1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stock 2013 HU upgrade to 2013 JBL/Nav/XM HU???

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by FawkQ, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. Jun 26, 2013 at 1:13 AM
    #1
    FawkQ

    FawkQ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Member:
    #23797
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD Sport DCSB V6 4.0 6M "The Sequel"
    long long time TW follower... first time poster...

    Does anyone know if the 2013's with the stock HU can be upgraded to the 2013 JBL/Nav/XM (which ever you prefer to call it) HU with just simple plug and play?

    I understand you'd have to install both the XM and GPS AE's, but I just need to know if the harnesses are physically there in those non-Nav Tacoma's to install a factory Nav HU?

    Or even if someone who has removed their Nav HU, could you post a pic of the backside of that unit? That'll answer my question as well...

    it would be for a 2013 DC TRD Sport + Leather Package (Canadian) if that means anything...
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013
  2. Jun 30, 2013 at 1:49 PM
    #2
    Lancejoker

    Lancejoker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Member:
    #105849
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lance
    Delmar,Md
    Vehicle:
    2013 MGM DCSB TRD OR
    Hope someone finds out the answer to this. I would be quite interested as well
     
  3. Jun 30, 2013 at 3:03 PM
    #3
    JohnWJ

    JohnWJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Member:
    #88625
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 4x4 access cab
    short answer NO you can not I have email Toyota and they said that it can not be done
     
  4. Jul 2, 2013 at 10:56 PM
    #4
    MaxQ

    MaxQ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Member:
    #99526
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    '13 PreRunner SR5 4x2 with exaust tip.
    I read somewhere that it is basically the same radio. Only the way it's programmed. But, not sure if it's true or not. Makes sense though.
     
  5. Jul 3, 2013 at 1:02 AM
    #5
    FawkQ

    FawkQ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Member:
    #23797
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD Sport DCSB V6 4.0 6M "The Sequel"
To Top