1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stereo swap-Will a JBL work?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by imdav2u, May 16, 2010.

  1. May 16, 2010 at 7:04 PM
    #1
    imdav2u

    imdav2u [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Member:
    #37231
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    St. Louis
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Offroad DCSB 4X4
    I have a 2009 DC Sport.It has the 6 disc indash stereo.I can get a JBL 6 disc,will it work in my truck without rewiring?
     
  2. May 16, 2010 at 8:56 PM
    #2
    othater

    othater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Member:
    #21558
    Messages:
    291
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal-Walnut
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport
    The JBL unit requires the separate amp and harness that is mounted behind the rear seat.
     
  3. May 17, 2010 at 4:46 AM
    #3
    imdav2u

    imdav2u [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Member:
    #37231
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    St. Louis
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Offroad DCSB 4X4
    Would the wiring be there or would I have to do some wiring and is it worth the hassle?
     
  4. May 19, 2010 at 12:24 PM
    #4
    8th sin

    8th sin Swollen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Member:
    #11357
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCLB 4x4 Sport
    Llumar CTX Tint, Grillcraft MX Upper, Pro Comp Rockwell 5034 17x8.5, Nitto Terra Grappler G2 LT285/70/17, Icon Stage III
    Wiring wont be there...JBL units have an external amplifier and subwoofer that uses all proprietary connectors. Even if you could get ahold of the pinouts, you'd need to get an amp and sub to get any sound (JBL "outs" are line level -- intended to run to an amplifier then to the speakers. Non-JBL outs are speaker level -- intended to run directly to the speakers)

    would be much easier to just go aftermarket for everything
     
To Top