1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

So I want to install a cap on my 2007....

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TacoNH, May 27, 2009.

  1. May 27, 2009 at 12:59 PM
    #1
    TacoNH

    TacoNH [OP] The Gunslinger

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Member:
    #11620
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Conway, NH
    Vehicle:
    07 Blue Tacoma 4.0/6speed
    B&M T-handle shifter, JVC CD/DVD player, Fish hanging from mirror
    My truck has that factory bedliner system that I'll assume all of our tacomas' have. I'm worried about drilling/cutting it out to attach the clamps that will hold down the cap. And I'm buying the cap used, so it's not tacoma specific or anything. Tell me is there anyway to avoid having to cut the bedliner? Thanks.
     
  2. May 27, 2009 at 1:05 PM
    #2
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    just goto the local place that sells them nd get the correct "C" clamps for the tacoma that go in to the rail system. but first and foremost make sure the cap fits correctly
     
  3. May 27, 2009 at 1:25 PM
    #3
    geolink

    geolink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16653
    Messages:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    SILVER STATE
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB MagGray TRD SPORT
    Weathertech mats and hood protector, RuffTuff seat covers, padded console, Redline Hood Struts, Snugtop canopy w/Thule Rack, TSB rear springs plus AAL, 5100's all around OME 885 front coils, LR UCA, Avid Step Bars, LT265/70R17 BFG AT on stock Sport Rims
    Dark Night is correct.
    I understand that there may be traditional tyoe clamps that come with the used canopy. They do not need to be used if cutting into the liner is required.

    Yes, first assuming it fits correctly with seals all around, you should be able to get some "rail" specific C clamps that will engage inside the rail slot. Any Topper dealer should have them (or otherwise give you some guidance to avoid breaching the liner).

    geolink
     
  4. May 28, 2009 at 6:16 AM
    #4
    TacoNH

    TacoNH [OP] The Gunslinger

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Member:
    #11620
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Conway, NH
    Vehicle:
    07 Blue Tacoma 4.0/6speed
    B&M T-handle shifter, JVC CD/DVD player, Fish hanging from mirror
    Hey thanks a lot. I'll have to ask around for those clamps, I found a guy with a nice fiberglass cap for 100, but it's white (my truck is blue) and it's not toyota specific, but the dimensions are good 74x?? i forget. I'll probably just wait, save my cash and buy a brand new tacoma specific one. Thanks for the advice.
     
To Top