1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Solid State Drive (SSD)

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Jake283618, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Dec 30, 2011 at 12:03 AM
    #1
    Jake283618

    Jake283618 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60933
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    Gurnee, Il
    Vehicle:
    Stock for now!
    I'm thinking about up dating my laptop with an SSD was just wondering who all is running them and if they're worth it. All the reviews I have read and videos I've watched they seem like a far superior hard drive then the old type. Speaking of videos check this one out they connect 24 SSD's it's insane how fast the computer runs.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96dWOEa4Djs

    I know they're expensive but figured it would give my laptop a little performance boost.
     
  2. Dec 30, 2011 at 10:09 AM
    #2
    elmo7

    elmo7 Easily Replaceable Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Member:
    #61553
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    07 DC TRD OR 4x4
    I have two Dell laptops, each with SSD's. One's an i3 with an 80GB Intel and the other is an i5 w/a 60GB Samsung. I also have an HTPC w/a pair of 30GB Vertex drives in RAID 0. The speed boost is nice and I like that they are all silent. Hard to go wrong. I like that even though that 80GB is small, I have filled it to 99% and it still flies. Try that w/a HDD, where speed falls off as they fill up. Price per GB has dropped and now it's not so bad to spend for a 200 GB drive. I don't hoard a bunch of content on them, obviously. I have a server with 2TB platters for that stuff.
     
  3. Dec 30, 2011 at 10:12 AM
    #3
    Ohbrian

    Ohbrian Taco Roja

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Member:
    #67664
    Messages:
    209
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Fremont, CA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner
    Eclipse head unit,scratched paint,ripped seat, black chaos 6 rims, Bilstein 5100's, top plate spacers, AAL, Midget antenna, Bakflip G2 cover, 14" Magnaflow, 400W inverter, LR UCA's
    I have 5 of them, I put them in everything I own that needs a hard drive. It's the only way to fly...

    Well almost everything I haven't put them in game consoles...yet...
     
  4. Dec 30, 2011 at 10:15 AM
    #4
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,766
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    SSD drives are nice but cost per GB is still a little high. I'd upgrade my laptop to one if it wasn't so old. Right now I wouldn't worry about upgrading a desktop though unless you're a gamer where it's all about squeezing as much speed as possible. The spinning platters are fine for my cheap ass right now but I always keep a backup on another drive or optical media in case one of those read/write heads decides to fall onto a platter and destroy everything.
     
  5. Dec 30, 2011 at 11:02 AM
    #5
    Jake283618

    Jake283618 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60933
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    Gurnee, Il
    Vehicle:
    Stock for now!
    I have a gaming lap top but it's a little old. I got it back in 2008. It's still an excellent performer. It's a Intel Core 2 duo 2.60 GHz 4 GB of ram (max ram) 64 bit operating system. NVIDIA GeForce 8600. I have a smaller everyday lap top with an i5 in it and my old one is still able to hang. My hard drives are pretty full so it takes a long time to boot up, load shut down etc. etc. the 128 GB isn't to bad of a price under 200 bucks.

    I would love to put one in my PS3 I could only imagine how fast games would load
     
  6. Dec 30, 2011 at 11:19 AM
    #6
    elmo7

    elmo7 Easily Replaceable Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Member:
    #61553
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    07 DC TRD OR 4x4
    Well, you can always migrate it to the next laptop/device you get. Just keep the old drive on hand. Also, you don't need to spend big. You won't saturate the bus of a sata2 laptop w/a single SSD, so a sata3 drive wouldn't be worth the cost, IMO.
     
  7. Dec 30, 2011 at 11:21 AM
    #7
    chadderkdawg

    chadderkdawg Don't ask questions you don't want the answer to..

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Member:
    #55763
    Messages:
    8,163
    Gender:
    Male
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    09 FX4 F150
  8. Dec 30, 2011 at 11:33 AM
    #8
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    I just bought an Asus Zenbook and it has one. It's fast plus turns on very fast. Id put one in my desktop if I hadn't just rebuilt it.
     
  9. Dec 30, 2011 at 12:38 PM
    #9
    Jake283618

    Jake283618 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60933
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    Gurnee, Il
    Vehicle:
    Stock for now!
    That's a pretty good price for a 120 gb's. I'm running two hard drives now think ill bite the bullet and pick a few up. Two bad the 500+ gb is over 800 bucks I have a lot of videos/movies and music looks like ill still be using my external 1tb for that.
     
  10. Dec 30, 2011 at 12:39 PM
    #10
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    15,782
    Gender:
    Male
    Az
    SSD's are the way to go. You can't beat the speed they offer. The lack of space and prices are the only shitters about them, but get a big juicy 2tb for storage and your good.
     
  11. Dec 30, 2011 at 1:01 PM
    #11
    Krazie Sj

    Krazie Sj Resident Jackass

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9849
    Messages:
    13,686
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Power Serge
    LV-426 (Acheron)
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off Road 4x4
    Borla Catback Exhaust, Airaid Short Ram Intake, 285x75R16 Mickey Thompson MTZs, 16" Konig Countersteer rims, ARB Bumper, All Pro LT w/Walker Evan Shocks front and back, All Pro expedition leaf pack, 10,000lb Superwinch, Intake Manifold Spacer, Bed Rack with ARB RTT, Rotopack and Hi Lift mounted, Husky Liner mats and an air freshener from 1995.
  12. Dec 30, 2011 at 2:30 PM
    #12
    Jake283618

    Jake283618 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60933
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    Gurnee, Il
    Vehicle:
    Stock for now!
    I was really hoping every would say they were crap and not worth it lol even though I already knew you guys wouldn't. Looks like ill be up grading here soon :)
     
  13. Dec 30, 2011 at 2:36 PM
    #13
    Oat

    Oat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Member:
    #61992
    Messages:
    1,169
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prerunner
    Gibson Exhaust, Painted factory steel wheels, Chrome wheel caps, K&N Air intake, Tint, Regular Bilstein (yellow/blue) all around, Leveling spacer kit upfront, Partially de-badged, Westin Bullbar with skidplate, White, Double Cab Prerunner SR5
    They are good, considering most people never even hit the 500gb's or 1tb of a data hard drive, a SSD is a good choice because of the speed. You can also run dual hd's for a tower. I like the option of a SSD + Data HD
     
  14. Jan 2, 2012 at 3:33 AM
    #14
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke
    Put one in my new system awhile back. Theres no such thing as load times anymore, things just appear. I have a 64 GB that holds my OS and my programs. I've segregated my user files and documents to my platter drive.
     
To Top