1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

synthetic oil vs convetional oil, and how often do you change your oil?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by donlogan, Mar 12, 2015.

1. Mar 12, 2015 at 3:29 PM
    donlogan

donlogan [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    I have a 95 Tacoma. She runs great and I plan on using her as my DD for hopefully a couple more years.

I've been using Mobil 5w-30 synthetic oil since I've had it (5 years). I change it about every 10k miles. She leaks a little bit but nothing that has me concerned. I probably have to add max two quarts in between oil changes.

My brother recently informed me that mechanics recommend using conventional oil if you have an oil leak because it's thicker than synthetic oil. Like I said, my Tacoma doesn't leak too bad right now but I'm thinking it might be time to take precautions.

First of all, how detrimental is it to the engine to switch oils? My dad won't even switch brands because he thinks it's not good for the engine.

If I start using conventional oil, how often should I plan on changing oil? It's cheaper but also recommended that you change conventional oil more often. But really....is it necessary to change conventional oil every 3k miles?

Does synthetic oil add life to your engine?

Also, do you all have a preferred oil filter? I have a 2.4L engine.

2. Mar 12, 2015 at 3:49 PM
    Sefferston

Sefferston I like Tacos.

Member:
    First Name:
    Seth
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    ZOMG B-RED!
    I've got that one thing, and that other one thing, oh yeah and that other other one thing.