1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

speedometer calibration orange county

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by IdealError, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. Jun 11, 2011 at 2:40 PM
    #1
    IdealError

    IdealError [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10625
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 Sport
    6" Fabtech lift, 18" KMC XD Addicts on 35" Toyo MT Tires, 8000k HID Lights/Fogs, T-Rex Billet Grille, Viper 5900 Remote Start/Alarm, LED Projector Headlights, 15% Tint fronts, 5% Tint back, Eclipse Head Unit
    Hey does anyone local in Orange County own a speedometer calibrator? My speedometer has been screwed for the past ... year.. and I've just started to really care about it.

    I don't really feel like paying $165 for a speedometer calculator (to use only once)... soo.. does anyone have one that would like to help a fellow tacoma owner out? :)
     
  2. Jun 12, 2011 at 7:47 AM
    #2
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    There aren't any that plug in just once (that I know of). They are in-line variable resistors/amplifiers that stay in the truck forever.
    HealTech makes the Speedohealer that I use in my bike-and should work in the Taco.
     
  3. Jun 13, 2011 at 1:48 PM
    #3
    IdealError

    IdealError [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10625
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 Sport
    6" Fabtech lift, 18" KMC XD Addicts on 35" Toyo MT Tires, 8000k HID Lights/Fogs, T-Rex Billet Grille, Viper 5900 Remote Start/Alarm, LED Projector Headlights, 15% Tint fronts, 5% Tint back, Eclipse Head Unit
    Interesting. A friend of mine just told me I should get a Performance Chip and just calibrate the system to tell it I have different sized tires. This is not true? Just curious before I go out and spend $200 on something I don't need.
     
  4. Jun 13, 2011 at 1:57 PM
    #4
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    I know you can do this with Jeeps and most domestics but I don't think it's applicable to Toyotas.

    My Speedo is about 5mph off with my 33's. I just know that I should drive 5 mph less on my speedo than the actual speed I want to travel.
     
  5. Jun 13, 2011 at 2:02 PM
    #5
    IdealError

    IdealError [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10625
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 Sport
    6" Fabtech lift, 18" KMC XD Addicts on 35" Toyo MT Tires, 8000k HID Lights/Fogs, T-Rex Billet Grille, Viper 5900 Remote Start/Alarm, LED Projector Headlights, 15% Tint fronts, 5% Tint back, Eclipse Head Unit
    Interesting.

    That's the quote from Hypertech's site about their Speedometer Calibrator. When I get into like the 80s-90s mph its about 10mph off, scary lol.
     
  6. Jun 13, 2011 at 4:24 PM
    #6
    horwitzs

    horwitzs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Member:
    #57097
    Messages:
    680
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Dayton, WA
    Vehicle:
    TX Pro
    Supercharger, OME lift w/ LR UCAs, running boards, toolbox, extinguisher mount, skidplate, N-Fab light bar, 40" R.I. LED bar, WO seat covers, TRD intake, Weathertech mats and visors, stubby antenna, hood struts, LED interior lighting, Hella Supertones, and other stuff I'm forgetting.
    I used a hypertech programmer on my Jeep which you just hook up once, but you still can't then take it to your buddy's rig.
    When you use it on one vehicle the programming is synched to that cpu. You have to hook it back up and return to stock programming before you can take it for use on another vehicle.
     
  7. Jun 13, 2011 at 4:53 PM
    #7
    IdealError

    IdealError [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10625
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 Sport
    6" Fabtech lift, 18" KMC XD Addicts on 35" Toyo MT Tires, 8000k HID Lights/Fogs, T-Rex Billet Grille, Viper 5900 Remote Start/Alarm, LED Projector Headlights, 15% Tint fronts, 5% Tint back, Eclipse Head Unit
    Gotcha.

    I just got off the phone with my buddy who works on my truck and he was saying that on Toyotas there is NO possible way to recalibrate the speedometer. He said he tried every possibly manufacturer out there and none of them have worked.

    Hypertech is apparently bullshitting.
     
  8. Jun 13, 2011 at 5:00 PM
    #8
    1bad10tacoma

    1bad10tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Member:
    #34886
    Messages:
    664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Brewer Maine
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCLB Sport
    tonneau,tailgate lock, OEM cruise, Int. wiper, , mud flap mod,weatertech's,fj rims
    My truck is stock and its off by 2mph.I hope it fixes it when i put bigger tires on.
     
  9. Jun 13, 2011 at 5:04 PM
    #9
    Fire931

    Fire931 Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Member:
    #12687
    Messages:
    3,244
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    00 4Runner
    There is a way to do it... but it requires wiring in a box permanently. I've done it to mine. Works like a charm. :D

    Look up Dakota Digital, they make a box that works great.
     
  10. Jun 13, 2011 at 5:05 PM
    #10
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    Did it plug into the speed sensor or the ECU??
     
  11. Jun 13, 2011 at 5:22 PM
    #11
    Fire931

    Fire931 Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Member:
    #12687
    Messages:
    3,244
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    00 4Runner
    You have to actually hard wire it in yourself since its a universal box made for any vehicle. I tapped into mine behind the glove box and it worked. I'd have to look at a diagram to see if it would need to be tapped somewhere different for an auto trans since they read off the rear axle where a manual reads off the transfer case.
     
To Top