1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Solved for me: Small hum / vibration under acceleration at 1500 RPM ish

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by jamiemm18, Nov 25, 2017.

1. Nov 25, 2017 at 12:01 PM
    jamiemm18

jamiemm18 [OP] Member

Member:
    Hi, This hum is fixed / gone with the help of taco Camaro 11.5 up in this thread (#10). https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/rattling-noise-on-acceleration.169173/. I'll try to be brief because I'm not good at that and because I spent hours reading 10-11 page threads on this and was exhausted. My truck is a 12 Tacoma extended cab, automatic, 4cyl, 4x4 with 130K. It started making a small hum / vibration / rattle out of nowhere recently. It happens between 1500-1600 rpm and sounds like it is under the floor of the cab somewhere. It only happens when the truck is in gear, not in neutral and it happen a little more when cold. It doesn't sound like its hurting anything, just super annoying and distracting. I jammed towels in the heat shields under the truck to stop any vibration due to shaking and that did not work. I couldn't get the hum to stay humming because the truck shifts or the idle raises and drops so I put it in gear, held the brake on and brought the rpms up to 1600 RPM and man did that thing hum steady like a rock band. At that point it was easy. Got my son to look under the truck and see what was humming. It was the catalytic converted. The heat shield looks great and so does the converted but I jammed two screw drivers between the heat shield and the converted to stop any vibration and it worked great. Obviously this was just a test. I pulled out the screw