1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Smittybilt 2781 in Expedition Essentials Mount

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Jojee117, Aug 4, 2021.

  1. Aug 4, 2021 at 7:34 PM
    #1
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    Their website mentions that it can fit smittybilt and viair compressors, but I only ever see ARB compressors mounted in them. I can only find one picture of their mount with what looks to be a very small viair in there. Has anybody ever cramed a smittybilts 5 SCFM compressor in that mount? I don't have room in the engine bay, and putting the compressor in the bed seems like a better option than behind the rear seats. Or if you have this mount, could you check what the interior dimensions of it are?
    The mount in question: https://expeditionessentials.com/products/toyota-tacoma-bedside-compressor-mount
     
    Grossomotto likes this.
  2. Aug 5, 2021 at 10:16 AM
    #2
    Grossomotto

    Grossomotto Complete 3rd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Member:
    #247175
    Messages:
    8,357
    39.9526° N, 75.1652° W
    Vehicle:
    2017 4WDV6LB6MT
    Last year I put this in the EE bed mount. I'd also recommend 0/1 gauge wire, it's nearly 15' from battery to the storage and most air compressors draw a good amount of amps

    https://www.extremeoutback.com/product/extremeaire-magnum-12-volt-compressor/

    16″ long x 6″ wide x 9.5″ tall

     
  3. Aug 5, 2021 at 10:52 AM
    #3
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    Perfect, the smitty should fit with a little room to spare. I was planning on using 4 gauge wiring as my max amp draw is 45. At over 80, yours is a monster, I see why you used thicker wiring. Thanks for the info!
     
    Grossomotto likes this.
  4. Aug 5, 2021 at 4:06 PM
    #4
    Grossomotto

    Grossomotto Complete 3rd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Member:
    #247175
    Messages:
    8,357
    39.9526° N, 75.1652° W
    Vehicle:
    2017 4WDV6LB6MT
    The experts here can figure out the gauge minimum if you know your amp draw and it's about 15 feet. There's a chart somewhere.

     
  5. Aug 5, 2021 at 4:29 PM
    #5
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    Already consulted the length/amperage charts and I think 4 should be just fine. My max amp draw is about half of yours, so I won't need such monstrous wires :D
     
    Grossomotto likes this.
  6. Aug 5, 2021 at 9:17 PM
    #6
    roguegs

    roguegs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Member:
    #245423
    Messages:
    4,472
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Angelo
    Vehicle:
    2nd Gen Taco
    Went from 3rd gen taco to 3rd gen runner now to 2nd gen taco
    Can you post up pics on install afterwards? I’d like to see what the final product is.
     
  7. Aug 5, 2021 at 9:22 PM
    #7
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    Might be a little while, I'm a planner so I like to have everything as squared away as possible before I get going. I want to make a powertrays knockoff so I have somewhere to mount the relay, then I still need the tank, EE mount, and $100 in fittings and electronics. It might take a while, but I'll be sure to post pics when all is said and done.
     
  8. Aug 5, 2021 at 9:35 PM
    #8
    roguegs

    roguegs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Member:
    #245423
    Messages:
    4,472
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Angelo
    Vehicle:
    2nd Gen Taco
    Went from 3rd gen taco to 3rd gen runner now to 2nd gen taco
    there’s currently an EE mount for sale in the 2nd Gen BST thread FYI!
     
    Jojee117 [OP] likes this.
  9. Aug 5, 2021 at 9:47 PM
    #9
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    If I was local I'd definitely grab that, but Shipping would kill the discount. Thanks for the heads up though, I'll have to keep my eyes open on the BSTs here. I used to get notifications for all of them, but my wallet didn't really appreciate that so I haven't been paying attention recently :D
     
  10. Jan 16, 2022 at 4:38 PM
    #10
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    I finally finished up my relay/fuse panel and I finally have an EE mount on the way. It should be here in a few weeks, so I should at least be able to get some pics of the smitty in there before I get to installing it.
     
  11. Feb 11, 2022 at 3:26 PM
    #11
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    I'm not sure when I'll get around to getting it installed, but the Smittybilt 2781 does fit!

    20220211_161952.jpg
    20220211_162000.jpg
     
    Grossomotto and roguegs like this.
  12. Feb 19, 2022 at 6:31 PM
    #12
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    So it finally went in today, and I figured out how to do it solo by pulling it up with a tow strap. But for those wondering if the smittybilt 2781 would fit, it does, and the only difference is that you don't need to cut the rib on the inside of the bed. I hooked it up with a breaker, and used a bunch of China Amazon parts for the air manifold and pressure sensor. The only thing I still have to do is get some fully insulated 90 degree quick connects for the pressure sensor.

    20220219_145806.jpg

    20220219_184949.jpg
    20220219_184954.jpg
     
    Grossomotto likes this.
  13. Feb 28, 2022 at 7:31 AM
    #13
    GrundleJuice

    GrundleJuice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Member:
    #150931
    Messages:
    2,260
    Gender:
    Male
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Bro
    [S]Un-Molested[/S] Lightly Molested
    I wonder how the composite bedside around the cubby cutout is going to hold up long term with that weight pulling on those two flanges worth of attachment.

    It looks nice installed.
     
  14. Feb 28, 2022 at 11:27 AM
    #14
    Jojee117

    Jojee117 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Member:
    #261068
    Messages:
    767
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    MT
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD Sport Prerunner 4WD swapped
    Thanks. I was kind of worried about that not having seen a twin ARB in person as they seem pretty small, but the smitty is only about 3lbs heavier, so it should be pretty similar to most other users. I was kind of concerned about the composite bedside, but it feels really strong. The only thing I'd be worried about is bolts coming loose from all the vibrating, but I used some blue loctite on all the important bolts.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top