1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stereo experts HELP!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by tecate12, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. Nov 9, 2012 at 5:02 PM
    #1
    tecate12

    tecate12 [OP] Fuuaaaaaaa!!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Member:
    #31039
    Messages:
    220
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    El Paso,TX
    Vehicle:
    Tina: The EPT Blue Beast
    K&N Cold Air Intake, pioneer AVH-4200 DVD, WT floorliners, colormatched engine cover, Westin Bull Bar with driving lights, N-FAB step bars, Rear TSB, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, 265/70/17 Dick Cepek MUD COUNTRYS on 17" Black TRD sport wheels, Satoshi Grill, Custom TRD tire valve Caps, and still coming...
    i have a Pioneer AVH-4200dvd double din stereo head unit which i installed myself a couple of years ago. a short time after the install i noticed the radio will change stations by itself. a couple of years down the road it has gotten to be an annoying problem (and slightly more common) is it possible it is a wiring problem? or is it a glitch in my head unit? im thinking of taking it apart and re crimping the wires to see if that fixes it. should i even bother? HELP PLEASE
     
  2. Nov 9, 2012 at 5:05 PM
    #2
    ColtsTRD

    ColtsTRD .....

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17177
    Messages:
    18,031
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 TRD DCSB
    PM cmack on here...he's good with this stuff.

    Free bump
     
  3. Nov 9, 2012 at 5:53 PM
    #3
    myamada1230

    myamada1230 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Member:
    #72378
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Greenacres, WA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Double cab TRD sport SB V6 6spd
    Tinted windows, color matched front emblem, color matched rocky mounts bike fork mounts, color matched 4x4 letters on mudflaps, suede armrests, bull bar
    Do you have the OEM steering wheel control Interface installed? That is the only wiring that could potentially cause your unit to do that. Have you tried unplugging the H/U to reset it?
     
  4. Nov 9, 2012 at 6:14 PM
    #4
    tecate12

    tecate12 [OP] Fuuaaaaaaa!!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Member:
    #31039
    Messages:
    220
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    El Paso,TX
    Vehicle:
    Tina: The EPT Blue Beast
    K&N Cold Air Intake, pioneer AVH-4200 DVD, WT floorliners, colormatched engine cover, Westin Bull Bar with driving lights, N-FAB step bars, Rear TSB, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, 265/70/17 Dick Cepek MUD COUNTRYS on 17" Black TRD sport wheels, Satoshi Grill, Custom TRD tire valve Caps, and still coming...
    nope my steering wheel doesnt come with the controls...
    i have unplugged it and nothing... im thinking of re crimping all the wiring in the harness, i have noticed that big speed bumps trigger it to change aswell... idk if that has anything to do with that
     
  5. Nov 9, 2012 at 6:14 PM
    #5
    tecate12

    tecate12 [OP] Fuuaaaaaaa!!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Member:
    #31039
    Messages:
    220
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    El Paso,TX
    Vehicle:
    Tina: The EPT Blue Beast
    K&N Cold Air Intake, pioneer AVH-4200 DVD, WT floorliners, colormatched engine cover, Westin Bull Bar with driving lights, N-FAB step bars, Rear TSB, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, 265/70/17 Dick Cepek MUD COUNTRYS on 17" Black TRD sport wheels, Satoshi Grill, Custom TRD tire valve Caps, and still coming...
    thanks for the advice and the bump... ill do that
     
  6. Nov 9, 2012 at 7:34 PM
    #6
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    I own a tank
    Changing stations on its own? That has a detachable face right? Clean the terminals where the face plugs in. Best I can say, otherwise you might be screwed without some serious help.
     
  7. Nov 10, 2012 at 2:14 AM
    #7
    tecate12

    tecate12 [OP] Fuuaaaaaaa!!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Member:
    #31039
    Messages:
    220
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    El Paso,TX
    Vehicle:
    Tina: The EPT Blue Beast
    K&N Cold Air Intake, pioneer AVH-4200 DVD, WT floorliners, colormatched engine cover, Westin Bull Bar with driving lights, N-FAB step bars, Rear TSB, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, 265/70/17 Dick Cepek MUD COUNTRYS on 17" Black TRD sport wheels, Satoshi Grill, Custom TRD tire valve Caps, and still coming...
    Nope its a touch screen double din so it is not detachable.... I'm guessing I should call an expert but I wanted to see if anyone knew of a solution
     
  8. Nov 10, 2012 at 6:47 AM
    #8
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    I own a tank
    I posted in your other thread too. Check your remote plug...make sure some things not in it or its dirty.
     
  9. Nov 10, 2012 at 6:50 AM
    #9
    cmack

    cmack Impeach Chris4x4!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18119
    Messages:
    5,234
    Gender:
    Male
    Check the connections. If all are tight/good, sounds like it's an internal issue within the HU
     
  10. Nov 10, 2012 at 6:59 AM
    #10
    Amo-cat3

    Amo-cat3 Wizard Sleeve Master

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Member:
    #12980
    Messages:
    409
    Gender:
    Male
    Maui, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Blown dubcab
    TRD Supercharged, 2.7" URD Pulley, APR X1, AFE Stage II intake, DT Longtubes, MBRP 2.5" dual exhaust w/ Vibrant Ultra resonator, URD Y-pipe w/ vibrant v-bands (Cat free), Walboro 255 fuel pump, SS Oil catch can, Aeroforce gauges, Leeper 2.5 coilover set at 3", 1.5" Alcan aal, Light racing uca, 17x8.5 Fuel Anza 4.5" backspace/-6 mm offset, m/t atz 265/70/17, 1.25 spidertrax, scanguage 2, AMP electric steps, bed extender, Low-pro tonneau cover, 20% tinted windows/headlights/taillights, tacoma seat covers, Image dynamic sound system w/ Pinoneer avh3200 head, assrtd stickers................
    I've got the same unit, had it for couple years no problems. There is a reset button at the top right hand corner (I believe, check manual). Try that, if that doesn't work I would call pioneer.
     
  11. Nov 10, 2012 at 11:40 AM
    #11
    tecate12

    tecate12 [OP] Fuuaaaaaaa!!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Member:
    #31039
    Messages:
    220
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    El Paso,TX
    Vehicle:
    Tina: The EPT Blue Beast
    K&N Cold Air Intake, pioneer AVH-4200 DVD, WT floorliners, colormatched engine cover, Westin Bull Bar with driving lights, N-FAB step bars, Rear TSB, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, 265/70/17 Dick Cepek MUD COUNTRYS on 17" Black TRD sport wheels, Satoshi Grill, Custom TRD tire valve Caps, and still coming...
    Nice thanks I'll be checking everything again today to make due then ill just call pioneer if nothing changes
     
To Top