1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stumped - 12V LEDs install

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by BassMaster06, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. Dec 6, 2010 at 6:09 PM
    #1
    BassMaster06

    BassMaster06 [OP] VA ○ ES ○ SC

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Member:
    #41558
    Messages:
    818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    SC Lowcountry
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    Bug guts
    [​IMG]
    Alright, I've installed bed lights on a switch successfully so I figured I'd try my luck with a set of LED's to put inside the cab. I bought a set of blue LEDs very similar to the picture above at Advance Auto. I got home and opened up the package and checked out the wires.

    I'm no electrician, but there is a small black wire coming from the module. At the end of it, it is cut with even smaller black wire and red wire inside. I stripped the two ends of these 2 wires and revealed the actual wire itself, which was 3 or 4 strands of "hair" like wire. STUMPED. How do I power these safely??? I figured somebody could help me out, I searched for a little bit but couldn't come up w/ anything similar to this. Thanks
     
  2. Dec 6, 2010 at 6:46 PM
    #2
    BassMaster06

    BassMaster06 [OP] VA ○ ES ○ SC

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Member:
    #41558
    Messages:
    818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    SC Lowcountry
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    Bug guts
    Man you've been helpin me out a lot lately...haha. What gauge of wire should I use? And do I need a resistor for these?
     
  3. Dec 6, 2010 at 6:56 PM
    #3
    BassMaster06

    BassMaster06 [OP] VA ○ ES ○ SC

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Member:
    #41558
    Messages:
    818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    SC Lowcountry
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    Bug guts
    alright thanks man, and again i appreciate the help....i'll give it a try!
     
  4. Dec 6, 2010 at 7:47 PM
    #4
    BassMaster06

    BassMaster06 [OP] VA ○ ES ○ SC

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Member:
    #41558
    Messages:
    818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    SC Lowcountry
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    Bug guts
    Out of curiosity, Why are the wires so small?!? It's alright to solder these tiny wires to 18 Ga wire? Idk, I tried to wire these up the other night, and it blew the 10A inline fuse up close to the battery...Im trying to figure out why, and I figured it was because I was connecting large wires to tiny wires. What would cause the inline fuse to blow? Maybe I wired it up wrong on the switch? Wrong size of inline fuse (10A)? Maybe a combination of mistakes?

    Here is a diagram of how I wired them up.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Dec 7, 2010 at 5:34 AM
    #5
    BassMaster06

    BassMaster06 [OP] VA ○ ES ○ SC

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Member:
    #41558
    Messages:
    818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    SC Lowcountry
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    Bug guts
    Its an oznium illuminated switch, and I may have had it wired up wrong because i just guessed when i did it (dumb) cuz I didn't have a diagram. I found the switch diagram on the oznium website so I should be good to go there. I don't have a meter to check it. Is a 10A fuse alright to use as the inline fuse?? Or should I go higher or lower? Thanks for bearing with me and my poor knowledge on electrical stuff.
     
  6. Dec 8, 2010 at 10:52 AM
    #6
    BassMaster06

    BassMaster06 [OP] VA ○ ES ○ SC

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Member:
    #41558
    Messages:
    818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    SC Lowcountry
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    Bug guts
    anybody? Trying to wire up 2 - 6 LED glow pads (12V). Using 18 Ga wire....What size inline fuze?
     
  7. Dec 13, 2011 at 10:51 PM
    #7
    Forster46

    Forster46 Very nice how much?

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40487
    Messages:
    3,368
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Vehicle:
    The doritos locos taco
    6000k HID's, AUX Reverse Lights, 3" Rough Country Suspension Lift, Pioneer AVH-P4200 Double Din, Underglow and footwell Lights, Camo Seat Covers, Duralast Tool Box, Blacked Out Badges, Grill, Front Emblem, Midland CB Radio, Amber Strobes, POWER REAR WINDOW, cup holder LED's, Firestik 3' in bed, console divider, Ultragauge.
    Looks correct to me. Although I am no electrician lol. My guess is maybe one of the wires inside where you stripped could possibly be touching, causing it to short. I had a problem similiar with a trailer I built. It kept blowing the fuse for my trucks running lights.

    pissed me off...


    If not then maybe the power wire could be touching a grounded piece of metal somewhere. I don't know much about diodes and resistors and all the mumbo jumbo.
     
To Top