1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sub/Amp/Speaker HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by th3bigk0, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. Mar 14, 2011 at 7:47 PM
    #1
    th3bigk0

    th3bigk0 [OP] GETTN IT

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Member:
    #25512
    Messages:
    1,880
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dylan
    Lamecaster
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Double Cab
    Fox 2.5 RR C/O's,Camburg UCA,Camburg Spindles,KING 2.5,OME Dakar Leafs,285 KM2,XD HOSS 16'',BHLM,HID's,CB,Hornblasters Shocker 540 train horn,KICKER 12 ported....
    so my buddy is selling me a jl 500.1 slash series amp,i wanna run that to 2 jl 12w0s,does it matter what ohm rating sub i get?and does any1 have any input on whether to get w0s or w1s
     
  2. Mar 14, 2011 at 8:17 PM
    #2
    th3bigk0

    th3bigk0 [OP] GETTN IT

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Member:
    #25512
    Messages:
    1,880
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dylan
    Lamecaster
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Double Cab
    Fox 2.5 RR C/O's,Camburg UCA,Camburg Spindles,KING 2.5,OME Dakar Leafs,285 KM2,XD HOSS 16'',BHLM,HID's,CB,Hornblasters Shocker 540 train horn,KICKER 12 ported....
  3. Mar 20, 2011 at 7:43 AM
    #3
    lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
    Yes it matters what Ohm subs you get. The total load from the sub(s) has to match with the amp. Two 4-Ohm W0's wired in parallel will produce a 2-Ohm load to the amp. That is within the specs for the amp.

    Generally speaking the higher the last number on JL Woofers, the better the quality. So as long as the W1s are 4-Ohm each as well, you would be OK.
     
  4. Mar 20, 2011 at 9:11 AM
    #4
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    The 500/1 uses their RIPS technology, and will produce the same (regulated) power from 1.5-4 ohm. You can run any single 4, single 2, dual 4, or dual 2 ohm subs,in singles or in pairs, and receive the same amount of power.

    As stated, the higher the number, the better the quality.

    Good luck!
     
  5. Mar 20, 2011 at 3:01 PM
    #5
    DevL

    DevL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31952
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    You do realise you wont have any rear seats if you install those subs right? It (the box) will take up all the room you have back there.
     
To Top