1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stock sub replacement

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ZenkaiTaco, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. Dec 26, 2010 at 12:05 PM
    #1
    ZenkaiTaco

    ZenkaiTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Member:
    #47089
    Messages:
    104
    Gender:
    Male
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    11 DCSB TRD OR
    Anyone ever out an aftermarket sub in the stock sub location? I'm guessing its a 8in sub? Thanks.
     
  2. Dec 27, 2010 at 9:48 PM
    #2
    A7XT

    A7XT Reppin UWYO

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16656
    Messages:
    343
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    WYOMING
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport V6 Silver
    BRUTEFORCE FAB HYBRID BUMPER!, 1.5 AAL, 5100 at 2.5" in front, foglight and DRL mod, fully de-badged, diff-breather mod, aux backup lights, rear view switch on mod, full husky floor liners, yellow wire mod, black action packer toolbox, Rockford P3SD412 sub on a hifonics Zues, Pioneer 4200DVD, hitch recovery shackle, Toyota Ski racks over bed, 55W Bixenon 6000K, Rigid 4" LED bars on bumper, Black Ultra Thunder 17" rims
    You could try it yes but the fit is not guaranteed and there is only like 90 watts RMS going to that stock sub so it would not make too much of a difference. Sorry i havent tried it though
     
  3. Dec 28, 2010 at 7:05 AM
    #3
    ZenkaiTaco

    ZenkaiTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Member:
    #47089
    Messages:
    104
    Gender:
    Male
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    11 DCSB TRD OR
    Sorry I should've mentioned an aftermarket amp as well. I knew the stock amp was probably pretty weak.

    What I am wondering is how an aftermarket sub/amp combo would sound in the factory box. I would like to retain the factory look as much as possible and not have to cut any panels.

    I'm sure it wouldn't sound as good as a bigger box, but if its not horrible then I may give it a try.
     
  4. Dec 28, 2010 at 12:18 PM
    #4
    Brandon###

    Brandon### Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Member:
    #36105
    Messages:
    798
    Gender:
    Male
    Can you measure the stock sub enclosure? (mounting depth and L,w,h)
     
  5. Dec 29, 2010 at 7:16 AM
    #5
    ZenkaiTaco

    ZenkaiTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Member:
    #47089
    Messages:
    104
    Gender:
    Male
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    11 DCSB TRD OR
    I don't have a Taco yet :eek:. Just researching things I will want to do. But I will be getting a double cab whenever I get back from the sandbox.
     
  6. Dec 30, 2010 at 9:18 AM
    #6
    DevL

    DevL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31952
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Why is everyone wanting to keep factory equipment? How about you make a sub that looks BETTER than factory in the same spot? Also no sub will sound good in the factory box. Why create such a headache for yourself?
     
To Top