1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 007Tacoma, Jan 11, 2007.

  1. Sep 17, 2007 at 4:48 AM
    #61
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,705
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    We talked about theft on another thread a few months back (a member had his 1st gen Tacoma stolen from a parking lot in CA). Unfortunately if a theif wants your truck or what's in it, he is going to get it. The best thing you can do is make it difficult to steal (engine disabler, locking braces on your deck, alarm system, etc...), make it easier to recover (GPS tracking, VIN etching, etc...), or make it less appealing to steal (like you can do that to a Tacoma).

    I would go with what you want (double DIN) and just be careful. That is what I do (plus the upgraded security system and the engine disabler ;)).
     
  2. Sep 20, 2007 at 3:46 PM
    #62
    acbaccus@hotmail.com

    acbaccus@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Member:
    #2751
    Messages:
    3
    Vehicle:
    07 PRE-RUNNER
    Thak you guys! for all that information, but I bought this JVC XG-500 double din on e-bay with the Scosche dash kit, without the harness. So what do I do to install it? The colors that come with the original harness on the JVC don't match. What do I do?
    I appreciate any infromation to help me.
     
  3. Sep 20, 2007 at 11:04 PM
    #63
    biorunner1

    biorunner1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2674
    Messages:
    43
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    SR5 Prerunner
    Kenwood DVD, Navi TV tuner, Ipod, FM Traffic Reciever Thorley Headers AFE Intake Custom Exhaust URD MAF Calibrator American Racing BFG AT Wheels Fox Racing Shox Total Chaos Control Arms Tint
    1st Are you sure you have the correct harness? If you have to, go to your local stereo shop or even a Best Buy and see what harness they have for your truck. It should come with a color code or some sorta schematic. 2nd if you dont already have the system manual make sure you get it so you can match up the signals from both documents (not necissarily colors) to the harness. Good luck.
     
  4. Sep 21, 2007 at 5:02 AM
    #64
    acbaccus@hotmail.com

    acbaccus@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Member:
    #2751
    Messages:
    3
    Vehicle:
    07 PRE-RUNNER
    I appreciate you taking your time to help me out!
    I will try.
     
  5. Sep 21, 2007 at 9:39 PM
    #65
    biorunner1

    biorunner1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2674
    Messages:
    43
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    SR5 Prerunner
    Kenwood DVD, Navi TV tuner, Ipod, FM Traffic Reciever Thorley Headers AFE Intake Custom Exhaust URD MAF Calibrator American Racing BFG AT Wheels Fox Racing Shox Total Chaos Control Arms Tint
    By the way here is a picture of my Harness, the color code with the signals are on the package. This is how yours should be. Then the harness you have that came with the unit should plug right into to this. Its even easier than I thought. I got mine at Circuit City. Let me know how it goes.

    col.JPG
    Harn.JPG
     
  6. Sep 22, 2007 at 7:42 AM
    #66
    acbaccus@hotmail.com

    acbaccus@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Member:
    #2751
    Messages:
    3
    Vehicle:
    07 PRE-RUNNER
    I went to Circuit City this morning and I got the harness.
    Thank you!
     
  7. Oct 18, 2007 at 2:19 PM
    #67
    05PreRunner

    05PreRunner "Living life in the FAST lane..."

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2675
    Messages:
    4,968
    Gender:
    Male
    <-(714)-> SO-CAL
    TRD intake, JBA "shorty" headers, URD y-pipe
    Thanks i'll be using this in a couple days to install my new headunit. Once again, thanks for the awesome write -up!!:)
     
  8. Oct 25, 2007 at 1:35 PM
    #68
    bbarian333

    bbarian333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Member:
    #919
    Messages:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    06, Accesss Cab, TRD Sport
    TRD exh, K&N drop in,TRD seat cvrs,tsb springs
    Here's my question regarding stereo upgrade. I have the factory 6 disc cd player, with controls on the steering wheel. Does anybody know if there's a system i can install where the steering wheel controls will work?
     
  9. Oct 25, 2007 at 3:30 PM
    #69
    RockinP

    RockinP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Member:
    #3143
    Messages:
    9
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner Double Cab SR5 Black
    There are a couple of threads dedicated to this topic, within the audio video area, search for them if necessary. From what I understand you have 2 options. You can go with an Eclipse deck. Most of them have connectors that are directly compatiable with the steering wheel controls. You just splice 2 wires. Seems like the best option, direct connections are always the best.

    Your other option is an IR repeater like the PAC SWI-X from Crutchfield for $70. It is basically an infrared device that relays the steering wheel control buttons into your new deck. I have heard good and bad reviews of this device, guess it depends on the setup.

    Hope this helps.
     
  10. Nov 12, 2007 at 9:22 AM
    #70
    gsm

    gsm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Member:
    #3426
    Messages:
    143
    Raleigh, NC
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma Regular Cab, 2.7L, Impulse Red Pearl
    DIY OEM Fog Lights on anytime, DIY OEM Cruise Control, Removed 2ndary Air Filter, Rear Speakers Mod, Traction Bar/Helper Spring Mod, Red Brake Drums and Rotors, Stainless Steel Exhaust Tip, Door Sill Protectors, Taco Bed Mat, Custom Front Mud Flaps (Mudguards), TRD Bucket Seats (pending)
    007Tacoma or whomever may be able to answer:

    I have a standard radio with single CD player (not MP3 compatable). I don't have numerous CD's but I do have a large collections of MP3's, a portable CD/MP3 player and a PDA/MP3 player that I'd like to be able to attach via a Aux input.

    Anyone know of a kit or a add-on that can be wired to the factory setup so that I may be able to plug these in? And maybe which wire to attach this possible jack too?

    I know I could replace the actual radio system with one built in but prefer to just add a jack/plug-in with the existing system.

    Thanks
     
  11. Jan 8, 2008 at 5:38 AM
    #71
    isusww

    isusww Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1860
    Messages:
    81
    I am going to be installing THIS from USA Spec. There are several threads about this device and can give you more information if you'd like. I've even seen this items for sale in the forums here. Hope this helps.
     
  12. Jan 8, 2008 at 11:15 PM
    #72
    jdubh

    jdubh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Member:
    #4058
    Messages:
    39
    Vehicle:
    08 Double Cab V6 4x4
    I'm looking for pics of how to get an XM antenna on the roof. I've searched the forum and read that some have ran it up the headliner and out the back light and to the roof, others have removed a plug in the firewall and routed it up. Pics of any would be great.
     
  13. Feb 27, 2008 at 11:21 AM
    #73
    next

    next New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4978
    Messages:
    1
    Were you ever able to find this info? I am looking for the same thing.

    Thanks!
     
  14. Apr 24, 2008 at 9:19 PM
    #74
    calyork2

    calyork2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4658
    Messages:
    11
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner TRD-Off Road 4x2 Access Cab V6 Auto
    I'm installing my audio system and I'm wondering where is the best place to route my power wire into the cabin?? Anyone know?
     
  15. Apr 25, 2008 at 11:17 PM
    #75
    biorunner1

    biorunner1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2674
    Messages:
    43
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    SR5 Prerunner
    Kenwood DVD, Navi TV tuner, Ipod, FM Traffic Reciever Thorley Headers AFE Intake Custom Exhaust URD MAF Calibrator American Racing BFG AT Wheels Fox Racing Shox Total Chaos Control Arms Tint
    I ran mind on the drivers side under the trim. There is a rubber plug in the firewall under the dash way up in there behind your pedals. You can run it through there if you seal it up water tight. Keep that power cable away from any audio signals or you will get that irratating alternator noise.
     
  16. Jun 1, 2008 at 8:31 PM
    #76
    bfriatc

    bfriatc Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Member:
    #6969
    Messages:
    19
    Oviedo, FL
    Vehicle:
    '05 PreRunner TRD Sport - Black
    aftermarket Awia CD/MP3 head unit with aux input, Kicker 5.25" rear speakers, homemade cold air intake
    isn't the factory amp built into the factory stereo? any aftermarket stereo will have a built in amp. and you could always buy and wire your own.
     
  17. Jun 18, 2008 at 11:49 AM
    #77
    BlueSilver

    BlueSilver Wave rider

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Member:
    #7136
    Messages:
    75
    Just a way to help keep cost down. plus they become dangerous missiles during engine fires.
     
  18. Jun 18, 2008 at 11:53 AM
    #78
    BlueSilver

    BlueSilver Wave rider

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Member:
    #7136
    Messages:
    75
    An aftermarket stereo will not have an amp built in. Your toyota stock system should have it built into the bass tube. make sure your new stereo supports the stock equipment.
     
  19. Jun 22, 2008 at 7:09 PM
    #79
    burnt_tiger

    burnt_tiger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Member:
    #7342
    Messages:
    178
    Gender:
    Male
    Bakersfield CA
    Vehicle:
    08 dbl cab 4x4 longbed
    viper 5900 automatic start/alarm, pioneer avic-d3 indash gps UWS black truck box black tube steps, blue sea fuse block wet okoles console vault AFE oil free drop in air filter. hose clamp mod 5% tint Cobra 75 CB
    whats the difficulty on this (1-10)
    would pulling out a aftermarket double din go about the same way?
     
  20. Jul 9, 2008 at 11:19 AM
    #80
    Dirtbag

    Dirtbag Spark Chaser

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Member:
    #6978
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Enterprise, AL
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Prerunner Speedway Mettalic
    I found ONE plug in the firewall, I ran the wire down the windsheild weather stripping ( I used one of my daughters plastic toy butter knives, ran it down in front of the wire to open the channel up and pushed the wire in behind it. Then you can remove the little trim piece at the bottom corner of the windshield to route the wire under the hood, then I cut a slot in the rubber plug put the plut on the wire, used some black tape to seal it and pushed it back in. The hole comes out behind the A/C box inside, then I took the glove compartment out to route it. I bought a xm fm modulator and installed it ( had to remove the radio) and double side taped it next to the glove compartment. I have attached some pix, let me know if you can view them. I don't know how to insert them.

    100_1204.jpg
    100_1203.jpg
    100_1205.jpg
    100_1206.jpg
    100_1207.jpg
     
To Top