1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sub-woofer Installation help!!!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by osterTACO, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. Jul 8, 2013 at 7:13 PM
    #1
    osterTACO

    osterTACO [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Member:
    #85575
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    conley
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 AccessCab
    1.5 in leveling kit
    Hello TW,
    quick question regarding sub woofer installation...
    Is there any way I can install after market subs on a stock head unit?
    I barely have the money for subs is there any way I can surpass the use of the after market head unit? My friend has a dodge challenger with a stock head unit that he had professionally installed therefore I know it is somehow possible but do y'all know how this could be done?
    Thanks,
    -osterTACO
     
  2. Jul 8, 2013 at 7:18 PM
    #2
    NewRider

    NewRider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Member:
    #84801
    Messages:
    1,657
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis, Truck: Baja
    Harrisonburg, Va
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC TRD Sport, Indigo Ink
    1. bought it... 2. Mud flap delete 3. BHLM 4. AUX input on factory stereo 5....... Check the build
    I feel stupid for not knowing sense i do plenty of sub installs for friends... but those are all with after market head units so i'm not really sure on a stock job... so i guess here's to a free bump!
     
  3. Jul 9, 2013 at 7:28 AM
    #3
    CBiscuit14

    CBiscuit14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Member:
    #107912
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    South Dakota
    Vehicle:
    08 DC TRD Sport 4X4
    I have not done it on a Tacoma, but I believe it requires an adapter that connects the amp to your stock head unit.
    I'm about 95% sure it can be done... but may I suggest getting an aftermarket head unit instead. You can get some decent ones relatively cheap and it will give you a little more control. I had a buddy that wanted to do just add a sub to the factory head unit, but it was recommended to get an aftermarket head unit.
    Sorry I don't have much detail, but hope this may help.
     
  4. Jul 9, 2013 at 7:33 AM
    #4
    gym_jamz

    gym_jamz All I Do Is Nguyen

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Member:
    #82308
    Messages:
    1,868
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jimmy
    Gainesville, GA
    Vehicle:
    12' Peerunner
    Yes. You need a RCA line out converter. Those wires will tap into your stock speakers and provide you a RCA output for your amp. Looks like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Jul 9, 2013 at 8:01 AM
    #5
    CBiscuit14

    CBiscuit14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Member:
    #107912
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    South Dakota
    Vehicle:
    08 DC TRD Sport 4X4
    Bingo. That's what you would need.
     
  6. Jul 9, 2013 at 5:23 PM
    #6
    TRD Toy85

    TRD Toy85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Member:
    #81685
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    CT
    Vehicle:
    loaded 2013 TRD sport
    Yup the picture above is what you need.

    For a amp turn on, I used one of these to my accessory fuse. Really easy, I spent the extra cash on a output converter that has a amp turn on built in but you have to wire 12v to it anyways, Was just easier to wire my amp with the 12 volt turn on ..

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2013
  7. Jul 9, 2013 at 6:11 PM
    #7
    jpop8807

    jpop8807 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102030
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Fort Hood
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prerunner TRD 2wd
    Yep RCA converter and most likely some wire taps. I had to tap my audi's low speaker.
     
  8. Jul 10, 2013 at 6:42 AM
    #8
    osterTACO

    osterTACO [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Member:
    #85575
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    conley
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 AccessCab
    1.5 in leveling kit
    Ah you guys are the best thank you!
     
To Top