1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sub wiring

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Lurkin, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Aug 30, 2010 at 6:09 AM
    #1
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Alright, a question that is a bit off the beaten path. Tried doing some Googling, but didn't get a good answer, so here goes....

    I have an Solobaric S8L7 with dual 2 ohm voice coils, the amp that I am using for the sub is a Rockford 400.4 (100x4@4ohms or 200x2@4ohms). The front and back channels on the amp can be bridged, but they cannot be bridged across all 4 channels, i.e. I can't bridge it such that there is one output for the entire amp. As such, I have wired each voice coil on the sub to one of the bridged channels on the amp in order to get the entire power output of the amp to the sub.

    I am having some problems getting the sub tuned so I am wondering if wiring each coil to an amp channel is not "acceptable". Any input?

    The amp is 2 ohm stable btw.
     
  2. Aug 30, 2010 at 6:51 AM
    #2
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Each one of your subwoofer's voice coils are 2ohms.

    You stated that your amp can be bridged down to 2channels making 200x2@4ohms.

    You're attempting to bridge them just like that but at 2ohms which is a big no no. I'm sure your amp is 2ohm stable but it's not likely 2ohm stable when bridged.
     
  3. Aug 30, 2010 at 6:55 AM
    #3
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Understand, but I don't push it that hard. Would this setup cause problems in tuning the crossover? If I set the crossovers (lt and rt channels) to 80, I get very little output. If I raise that to 125, I get reasonable sub output. If I raise it to 250, it starts repetative "thumping". Was not expecting these results for a crossover setting.

    Setting gains and/or bass enhancement has the expected results.
     
  4. Aug 30, 2010 at 6:56 AM
    #4
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Was considering wiring the sub back up to 4 ohms and running it off just one channel to see if that changes anything. Sounds like I may need to do that anyway.
     
  5. Aug 30, 2010 at 6:58 AM
    #5
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    One more curiousity question, what happens when a dual voice coil sub is wired with only one voice coil powered?
     
  6. Aug 30, 2010 at 7:46 AM
    #6
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Good idea
    Wire both coils
     
  7. Aug 30, 2010 at 7:54 AM
    #7
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Yeah, yeah, I know, but I was just curious what happens to a dual voice coil sub when only one coil is wired up? Acts the same, dead coil is a drag on the active coil, damages the sub, universe collapses, dogs dating cats,,,,,

    Just a thought exercise.
     
  8. Aug 30, 2010 at 7:56 AM
    #8
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Was also trying to see if anyone could explain the results I was getting, as they just don't make sense to me.
     
  9. Aug 30, 2010 at 8:30 AM
    #9
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    It wont damage it as far as I know. It just wont really work quite right.
    I don't really have an explanation really. My guess is that the amp was protecting itself from putting out the power it would need to play the lower frequencies and overloading itself. But I really have no idea.
     
  10. Aug 30, 2010 at 8:34 AM
    #10
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Thanks for the opinions and input, appreciate it.

    Anyone else?
     
  11. Aug 30, 2010 at 8:44 AM
    #11
    bfogelma

    bfogelma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Member:
    #38293
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB
    you need to have an amp made for a sub. trying to run 2 channels to a sub is bad, you need either a mono amp or a briged two channel, that is what i have in my truck.

    trying to wire it to 4ohms then running it, you will not get proper sound out of the sub, as trying to run two channels to it bridged. and dont use the sub as a bridge, you will blow it up eventually and, as you said, it just doesnt act right.
     
  12. Aug 30, 2010 at 9:10 AM
    #12
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    ^You can run a 4 channel amp on a DVC sub no problem. Not sure where you heard that. It would be simpler with a mono amp but it's not necessity.
     
  13. Aug 30, 2010 at 9:53 AM
    #13
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Exactly. I'm running a 4 channel amp. The front channels run my components and my back channels are bridged to power my DVC sub.
     
  14. Aug 30, 2010 at 10:28 AM
    #14
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Not quite my situation though. I have a 4 channel amp, which is bridgable for either, or both, of the front channels or rear channels, but not bridgable to a single channel with all the amp's power. I have the front channels bridged and feeding one of the voice coils, while the other channel is bridged and feeding the other voice coil.

    I haven't seen a vendor config document that states feeding each voice coil from an independant amp channel (although the same sonic content, due to a single RCA feed) is an approved configuration.

    Would have thought it would work out ok assuming that both channels are set the same for gains, crossovers and any bass boost. ItalianS has a point about it actually being 2 ohm stable when in briged mode though. Docs don't specifically say one way or the other on that.

    I am going to rig the sub back up for 4 ohm, and run that off of one brigded amp channel and see what happens.
     
  15. Aug 30, 2010 at 11:06 AM
    #15
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Most aren't 2ohm stable when bridged. It's rare that they are.
     
  16. Aug 30, 2010 at 11:18 AM
    #16
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Fully understand your point, just hadn't seen that statement before. As soon as I re-configure my setup, I'll feedback. Again, thanks for the input.
     
  17. Aug 30, 2010 at 11:22 AM
    #17
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    I did find this reference to 2 ohm stable on the Rockford website for a Rockford T400-4:

    Rated Power
    (RMS Continuous Power)60 Watts x 4 @ 4-Ohms
    100 Watts x 4 @ 2-Ohms
    200 Watts x 2 @ 4-Ohms Bridged
    2-Ohms x 2 Bridged Stable
     
  18. Aug 30, 2010 at 5:27 PM
    #18
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    OK, so I wired the sub back up for 4 ohm load and attached it to the rear bridged channels of the amp. Everything worked fine and I could tune as expected. So either it wasn't 2 ohm stable in briged mode, or it was having a problem with independant amp channels feeding each voice coil.

    It's working fine now, so I'm done. Thanks for everyone's input.
     
  19. Aug 31, 2010 at 9:33 AM
    #19
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Glad to hear it man. Enjoy the sub!
     
  20. Aug 31, 2010 at 11:02 AM
    #20
    Lurkin

    Lurkin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,929
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Like I said it's all working great now. I hooked my front components into the front channels on this amp and it was so much easier tuning the entire setup thru one amp.

    Still bugs my as to what the actual problem was though. I did some more searching and it appears that this amp, Rockford T400-4,

    http://www.crutchfield.com/s_575T4004P/Rockford-Fosgate-Power-T400-4.html?tp=115

    IS documented to be 2 ohm stable when in bridged mode. Crutchfield even has it documented that way. So definitely not clear on what the real problem was/is.....
     
To Top