1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

SPARE TIRE TPM

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by TWTaco, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. Dec 5, 2018 at 12:51 PM
    #1
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,878
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    Anyone know if you install a swing out bumper and dismount the spare under truck will the TPM sensor light come on display flash warning?
     
  2. Dec 5, 2018 at 12:52 PM
    #2
    Freegolf

    Freegolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Member:
    #209500
    Messages:
    595
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2016 offroad, manual tran
    There is no TPM on the spare
     
  3. Dec 5, 2018 at 12:52 PM
    #3
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,218
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    The TPMS receiver is in the cab roof and there is no TPMS capability for the spare, so you're good to go.
     
    TWTaco [OP] and Freegolf like this.
  4. Dec 5, 2018 at 12:53 PM
    #4
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,878
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    You sure about that my 07 had one.
     
    User Name01 likes this.
  5. Dec 5, 2018 at 12:54 PM
    #5
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,218
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    The best that you are gonna do for stock setup is to flip the wheel for easier pressure checks. :D
     
    Freegolf likes this.
  6. Dec 5, 2018 at 12:57 PM
    #6
    Freegolf

    Freegolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Member:
    #209500
    Messages:
    595
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2016 offroad, manual tran
    The TPMS can only monitor 4 at a time? So I'm confused if you did in fact have one from factory on your 07?
     
  7. Dec 5, 2018 at 12:58 PM
    #7
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,878
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    [​IMG] So i should add TPM to spare if i want to rotate it on or off the truck.
     
  8. Dec 5, 2018 at 12:59 PM
    #8
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,878
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    When i had my 07 the service manager at Toyota told me my spare had low air pressure thats why my light was on.
     
  9. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:02 PM
    #9
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,218
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    The system cannot accommodate a 5th receiver. You would have to swap stems to rotate it in or have a 5th receiver installed and code it when you swap it in. The Carista app now has TPMS programming as long as you have the ID numbers.

    The TPMS on the truck knows where each sensor is, so you don't have to worry about the specific location.

    I half wonder if the location determining plus the non-replaceable batteries have something to do with it. I sort of feel that the senors are kinetically recharged and selectively transmit to do all that.
     
  10. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:03 PM
    #10
    Freegolf

    Freegolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Member:
    #209500
    Messages:
    595
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2016 offroad, manual tran
    Maybe someone can chime in if I'm wrong but my understanding is that the monitor system can only read 4 tires at a time. So if you put a TPM on the spare then move it to your hub, you'll need to recalibrate the TPM system to read the new TPM on the spare.
     
    tonered likes this.
  11. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:04 PM
    #11
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,878
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    Thanks did not know that Carista had that option.
     
    tonered likes this.
  12. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:05 PM
    #12
    eccracer104

    eccracer104 O.G. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5854
    Messages:
    11,989
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 4x4 TRD OR AC
    2007 did have 5 tpms, your 2016 only has 4. Your spare does not have a tpms.

    Past that, having a wheel with tpms on the swingout is close enough to the vehicle to where it won't throw a low pressure indicator on the dash.
     
    User Name01 and Freegolf like this.
  13. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:05 PM
    #13
    User Name01

    User Name01 Little boy from FairyTale Land

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Member:
    #108296
    Messages:
    6,136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bolbi Stroganovsky
    Port Arthur/Lubbock, Tx
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Barcelona Red Metallic Dbl Cab 4x4
    My 2011 had one on the spare, too.
     
    ChadsPride likes this.
  14. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:06 PM
    #14
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,878
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    Are you running a swing out with spare?
     
  15. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:07 PM
    #15
    eccracer104

    eccracer104 O.G. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5854
    Messages:
    11,989
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 4x4 TRD OR AC
    Nope, but familiar with them and have friends with them.
     
  16. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:08 PM
    #16
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,878
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    So can i have all 5 programmed at once? That way i can rotate in the spare.
     
  17. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:09 PM
    #17
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,218
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    You just need to get the one going to the spare location replaced with the one on the spare.

    Here's a screen dump:

    Screenshot_20181116-160714_Carista.jpg

    Yep! Cool tool, except for the whole subscription thing. I'd certainly pay a price to have a full license. $40/yr is a bit nutty.
     
    Freegolf and TWTaco [OP] like this.
  18. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:10 PM
    #18
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,218
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    No. Just four. The fifth can be on a wheel, but you need to swap the ID.
     
    eccracer104 likes this.
  19. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:10 PM
    #19
    eccracer104

    eccracer104 O.G. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5854
    Messages:
    11,989
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 4x4 TRD OR AC
    You can rotate in the spare, but there's no TPMS sensor currently in the spare. Your truck can only be connected to 4 sensors at a time, so while you could put a 5th sensor in the spare your truck won't read it unless you had a tire shop re-program your sensors at every rotation.
     
    tonered likes this.
  20. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:11 PM
    #20
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,878
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    That sucks!
     

Products Discussed in

To Top