1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stock HU w/ Amp.....possible????

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ryane3681, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Mar 11, 2010 at 4:10 AM
    #1
    ryane3681

    ryane3681 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24539
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner
    I have a 2008 taco, 4dr with the stock radio in it and it is not the JBL one that the dealer installs. Personally I like the way the stereo sounds, as for the most part it is clean audio....especially on sat radio or on my iPod.

    I'm thinking of replacing all speakers and stock tweeters with either Bose or Boston Acoustics, with one sub and an amp. The only thing preventing me from doing this is that I don't know if I can accomplish this using the stock deck. I like everything to be uniform and if I go with an aftermarket HU it's going to stand out like a soar thumb.

    I've seen a couple of articles online where they make adapters / converters that can be hooked up to your stock HU which will enable the use of an amp. I'm not sure how this would work or if it is at all possible.

    Is it possible to install an amp to a stock HU with the converter? Given the situation are I able to do so and be able to power a Bose or Boston Acoustic set up?


    Any feedback regarding personal experience with this, pros and cons would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Mar 11, 2010 at 7:36 AM
    #2
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    You can go cheapest with a couple Line Output Converters to JL Audio Cleansweep to MTX RE-Q to RF 3Sixty.2 to AudioControl LC6i to Audison BitOne. The easiest, cheapest ok sounding way to go is two line output converters. If you are running a 5 channel or two amps...just 'Y' the mids and highs amp on one LOC and run the sub amp on the other LOC. IMHO anything else besides the LOC's is pricy and you should consider a aftermarket deck instead for that price with bluetooth, SAT, high preamp output with f/r/sub and USB/Aux.
     
  3. Mar 11, 2010 at 3:32 PM
    #3
    dreamnz

    dreamnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15964
    Messages:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    Suspension: Camburg Spindles, Bilstein 5100s, Deaver Leafs, BFGs Audio: IDQ 10 in "Marv" box - Hybrid Audio L6 mid bass/ L4 mids / L1 ProSE tweets - RF Power / Arc Amps...BitOne.1 to control it all.
    You just need an amp that has "high-level inputs". Basically you run the speaker wires to the amp as input.

    Obviously you'd need to do some wiring.

    Save yourself the headache and find a cheap maybe even used HU. Finding something cheap that will outperform the stock unit shouldn't be too difficult.

    Check the classifieds on diyma.com There are always good deals there.
     
  4. Mar 11, 2010 at 3:42 PM
    #4
    Chachie

    Chachie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    I have a line out converter that ill sell you for 20 shipped if thats the way you want to go. I just upgraded to a DVD unit and have no need for it anymore. lmk.

    Justin.
     
  5. Mar 11, 2010 at 3:46 PM
    #5
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    That's all I did for mine.
     
  6. Mar 12, 2010 at 7:12 PM
    #6
    JoeSchmuck

    JoeSchmuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Member:
    #17443
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 2x4 O.R., Timberline Green
    Pop & Lock, Access LE Rollup Cover, Alpine PDX-5 Amp, Image Dynamics CS-6/CX-6 & 10" Sub
    Simple answer is yes, as you already know. The one questioj I would ask you is, where do you want to mount the Amp?

    If it's under one of the seats then you are limited in Amp selection. If it's not under the seat then you have a much larger selection.

    My advice is, find an amp that accepts high level inputs (already recommended here). This makes life easier and you don't have to buy an aditional component.

    Myself, I wanted the amp under the drivers seat. I could not find a 5 channel amp with high level inputs that would fit so I purchased an Alpine PDX-5. I also had to buy a line converter to adapt the speaker levels to 4 channel line levels. This will work and I will be installing mine this weekend.

    So plan your installation before buying the parts. Post a list of things you want to buy and see who have constructive comments to help you out.

    Good Luck,
    -Joe
     
  7. Mar 13, 2010 at 4:41 PM
    #7
    ryane3681

    ryane3681 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24539
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner
    I think i've decided on what type of audio upgrades i'm going to do. I'm going to be doing too many modifications as i'm an originalist and like things the way they are in my taco.

    I'm going to replace the front and rear spears of my double cab taco with Boston Acoustics. I'm huge fan of highs, mids, clarity and clean audio. I will be using the BA Pro series. For the sub, i'm going to be using the JL Audio 13TW5, with a custom built box to go behind the rear passenger seat. Since i'm going to be keeping my stock deck and using the LC6 (thinkg thats the name of the converter), all of this will be powered the JL Audio HD900 / 5 Amplifier.

    I figure that this will be a good start and will most likely keep me entertained for a while. If and when I decide to upgrade my audio system later on down the road, than maybe i'll get all crazy with aftermarket decks and anything else that comes with hit.

    As this being my first audio upgrade, what do you think?
     
  8. Mar 13, 2010 at 4:44 PM
    #8
    ryane3681

    ryane3681 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24539
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner
    I think this upgrade will give me some power and what i'm looking for in audio quality.
     
  9. Mar 13, 2010 at 5:51 PM
    #9
    revhappyleon

    revhappyleon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Member:
    #21839
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Manny
    Tampa near macdill
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner V6 6-speed(custom dual exhaust)
    dual exhaust, foglight anytime, satoshi, chlm, aux backup lights and electric fan conversion
    I have done this before, then upgraded to a aftermarket hu, imo dont waste time wit the stock unit go right into aftermarket it will make the bigest increase in sound quality
     
  10. Jul 11, 2010 at 8:36 PM
    #10
    YeahYeah

    YeahYeah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36062
    Messages:
    304
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    (My Home - Murrieta, CA) Now, Alexandria, VA
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Pre-Runner
    mud flaps gone, second air-filter gone, DTRL, fog light whenever and work with hi-beams, cut exhaust (was wicked flow), flat black stock rims, ABS switch, cup holder led's (with switch), turning signal mod #45, Bilstien 5100's, grill mesh

    ok, but where do you plug the ends of the wires to? I know where to put the one end of the high input level in the amp.... but im talking about the wires that coming out of the. Do they go with the front speakers, the back, where?
     
  11. Jul 12, 2010 at 2:28 AM
    #11
    JoeSchmuck

    JoeSchmuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Member:
    #17443
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 2x4 O.R., Timberline Green
    Pop & Lock, Access LE Rollup Cover, Alpine PDX-5 Amp, Image Dynamics CS-6/CX-6 & 10" Sub
    You buy a wiring harness adapter that connects to the head unit audio outputs and then feed those into your high-level inputs of your amp. Best Buy and other places sell the adapter.
     
  12. Jul 12, 2010 at 4:05 AM
    #12
    El Hombre Lobo

    El Hombre Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34816
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    I'm trying to accomplish the same setup as Ryane3681 (albeit different brand of speakers). That being said, I'm tired of people telling me to buy a new HU!!

    I like the 'original' look, and I do not want to spend the money on a new HU. So NO I will NOT get a new HU! You all may be correct, it could very well be the best sound ever but it's not what we want at the moment. So save yourself the time and do not post telling us to get a new HU!!!

    Sorry for the slight hijack. It's just i'm tired of asking for some specific advice like Ryane here and all were told is to spend more money on stuff we don't want... Rant over!

    JoeSchmuk, I plan on buying an Alpine PDX-5 for under the seat. What kind of line converters would I require? Any other tips from your install would be appreciated. Planning on 5x7 components up front, 6.5 coaxials in the rear, self enclosed J 10" sub.

    Thanks!!
     
  13. Jul 12, 2010 at 6:02 AM
    #13
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    With a 5 channel amp...I ran 2 two channel LOC's. I just one from the rear speakers for the subout and one from the front speakers for the front and rear of the amp. I just ran a 'y' off of the LOC's to split it for the front and rear of the amp.
     
  14. Jul 13, 2010 at 2:01 AM
    #14
    El Hombre Lobo

    El Hombre Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34816
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Huh?!

    Sirsaechao, I appreciate your help but I'm having a hard time understanding what you've said.

    So let me get this straight.

    I have a PDX-5 amp.
    I will need two 2-channel LOC's.

    Where do I plug these in and is it necessary to splice them?

    I'd like to have rear speakers but I also have a sub I could plug and play when there's room. Is there a way to give the amp a "sub" signal to chew on?

    Has anyone else used this LC6 unit that Rayne3681 mentioned?
     
  15. Jul 13, 2010 at 2:09 AM
    #15
    C17Guy

    C17Guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30732
    Messages:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Charleston, SC/ Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 Access Cab 5 Lugger
    Readylift Kit, 245/75/16, HID's, Debadged, Kenwood DNX9960 Double Din Navigation, Image Dynamics Door Components, Pioneer Amp, Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler, Grillcraft Uppers and Lowers
    I think there's a couple people on here that have used them. I was going to go this route, however, I like have a navi unti now.

    http://www.crutchfield.com/s_136441DSP/JL-Audio-CL441dsp-CleanSweep.html?search=cleansweep&ssi=0
     
  16. Jul 13, 2010 at 2:40 AM
    #16
    El Hombre Lobo

    El Hombre Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34816
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Sorry, I was referring to the LC6 specifically since I can't find much about them. The Cleansweep is too expensive. And if I understand correctly it only has 4 channels, nothing for a sub..

    It appears LOC's are the cheaper way to go. I just want to know how many I need and exactly how I go about wiring them up to my pdx-5 amp so I can use all 4 speakers (and the full 75 rms) and sub channel.

    Thanks.
     
  17. Jul 13, 2010 at 2:52 AM
    #17
    C17Guy

    C17Guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30732
    Messages:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Charleston, SC/ Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 Access Cab 5 Lugger
    Readylift Kit, 245/75/16, HID's, Debadged, Kenwood DNX9960 Double Din Navigation, Image Dynamics Door Components, Pioneer Amp, Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler, Grillcraft Uppers and Lowers
    Looks like just one. But again I'm pretty new at all this audio stuff, so maybe someone else will chime in.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Jul 13, 2010 at 5:54 AM
    #18
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    There are 3 sets of RCA on the amp: front, rear & sub...take (2) two channel LOC's like PAC SNI-15 or 35's and splice or tap the front speakers for one LOC and splice or tap the rear speakers for one LOC. I did these behind the dash. Run two pairs of RCA from the HU to the amp...make sure to mark mids/highs and sub on the RCA w/ tape for ease. I ran three sets myself in case I wanted to get a deck later w/ 3 sets of preamp. Get a couple 'Y' adapters to 'Y' the front LOC's into two sets of RCA so you can have a total of 3 sets of RCA to mate with the amps 3 sets.
     
  19. Jul 13, 2010 at 8:36 AM
    #19
    JoeSchmuck

    JoeSchmuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Member:
    #17443
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 2x4 O.R., Timberline Green
    Pop & Lock, Access LE Rollup Cover, Alpine PDX-5 Amp, Image Dynamics CS-6/CX-6 & 10" Sub
    I love the PDX-5 amp and it does fit under the seat very well and my daughter doesn't kick it when she's in the rear seats. There are several line convertors and I grabbed a 4 line convertor and a pair of RCA Y-harnesses so I could feed the sub channel with the rear channel. One thing I didn't do yet is put in a level controller for the sub channel yet so I have it turned down some. I highly recommend good power wires. I bought some called super twist I think. I can look up my old order form and give the specific info to you, but the power wires were super flexable and laid were I put them. They feel like a limp wet noodle.

    As for mouting the amp under the seat... I used three 1" wooden dowel pieces as spacers to keep the amp off the carpet. One edge does sit on the carpet where the under seat vents are. Also a 5 foot or 6 foot 6 channel RCA audio cable. I think 4 foot is too short but you can try that if you find one.

    Now for the downside... Yes, this has to do with the head unit. It really does have a large amount of Bass in the lower volume levels and then tapers off to much less (probably flat) above maybe 25 on the volume level. I wish there was a way to defeat it. I too like my HU looks and it operates great. The FM radio could get better reception but I also don't want to spend more on a HU that doesn't look factory.

    When I feel froggy, I plan to get into the radio and find an uncompensated audio tap and feed it out as I feel this would be the best way to go. I will post it in great detail, but again, when I find the time.

    -Joe
     
  20. Jul 18, 2010 at 1:06 AM
    #20
    El Hombre Lobo

    El Hombre Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34816
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Thanks for the reply Joe! Your answer will save me a lot of trouble!

    That being said, I have one more quesiton.. If usuing a pair of RCA Y-Harnesses to supply the sub input from the rear speakers, won't the rear speakers be "underpowered"? Or would the amp make up for the low signal?

    Thanks again!
     
To Top