1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sony XAV-AX100

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Tacoma77, Apr 2, 2018.

  1. Jun 1, 2018 at 11:41 AM
    #61
    dragonmaster839

    dragonmaster839 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Member:
    #188262
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma TRD
    Thanks. I have a 2nd gen (2006). Crutchfield tells me I'll need a dash kit. You think the XAV-AX100 would fit to replace my OEM stereo?
     
  2. Jun 1, 2018 at 5:19 PM
    #62
    bhead

    bhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Member:
    #62167
    Messages:
    131
    Gender:
    Male
    Indio, Ca
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner
    I was thinking going to the xavax100. Currently have a dpx500bt would I need to get a new wiring harness?
     
  3. Jun 1, 2018 at 6:10 PM
    #63
    xsquid

    xsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Member:
    #252897
    Messages:
    171
    Gender:
    Male
    SF Bay Area
    Sorry, not a clue if it'll fit a gen II
     
  4. Jun 1, 2018 at 7:07 PM
    #64
    megillet

    megillet Resident Badass

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37521
    Messages:
    1,039
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB MGM 6sp
    FYI,you don’t need a steering wheel controls interface with this headunit. You can use the Sony cable sold separately to wire it to the truck, and program your buttons using the setup menu on the headunit.
     
  5. Jun 2, 2018 at 10:41 AM
    #65
    kbUSMC2012

    kbUSMC2012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #241374
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Vehicle:
    2019 Ram 1500 Big Horn Crew Cab
    Can you provide a link for that? Also, does it need an interface for the rear view camera?
     
  6. Jun 2, 2018 at 1:58 PM
    #66
    Sterdog

    Sterdog Offline

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Member:
    #113290
    Messages:
    17,817
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    I am Groot
    People's Democratic Republic of Canuckistan
    Vehicle:
    Sold it.
    It's a pile of cash now.
    I wonder what the Sony cable is worth though. The Axxess unit I bought was only about $40 USD. With most of those units you can still use the Sony unit to change the setup of the steering wheel controls from what the interface sets up as stock. Mine was perfect from the get go so I've made no changes but I know it can be done easily just with the headunit settings.
     
  7. Jun 2, 2018 at 2:37 PM
    #67
    Purpleman

    Purpleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136093
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    15 PreRunner
    You'll need a harness for the rear camera. Call Metra or PAC and ask if they have one for your truck(might be the same one that the 2nd gen uses).
     
  8. Jun 2, 2018 at 6:05 PM
    #68
    megillet

    megillet Resident Badass

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37521
    Messages:
    1,039
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB MGM 6sp
    https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-info.pl?info_id=1470
    https://www.sony-asia.com/electronics/in-car-receivers-players-accessories/rc-sr1
    Purchased here, turns out they are about 20 minutes away so I just went and picked it up:
    https://encompass.com/item/10898852/Sony/1-848-796-11/Cable,_Rc-sr1

    I tried just cutting a regular 3.5mm headphone cable, but no dice. The Sony cable is legit, works perfect.

    I haven’t hooked up a camera yet. Keeping the OEM one in the mirror. I plan to mount a second camera in my camper top and wire to the Sony to check on my dogs during road trips.
     
    neatowhiskey likes this.
  9. Jun 3, 2018 at 4:37 AM
    #69
    kbUSMC2012

    kbUSMC2012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #241374
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Vehicle:
    2019 Ram 1500 Big Horn Crew Cab
    So I saw that bestbuy was selling these for 350 plus free installation so I went to check it out. During the course of the sale, the geek squad employee told me I need the dash kit, a new wiring harness, new antenna, adapter for the rear camera to work, plus a Maestro interface for the steering wheel controls and they would have to charge be some extra labor that wasn’t included in the “free installation” and out the door the price was over 500. I passed on that.

    I kept telling them I didn’t need the interface per the Sony website and they said they do and wouldn’t do the install without it.
     
  10. Jun 3, 2018 at 5:06 AM
    #70
    megillet

    megillet Resident Badass

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37521
    Messages:
    1,039
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB MGM 6sp
    Well to be fair, Sony doesn’t provide documentation that I could find that says that their SWC cable is compatible with this head unit. So Best Buy was probably going by the best information they thought they had. And upsell.
     
  11. Jun 3, 2018 at 5:11 AM
    #71
    megillet

    megillet Resident Badass

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37521
    Messages:
    1,039
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB MGM 6sp
    Also, I forgot to add. I added the right side steering wheel buttons (phone and voice control) and they work with the Sony SWC cable and this head unit. I could not get them to work with just the headunit and the Axxess ASWC-1. It wouldn’t automatically detect the right side buttons and attempting to program them would crash the unit Axxess unit during the learn phase. I gave up after trying for a couple days and went with the Sony cable and am way happier. I do have to reprogram the buttons when I disconnect my battery, but since it’s all on the screen of the headunit, it only takes a minute.
     
  12. Jun 3, 2018 at 10:27 AM
    #72
    Sterdog

    Sterdog Offline

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Member:
    #113290
    Messages:
    17,817
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    I am Groot
    People's Democratic Republic of Canuckistan
    Vehicle:
    Sold it.
    It's a pile of cash now.
    Hmm I was able to get mine working with the same unit. I did update the firmware though before installing so maybe I had a newer version? That being said the Sony cable looks like the best option. Even Crutchfield doesn’t advertise it.
     
  13. Jun 3, 2018 at 11:35 AM
    #73
    megillet

    megillet Resident Badass

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37521
    Messages:
    1,039
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB MGM 6sp
    Let me clarify, I could get the left side buttons to work, but not the right with the Axxess.
     
  14. Jun 3, 2018 at 5:11 PM
    #74
    OldSkoolGP

    OldSkoolGP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Member:
    #241452
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma TRD Off Road Access Cab in White
    HIDs, rear air bags, K&N air intake, FlowMaster muffler
    I'm having the same problem. I just put a Kenwood DMX7004s in my truck this weekend with a Maestro RR and I ordered the 5 button right hand controls out of Japan in the hopes I'd be able to use all of them. But none of the right hand controls are working. Before I called iDatalink I wondered if it may be something physical, whether their is a clockspring for left side only AND left and right, or if maybe the US left hand controls are not compatible with the Japanese right hand controls. I'd love to know what the solution is to your problem, maybe it's the solution to mine.
     
  15. Jun 3, 2018 at 5:42 PM
    #75
    megillet

    megillet Resident Badass

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37521
    Messages:
    1,039
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB MGM 6sp
    Not sure about your Kenwood, but read my previous posts in this thread. I added the right side buttons and the cable that plugs into the left side. A new clockspring isn't needed. I'm not sure what you mean by 5 button right hand control...
     
  16. Jun 4, 2018 at 12:48 PM
    #76
    OldSkoolGP

    OldSkoolGP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Member:
    #241452
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma TRD Off Road Access Cab in White
    HIDs, rear air bags, K&N air intake, FlowMaster muffler
    I got the one for the Japanese and Russian market. It has 2 extra buttons whose original use I am unsure of. One says OFF and the other is a picture of the front of a vehicle with two fields emanating forward and outward. Someone said they might have been for radar guided cruise control, but I can't confirm that.

    Also, I got mine working. Figured out this morning when I drove to work and the right side controls didn't light up. I didn't plug the cable all the way in on one side. However, it's worth mentioning that at this time, iDatalink doesn't support their use with the Maestro. You could probably make them work with the SWI-PC if you could figure out what the resistance was for them and write your own software. The Metra may be able to use them as well.

    CaptureSteeringWheel.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2018
    4x4Taco09 likes this.
  17. Jun 4, 2018 at 1:36 PM
    #77
    bhead

    bhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Member:
    #62167
    Messages:
    131
    Gender:
    Male
    Indio, Ca
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner
    I did the install, my old hu didn’t use the illuminatior wire can someone show me where that’s tapped into?
     
  18. Jun 4, 2018 at 3:50 PM
    #78
    dragonmaster839

    dragonmaster839 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Member:
    #188262
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma TRD
    My AX100 hu is on its way. Got the Axxess steering wheel harness. Will install this weekend and update. Didn't feel the need to get the Sony steering harness, as my 06 only has the left side controls anyways.
     
  19. Jun 4, 2018 at 3:52 PM
    #79
    bhead

    bhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Member:
    #62167
    Messages:
    131
    Gender:
    Male
    Indio, Ca
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner
    Ya I did it my self as well. Easy install, I did use my existing controller for the steering wheel controls as I only have left side as well.
     
  20. Jun 5, 2018 at 6:51 AM
    #80
    Dan904

    Dan904 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Member:
    #255538
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Silver Tacoma SR
    Has anyone put this head unit into a 3rd gen?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top