1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

sub & amp with stock headunit??

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TRDfarmerTN, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. Mar 29, 2012 at 11:38 AM
    #1
    TRDfarmerTN

    TRDfarmerTN [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Member:
    #8801
    Messages:
    423
    Gender:
    Male
    20% tint, painted handles,painted grill, wet okole seatcovers,sockmonkey decals
    can or has anyone done this? i really like my stock headunit in my 2012 taco and dont wna change it unless i have too, but i wna change out the speakers and add a sub with a 5-channel amp, will it work and all??
     
  2. Mar 29, 2012 at 11:40 AM
    #2
    XPOTRPR

    XPOTRPR [[[[[[EXPOtrooper]]]]]] IG: xpotrpr

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Member:
    #57449
    Messages:
    22,492
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Moose
    Chandler, AZ
    Vehicle:
    SUPERCHARGED MID TRAVEL 2009 DCSB TRD O/R 4X4 AUTO
    CHECK BUILD
  3. Mar 29, 2012 at 11:42 AM
    #3
    chadderkdawg

    chadderkdawg Don't ask questions you don't want the answer to..

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Member:
    #55763
    Messages:
    8,163
    Gender:
    Male
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    09 FX4 F150
  4. Mar 29, 2012 at 11:44 AM
    #4
    Tacomanator

    Tacomanator Boiling denim and bangin whores

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40746
    Messages:
    4,634
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clam Slammer
    Southern Cali
    King 2.5" extended travel coilovers with compression adjusters, Camburg UCA's, King 2.5" rear shocks, TRD 1st gen CAI.
    You'll need a line converter.
     
  5. Mar 29, 2012 at 11:44 AM
    #5
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    Yup, can be done.... I'd suggest an Alpine MRX-V60... it's last years model so Car Toys is clearing out for the new ones, and at $280, I think it's a steal (I may be getting one myself).

    It does have speaker level inputs, so you don't NEED to add a line out converter and get RCA's, but I would suggest doing so anyhow, in case you ever decide to get a new head unit (which will really be one of the biggest upgrades you can do IMO - you just can't get good sound unless you start with a good source).

    Good Luck and feel free to PM questions to me... I've been trolling way too much lately :D
     
  6. Mar 29, 2012 at 11:46 AM
    #6
    BlackSeven

    BlackSeven Grab your helmet, this shits about to get retarded

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Member:
    #71733
    Messages:
    468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    '10 Reg Cab 4x4
    Toytec Ultimate Lift kit, Toytec Rear AAL, 4.88 Gears, ARB Rear locker, Doug Thorley header, Volant Cold Air Intake, Demello Offroad front high clearance bumper, ARB On board Air compressor, BLHM, Wet Okoles, 2011 Color matched grill, Weathertech mats, 4x Innovations Sliders, ATO Engine Skid plate, ATO High lift bed mounts.
    I'm doing this now. I bought a PAC SNI-35 which will tap into the left/right channels of the fronts or rears and give you RCA outs. Since I have a reg cab, I'll just use the rear channels off the headunit to splice directly into the SNI-35's. Once you've got your RCA outs, its the same as an aftermarket unit. Set your low pass filter on your amp and away you go, you won't have any amp control through the headunit obviously like you would with an aftermarket system.

    I also got a kenwood 350 watt 2 channel sub amp for 57 dollars off amazon. FTW. I'm cheap.
     
  7. Mar 29, 2012 at 11:48 AM
    #7
    jassco

    jassco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20568
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab 2.7L SR5 5spd, 4x4
    5100 set to .85 w/ rear TSB, 2012 Rear-view Mirror, Grillecraft, Team Trails FJ Wheels, TPMS canister, Rear headrest delete, Rear console delete, Valley Hitch, Frame undercoat, $2.99 Tailgate hose clamp lock, Avid light bar, 4x4 lighted switch ala Biceman.
  8. Mar 29, 2012 at 11:49 AM
    #8
    Tacomanator

    Tacomanator Boiling denim and bangin whores

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40746
    Messages:
    4,634
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clam Slammer
    Southern Cali
    King 2.5" extended travel coilovers with compression adjusters, Camburg UCA's, King 2.5" rear shocks, TRD 1st gen CAI.
    I would get a new head unit and door speakers first.
     
  9. Mar 29, 2012 at 12:33 PM
    #9
    mbrogz3000

    mbrogz3000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Member:
    #65009
    Messages:
    411
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    '11 TRD Off Road
    Hellwig Rear Sway Bar, AFE Air Filter
    I would try installing a set of door speakers first. If you start being able to notice subtle differences in the music, then it might be ok to use the stock head unit.

    My understanding is, that even by using a channel summing processor (which levels + combines channels and provides you a baseline source signal from a stock headunit), you may still have to deal with the articifial bass limiting from the stock head unit at high volumes, as well as the other permanent EQ tuning for the mated stock speakers. And then the cost of the processor vs. the cost of a new head unit is another consideration. I can't find a clear thread that states if the bass reduction without a summing processor is terrible or otherwise acceptable.

    I'm holding off for now, as I'm dealing with some computer problems in my wife's 2004 corolla (which doesn't get a free ECU replacement), which I'm probably going to break down and pay the dealer $150 or so to re-flash.
     
  10. Mar 29, 2012 at 12:44 PM
    #10
    BlackSeven

    BlackSeven Grab your helmet, this shits about to get retarded

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Member:
    #71733
    Messages:
    468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    '10 Reg Cab 4x4
    Toytec Ultimate Lift kit, Toytec Rear AAL, 4.88 Gears, ARB Rear locker, Doug Thorley header, Volant Cold Air Intake, Demello Offroad front high clearance bumper, ARB On board Air compressor, BLHM, Wet Okoles, 2011 Color matched grill, Weathertech mats, 4x Innovations Sliders, ATO Engine Skid plate, ATO High lift bed mounts.

    I'll let you know, the parts for my setup should be here sometime next week. I do plan on going to an aftermarket head unit (App Radio 2) but it hasn't been released yet.
     
  11. Mar 29, 2012 at 2:13 PM
    #11
    TRDfarmerTN

    TRDfarmerTN [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Member:
    #8801
    Messages:
    423
    Gender:
    Male
    20% tint, painted handles,painted grill, wet okole seatcovers,sockmonkey decals

    how will this amp be for the door speakers & a 12" sub??
     
To Top