1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tacoma 6-Speed Manual Trans. Rattle over Bumps Solved! ...By Accident

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by ProblemSolver, Feb 23, 2017.

1. Feb 23, 2017 at 10:04 AM
    ProblemSolver

ProblemSolver [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma V6 Six Speed
    Throwout Bearing
    First, I'm new to forums, which means I have little knowledge of how they work. I posted this on an old thread that was last visited in 2012, so not sure if anyone will ever notice. Actually as far as I know I may be talking about something already know, but perhaps someone will find it useful. ...I'll just get on with it.

Bought my 2011 Tacoma 4x4 Double Cab 6-Speed Manual new. From day one it rattled over small bumps anytime the transmission was not under load in gear, or when coasting over bumps at slow speed in neutral, primarily at low speed. Washboard roads made me think the trans. was going to fall out altogether.

Numerous trips to various Toyota shops, searching for lose brackets, mounts, fittings, etc. were made to no avail. They even said they changed out the Throw-out bearing at 50,000 miles. It made no difference. ...I'll get back to that in a second... I complained so much to Toyota they gave me a free Platinum Warranty of 6-years or 120,000 miles ..or there about. Good thing as when I finally discovered the source of the rattle the manufacture warranty had expired.