1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stock speakers

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Nick_c10, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. Jun 4, 2009 at 11:32 PM
    #1
    Nick_c10

    Nick_c10 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Member:
    #17098
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Just got a 2009 Tacoma double cab pre runner. Love the truck but the stock speakers are weak! They just dont get loud enough! My question is, if I install new component speakers in the doors, do I have to use an amp or will the stock head unit be enough to run them? And also can I install an amp and sub using my stock head unit?
     
  2. Jun 4, 2009 at 11:51 PM
    #2
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,078
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    its not the speakers that are weak its the head unit thats weak, i got a new head unit and now i cant turn up the volume all the way because it is way too loud
     
  3. Jun 4, 2009 at 11:53 PM
    #3
    Burgman

    Burgman I KEEEEEL YOU

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Member:
    #16072
    Messages:
    26,682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stephen
    Ric VA
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner TRD sport Silver
    K&N intake, Boston Acoustic SL 60 6.5 components up front, Rockford Power T16 6.5 in rear, Pioneer P4100 HU, Soon to be Pioneer Prs 4200f
    id recommend a HU also as it can create much more power and many more sound adjustments along with the easy ability to upgrade
     
  4. Jun 4, 2009 at 11:53 PM
    #4
    senor taco

    senor taco ROLLIN ON RUST

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Member:
    #12330
    Messages:
    2,335
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Monterey Bay, Ca
    Vehicle:
    O7 Tacoma PreRunner SR5
    17in fj cruiser wheels satoshi grille with devil horns emblem Single in double out 50 series flowmaster with stainless tips Kenwod ddx512 double din touch screen DVD reciver with a single Rockford fosgate 12 in sub with an alpine amp tinted tail and third break light silverstar head and fog lights k&n drop in Billy 5100's on all 4 corners with a 2"AAL
    I started with a new head unit and sub 1st my stock speekers sound alot louder now. I do plan on replacing them though. U can run a sub with the stock head unit. I belive it's beter to have a amp for upgraded speekers.

    Edit u need some kind of converter to run the sub with the stock head unit
     
  5. Jun 5, 2009 at 12:57 AM
    #5
    StandingCow

    StandingCow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16373
    Messages:
    1,799
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4x4 V6 access cab
    I thought I had read that the HU in these were fine.. and the stock speakers were crap... now I am hearing the opposite. Grrr

    :)
     
  6. Jun 5, 2009 at 7:20 AM
    #6
    rod11

    rod11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Member:
    #15517
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Vehicle:
    09 Pyrite Mica DC Prerunner TRD Sport
    I replaced just the speakers to begin with and still had the same problem of not enough volume. Most of the problem is definitely the HU, though the speakers aren't great either. I used a line out converter to run an amp with my stock HU and now the volume problem is solved.
     
To Top