOY-Sc1 not recognizing the SCC1 to me, called in about a current draw problem on my Taco and a customers 08 Tacoma... If your curious, Toy-sc1 = 60ma, and SCC1 = 220ma on 2 different units in each vehicle, i don't know about others i need more to come by the shop.
     
  12. Apr 27, 2009 at 5:50 AM
    #12
    hendooman

    hendooman The Stroker Ace

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14421
    Messages:
    3,040
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO 4Runner

    Good to hear I am not the only one. I ordered my stuff from DSSRADIO, and they acted like they had never heard of the problem.

    When I shut my car off and it is on sat 1,2, or 3, I am good to go, meaning it comes back on when I restart the car. If I shut my car off on aux, am, fm, or cd when I restart and go to hit sat it does not register. Here is the fix: You have to turn off the the key, and cycle the key through acc to on very slowly. It will then come on sat. It seems to me that the SCC1 does not register that the car is turning on when you do it fast like a normal start up. It is rather annoying, I have actually just learned to turn the car off in sat position so it pops up the next time I get in the truck.
     
  13. Apr 27, 2009 at 5:00 PM
    #13
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    It amazes me in some of results when there is an electrical problem. At least the satellite radio works. I imagine the distributor/retailer would replace the equipment under warranty.
     
  14. Apr 28, 2009 at 4:41 PM
    #14
    jerrome55

    jerrome55 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16396
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Buffalo Texas
    Vehicle:
    Tocoma 2009
    I tried turning off and on slowly it still does not work. Have not had a chance to go over all the wiring yet. But did check the fuse (showed to be good). Could there be a xm interface installed from factory? My sirius installation said it would not work it xm box is still pluged in. Has anyone come across this with a 2009 tacoma? If so where is the xm box located?
     
  15. Apr 28, 2009 at 9:36 PM
    #15
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    If your Tacoma has (I doubt it) an XM receiver, it may be located in the passenger side kick panel, or under neath the one of the seats, at least these are the locations where the dealer would install the unit.
     
  16. Apr 29, 2009 at 5:32 AM
    #16
    oghwga

    oghwga Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Member:
    #16562
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    nj
    Vehicle:
    09 dbl cab 2wd sb
    great post. One of the things I like about my Sportster is the ability to pause and rewind the radio. I hardwired it so if I run into the store I can pause it and come back out without missing anything. Does your install allow you to do that? Is there any internal memory?
     
  17. Apr 29, 2009 at 8:53 PM
    #17
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    Thanks.
    The pause, rewind and fast forward options do not exist with this factory radio setup:(. That is one really great feature to have and yes, I do miss it. I did have a Starmate Replay (I think that's what it was) but it was another item on the console, dash or windshield. With the factory radio setup, there are no extra equipment pieces lying around and also less likely for someone to break into the truck to steal the satellite radio, as it's not there.

    Obviously there are trade offs with either option.
     
  18. Apr 30, 2009 at 3:45 AM
    #18
    oghwga

    oghwga Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Member:
    #16562
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    nj
    Vehicle:
    09 dbl cab 2wd sb
    Thanks. That's what I was afraid of. I love the ability to pause HS if I stop for a cup of coffee. Skipping through the commercials is the best. I mounted my Sportster in the opening in front of the shift lever. I couldn't think of what to store there anyway.
    The problem with the Sportster though is output. Even on the highest output settings, the volume on the factory radio is all the way up and it's probably only halfway as loud as a CD would be. (I plug my unit into the Ipod jack in the dash.)

    Still a good write up and thanks again.
     
  19. Apr 30, 2009 at 5:46 AM
    #19
    hendooman

    hendooman The Stroker Ace

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14421
    Messages:
    3,040
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO 4Runner

    As BP said, I doubt you have a xm box, they do not come from the factory. The first time mine didn't switch back to satellite I unplugged the scc1 and then it came back on. I later learned that the slow key on operation works, and you don't need to turn it on and off just on real slow. Turn the car off while in park, when you get to acc try and switch it to sat, if not go to the next position and try sat, don't start truck.
     
  20. Apr 30, 2009 at 5:47 AM
    #20
    hendooman

    hendooman The Stroker Ace

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14421
    Messages:
    3,040
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO 4Runner
    I wish I still had the ability to pause and rewind, and surf channels like you could with the sportster. But on a positive note my sat is the same loudness as my stereo on fm or cd.
     
To Top