1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sub box led question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by maser, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. Aug 1, 2011 at 6:22 PM
    #1
    maser

    maser [OP] Hello, my name is Maser... and I'm an alcoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Member:
    #48695
    Messages:
    259
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    fog light mod,DTRL mod,alternating turn signal mod, BHLM, pioneer pt 3200dvd, fosgate speakers all 4 doors,AFE CAI, Magnaflow turndown exhaust, satoshi'd grill, Procomp 6 in lift, 2 Diamond audio 10's w/ 600w amp..........
    I'm in the process of putting together a system in my truck. I think I have all the bases covered....

    ...two 300w 10's
    ...a class D 600w monoblock amp
    ...built a box to fit behind my back seat ( DC )
    ...wiring kit

    I was thinking of some led accent lighting, nothing major, just a small ( 6in strip ) led lights. Could I power the led's off the remote power??
     
  2. Aug 1, 2011 at 7:39 PM
    #2
    lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
    If you are asking about the typically blue colored remote turn on lead - you could try, but be ready for problems if you do. They sometimes can't manage enough current/voltage/whatever is needed to turn on multiple devices.

    However, you could use the remote wire to trigger a relay that turned on the LED, the amp, and whatever else you need to have switched on/off.
     
  3. Aug 2, 2011 at 4:28 AM
    #3
    maser

    maser [OP] Hello, my name is Maser... and I'm an alcoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Member:
    #48695
    Messages:
    259
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    fog light mod,DTRL mod,alternating turn signal mod, BHLM, pioneer pt 3200dvd, fosgate speakers all 4 doors,AFE CAI, Magnaflow turndown exhaust, satoshi'd grill, Procomp 6 in lift, 2 Diamond audio 10's w/ 600w amp..........
    Thanks for the input. A relay may do the trick. Just looking for an alternative to running wire to the dash...when typically the led's could be on whenever the amp is powered.
     
  4. Aug 2, 2011 at 5:55 AM
    #4
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,792
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    You can power them straight off the remote power, leds draw severly low amps. I do this all the time, with systems i install/build
     
  5. Aug 3, 2011 at 5:18 AM
    #5
    maser

    maser [OP] Hello, my name is Maser... and I'm an alcoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Member:
    #48695
    Messages:
    259
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    fog light mod,DTRL mod,alternating turn signal mod, BHLM, pioneer pt 3200dvd, fosgate speakers all 4 doors,AFE CAI, Magnaflow turndown exhaust, satoshi'd grill, Procomp 6 in lift, 2 Diamond audio 10's w/ 600w amp..........
    Cool, no resistor or relay/ fuse....??
     
  6. Aug 3, 2011 at 8:02 AM
    #6
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,792
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    no just run your power straight from the amp on the remote and ground it anywhere or to the ground on the amp
     
  7. Aug 3, 2011 at 11:00 AM
    #7
    platinumb

    platinumb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Member:
    #60397
    Messages:
    507
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    denver
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD OR DC Supercharged
    supercharger, focal/jl audio sound system, trd cat back
    this is not a good idea most decks have a 500ma output on the remote wire and on many of them it is not fused or protected internally so if you overload it then your deck will have no output from the remote turn on. all manufacturers recommend that even if you are using the remote signal to turn on more than 2 amplifiers you install a relay. technically yes you can do this but a relay is only like 5 bucks and you wont be risking your deck. just because you can do something doesn't mean its right or going to work.
     
  8. Aug 3, 2011 at 1:35 PM
    #8
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,792
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    I've been doing this for the past 9 years and installed leds well over a couple hundred times with no issues. Never had a single problem.

    It's your truck, if you want to use a relay or a fuse go right ahead, i'm not going to stop you. I am just speaking from my experience as an installer and shop owner.
     
  9. Aug 3, 2011 at 4:13 PM
    #9
    platinumb

    platinumb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Member:
    #60397
    Messages:
    507
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    denver
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD OR DC Supercharged
    supercharger, focal/jl audio sound system, trd cat back
     
To Top