1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

SR Multi Information Display

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Scrider424, Aug 5, 2018.

  1. Aug 5, 2018 at 11:00 PM
    #1
    Scrider424

    Scrider424 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Member:
    #61202
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Vehicle:
    2018 DCSB 2.7l
    Is there any way to program an SR to be able to access the additional multi info display screens that the sr5 and above model have access to such as the tire pressure, compass, and radio screens?
     
  2. Aug 5, 2018 at 11:32 PM
    #2
    jmauvais

    jmauvais My momma sez Im speshul

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Member:
    #199716
    Messages:
    1,814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB
    You cannot change the screen you have and the capabilities, but you can swap out the center dash screen to a model with more information.
     
  3. Aug 5, 2018 at 11:43 PM
    #3
    jmauvais

    jmauvais My momma sez Im speshul

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Member:
    #199716
    Messages:
    1,814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB
    2016Tacoman likes this.
  4. Aug 5, 2018 at 11:46 PM
    #4
    NMTrailRider

    NMTrailRider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Member:
    #23469
    Messages:
    4,717
    Don't mean to hijack your thread, OP. But tangentially related... can someone direct me to a thread(s) outlining the capabilities/options on the gauge cluster center screen for the different trim levels?
     
  5. Aug 6, 2018 at 6:54 AM
    #5
    Scrider424

    Scrider424 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Member:
    #61202
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Vehicle:
    2018 DCSB 2.7l
    Thank you jmauvais, but when I checked that thread it appears older sr models had a different cluster. My 2018 comes with the same multi info display as the sr5, but does not have all the same screen options. Do uou think it is just a programming issue for these models?

    78E66EFF-1DC8-4F03-9415-D3338C7190AB.jpg
     
    Sand Dog and NMTrailRider like this.
  6. Aug 6, 2018 at 7:10 AM
    #6
    2016Tacoman

    2016Tacoman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Member:
    #190389
    Messages:
    2,583
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma 4x4 V6 Metallic
    It's all in the cluster model not programming.
    Do you know your cluster model, it's a sticker on the back of it.
    You can get screens of a TRD by using the right cluster. Info is there on can bus.
    An upgraded aftermarket radio will do all that for you plus more.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2018
  7. Aug 6, 2018 at 3:34 PM
    #7
    jmauvais

    jmauvais My momma sez Im speshul

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Member:
    #199716
    Messages:
    1,814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB
    Honestly, I have to agree it’s the display unit and not the programming. If it were as simple as programming, everyone would have all of the options already.
     
  8. Jan 18, 2019 at 3:37 PM
    #8
    Boghog1

    Boghog1 Jack of all trades, master of none.

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Member:
    #277600
    Messages:
    1,544
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern, NH
    Vehicle:
    2019 AC V6 4x4 SR
  9. Jan 18, 2019 at 5:04 PM
    #9
    2016Tacoman

    2016Tacoman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Member:
    #190389
    Messages:
    2,583
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma 4x4 V6 Metallic
    I have a 4200NEX and here is a great video on what it does in my truck.
    Sounds amazing also, especially with kicker under seat sub. Better than any factory model by far.
    I am not sure about your model.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYSIyDRnFsA
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
    Boghog1 likes this.
  10. Jan 19, 2019 at 3:33 AM
    #10
    Smoothmove

    Smoothmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Member:
    #197564
    Messages:
    240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stan
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Pro 2017 DCSB SR
    MesoCustoms
    I did the speedo cluster swap with one from a 2017 TRD off road. I upgraded the radio to a Kenwood radio with a Idatalink and I get five screens on the speedo now- BUT the extra screen for the compass is blank. I have tried both Carista and TechStream to active screens without any luck. The only change that I found that TechStream would do is activate the security system in the options which activates the Hood Switch- which the SR doesn't have.

    My TPMS works and reads via the Idatalink, but not on the speedo.

    I think it is a different Body Control Module which supplies the info to the speedo cluster.
     
    Boghog1 likes this.
  11. Jan 19, 2019 at 10:59 AM
    #11
    Flyinhigh

    Flyinhigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Member:
    #25123
    Messages:
    186
    Gender:
    Male
    GA
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR DCSB 4x4
    I put a radio from a sr5 in my sr and the radio function in the dash works now.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top