1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sub/amp troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by TCprerunner, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. Oct 24, 2013 at 12:31 PM
    #1
    TCprerunner

    TCprerunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Member:
    #98943
    Messages:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    Okay this is a bit off topic because it is in my wifes car and not my truck..

    Little info:
    07 Scion tc
    Kicker amp and subs (If you need more info i can give it to you but thinking this is something pretty simple)

    I am hoping the amp did not blow but here is my issue

    Her car trunk is filled with speaker box and amp no room for anything so we have to remove it from time to time when she needs the room have never had a issue doing so till today.

    I got the box back in hooked everything up and cant get sound from the subs, Checked all the fuses other then the plastic casing on one being cracked (Should not be a issue right?) Everything was okay. got my test light out checked power and everything was getting power.

    Here to me is the weird part. after i could not find any issues just started fiddling to try to see if i could come up with anything I took my test light to the amp output jacks With the sub wires hooked up and when i grounded it with the test light the subs came on (They were not as loud as normal but they do work)..

    Anyone able to help me out with what my issue is? Did we burn up the amp?

    Any help would be great we are trying to sell this car and as always shit goes wrong at the worst times lol
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013
  2. Oct 25, 2013 at 7:55 AM
    #2
    Tj0hn

    Tj0hn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Member:
    #106827
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    Stock TRD Sport 4x4
    Sounds like a bad ground?
     
  3. Oct 25, 2013 at 9:24 AM
    #3
    TCprerunner

    TCprerunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Member:
    #98943
    Messages:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    That's what I thought but all my grounds are good I even replaced the cable of one and re grounded it to double check.. I know I have power cause I can get it to work by grounding out the amps speaker out put... I am wondering if something in the amp screwed up and there is some type of internal ground that got fried? I don't even know... I don't know anything about sound systems just going off of electrical knowledge and I have power and all my grounds are good..
     
  4. Oct 25, 2013 at 9:30 AM
    #4
    jeremy_283

    jeremy_283 Super Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Member:
    #11569
    Messages:
    1,431
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad Access Cab 4x4 Auto 4.0L
    Hella Rallye 4000 Cornering Lights PIAA 510 Fog Lights All Pro Front Bumper All Pro Rear Bumper All Pro Transfer Case Skid All Pro IFS Skid All Pro Rock Sliders All Pro High Clearance Hitch OME Dakar Leaf Springs OME Rear Shocks OME Front Shocks OME 885 Front Coils Wet Okole Seat Covers WeatherTech Floor Liners Sony Head Unit JL XD600/1 Amp 2 JL Audio 10” Subwoofers Custom Subwoofer Enclosure Kenwood Front Speakers Sony Rear Speakers Sound Deadening Mats LED Interior Lighting Pop N’ Lock Tailgate Lock Viper Alarm System Extra D-Rings In Truck Bed Maglite Seat Mount Disable Seatbelt Chime Rear Differential Breather Relocation Hi-Lift Bed Mount Flexible Front Mud Flaps 110v Inverter Always At 400w ABS Kill Switch Locking Center Console Removed Sway Bar
    You can test the output voltage of your amp if you have a multimeter in order to isolate the problem.

    Also, is the subwoofer option on your head unit turned on?
     
  5. Oct 25, 2013 at 11:16 AM
    #5
    ABA180

    ABA180 It burns when I pee....

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Member:
    #88520
    Messages:
    6,756
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    East Bridgewater MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab Slider
    Kenwood CD, MTX/Jensen amps, Rockford/Polk speakers.
    Replace the fuses. Even that plastic crack just might give you a problem. It's cheap enough to get that off the list anyways.
     
  6. Oct 25, 2013 at 11:19 AM
    #6
    TCprerunner

    TCprerunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Member:
    #98943
    Messages:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    Looked up how to check the out puts with multimeter and I was not getting out put unless grounded just went and got a new amp don't feel like jacking with internal wiring and I got a better amps for the subs anyways I was only running 1/2 the power I should have been and might have over worked the amp thanks everyone for the help
     
  7. Oct 25, 2013 at 11:20 AM
    #7
    ABA180

    ABA180 It burns when I pee....

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Member:
    #88520
    Messages:
    6,756
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    East Bridgewater MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab Slider
    Kenwood CD, MTX/Jensen amps, Rockford/Polk speakers.
    If it comes to internals then yes it's easier to replace it IMO. Give the fuses a try first, won't hurt.
     
  8. Oct 25, 2013 at 11:27 AM
    #8
    ABA180

    ABA180 It burns when I pee....

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Member:
    #88520
    Messages:
    6,756
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    East Bridgewater MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab Slider
    Kenwood CD, MTX/Jensen amps, Rockford/Polk speakers.
    Jeremy, how do you set gain with a MM? I had the system in my old truck pretty much swapped over into my Tacoma, but wondering if it could use a look..
     
  9. Oct 25, 2013 at 11:28 AM
    #9
    jeremy_283

    jeremy_283 Super Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Member:
    #11569
    Messages:
    1,431
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad Access Cab 4x4 Auto 4.0L
    Hella Rallye 4000 Cornering Lights PIAA 510 Fog Lights All Pro Front Bumper All Pro Rear Bumper All Pro Transfer Case Skid All Pro IFS Skid All Pro Rock Sliders All Pro High Clearance Hitch OME Dakar Leaf Springs OME Rear Shocks OME Front Shocks OME 885 Front Coils Wet Okole Seat Covers WeatherTech Floor Liners Sony Head Unit JL XD600/1 Amp 2 JL Audio 10” Subwoofers Custom Subwoofer Enclosure Kenwood Front Speakers Sony Rear Speakers Sound Deadening Mats LED Interior Lighting Pop N’ Lock Tailgate Lock Viper Alarm System Extra D-Rings In Truck Bed Maglite Seat Mount Disable Seatbelt Chime Rear Differential Breather Relocation Hi-Lift Bed Mount Flexible Front Mud Flaps 110v Inverter Always At 400w ABS Kill Switch Locking Center Console Removed Sway Bar
    lol, you got to have the amp grounded I'm pretty sure to get any output. Hopefully the new amp fixes it for you. Be sure to set the gain correctly. I set mine with a multimeter but others set theirs by ear.
     
  10. Oct 25, 2013 at 11:35 AM
    #10
    jeremy_283

    jeremy_283 Super Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Member:
    #11569
    Messages:
    1,431
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad Access Cab 4x4 Auto 4.0L
    Hella Rallye 4000 Cornering Lights PIAA 510 Fog Lights All Pro Front Bumper All Pro Rear Bumper All Pro Transfer Case Skid All Pro IFS Skid All Pro Rock Sliders All Pro High Clearance Hitch OME Dakar Leaf Springs OME Rear Shocks OME Front Shocks OME 885 Front Coils Wet Okole Seat Covers WeatherTech Floor Liners Sony Head Unit JL XD600/1 Amp 2 JL Audio 10” Subwoofers Custom Subwoofer Enclosure Kenwood Front Speakers Sony Rear Speakers Sound Deadening Mats LED Interior Lighting Pop N’ Lock Tailgate Lock Viper Alarm System Extra D-Rings In Truck Bed Maglite Seat Mount Disable Seatbelt Chime Rear Differential Breather Relocation Hi-Lift Bed Mount Flexible Front Mud Flaps 110v Inverter Always At 400w ABS Kill Switch Locking Center Console Removed Sway Bar
    http://knowledge.sonicelectronix.com/car-audio-and-video/car-amplifiers/how-to-adjust-amplifier-gains-using-a-digital-multi-meter.html

    http://www.crutchfield.com/S-EQNxufWN03l/learn/learningcenter/car/subwoofers_wiring.html

    I'm no expert but basically look at the attached links.

    Here is the link to my amps owners manual... I just followed their directions

    http://mediacdn.jlaudio.com/media/mfg/9013/media_document/live_1/XD600_1_MAN.pdf?1342151666

    An easier way which others seem to like is to just tune it until there is distortion in their favorite music.
     
  11. Oct 25, 2013 at 1:36 PM
    #11
    TCprerunner

    TCprerunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Member:
    #98943
    Messages:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    The amp it's self was grounded sorry if I did not make that clear I was also havin to ground my out put jack to get any signal from the amp also though
     
  12. Oct 25, 2013 at 1:42 PM
    #12
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,330
    Gender:
    Male
    The question is 'where is your amp grounded'?

    Did you find bare metal? Frame ground? Sand the paint off first?

    Just because you have a screw into the metal with a ground cable attached doesn't mean its properly grounded.
     
  13. Oct 25, 2013 at 1:44 PM
    #13
    TCprerunner

    TCprerunner [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Member:
    #98943
    Messages:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    It's the same ground that worked for 5 years and got a new amp already set up and better then ever
     
To Top