1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Talented Mac Users, Help!

Discussion in 'Technology' started by dysfunctnlretard, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. Jul 4, 2010 at 10:51 PM
    #1
    dysfunctnlretard

    dysfunctnlretard [OP] Hi

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Member:
    #18080
    Messages:
    3,760
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Manny
    CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 FJC
    55w HIDs, 16" Countersteer Offroads, Yokahama All Terrains, Demello Sliders
    Im at my parents house for the weekend, dog sitting while theyre on vacation. They have a locked wifi network that I use all the time when I visit them, and I usually connect to it via my macbook. My macbook has the network password saved and it usually just connects automatically, I dont have to enter the password everytime I come here. Is there any way I can see what password my macbook has saved for this network?

    Im trying to get the password so I can connect to the network via my new iPhone. I tried asking them for the password and they said, " I dont know, the AT&T guy set it up" LOL
     
  2. Jul 4, 2010 at 11:01 PM
    #2
    005Tacoma

    005Tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7179
    Messages:
    561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Macon Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Toyota Tacoma
    Most of the time its a default password. You can google the type of wireless router you are using for the default password.
     
  3. Jul 4, 2010 at 11:07 PM
    #3
    rvcahawaii808

    rvcahawaii808 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22493
    Messages:
    829
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    cameron
    beaverton
    Vehicle:
    04 limited T4R 4x4
    you can go into the default gateway...put 192.168.1.1 into the web address bar. then you should come up to a screen that will give you all the router info, including the password for the network. however to get into that page you need a username and password. if the AT&T guy just set it up then the username and password are most likely, admin. or it could be a combination of the 2 i sort of forget...i.e. login: admin pw: admin. or login: blank pw: admin. something like that. you can also google what the default settings are for your specific router
     
  4. Jul 4, 2010 at 11:10 PM
    #4
    steve o 77

    steve o 77 braaap

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Member:
    #26726
    Messages:
    19,968
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    In a corn field, OH
    Vehicle:
    1990 Chevy Siveraydo
    245k+ miles, rust, working AC, bald eagles
    The way I do it is to go into the keychain and find the network password.
     
  5. Jul 4, 2010 at 11:19 PM
    #5
    lookylookitzadam

    lookylookitzadam Retrofit Club!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Member:
    #19777
    Messages:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    07 DC OffRoad
    Bingo...

    follow this sequence:

    1. Command+Space Bar = opens spotlight
    2. Type: "Keychain Access" and select it to open the program
    3. Double click the wireless SSID (name)
    4. Click "Show password" on bottom of window
    5. Type your computer password (if prompted), and voila!, their is the network password
     
  6. Jul 4, 2010 at 11:21 PM
    #6
    steve o 77

    steve o 77 braaap

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Member:
    #26726
    Messages:
    19,968
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    In a corn field, OH
    Vehicle:
    1990 Chevy Siveraydo
    245k+ miles, rust, working AC, bald eagles
    yeah, this.
     
  7. Jul 5, 2010 at 12:28 AM
    #7
    dysfunctnlretard

    dysfunctnlretard [OP] Hi

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Member:
    #18080
    Messages:
    3,760
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Manny
    CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 FJC
    55w HIDs, 16" Countersteer Offroads, Yokahama All Terrains, Demello Sliders
    Thanks guys. I kinda figured it out with a similar Way. Opened system pref>network>found my preferred networks>double clicked the network I was on> typed in password>show password> and voilà!, I could now FaceTime with my wife on our new iPhones :D
     
To Top