1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tapping power for USB ports in blank next to fog light switch - Finished.

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by dofartshavelumps, Jan 6, 2016.

  1. Jan 10, 2016 at 6:31 AM
    #21
    Stroonzo

    Stroonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Member:
    #161818
    Messages:
    69
    Biscuits likes this.
  2. Jan 10, 2016 at 6:34 AM
    #22
    Mush Mouse

    Mush Mouse Club Soda Not Seals

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Member:
    #35188
    Messages:
    4,756
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mush
    where ever you want me to be
    Vehicle:
    2013 SR5
    its a Toyota truck and that's all the modifications needed
    the 15amp fuse for the charger outlets is constant 12v, I used the ACC circuit so my lights go off when the vehicle goes off
     
  3. Jan 10, 2016 at 6:51 AM
    #23
    jmaack

    jmaack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Member:
    #131634
    Messages:
    4,861
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Helena Alabama
    Ome, Sqeak free dakars, arms, skids, sliders.
    Look at the pics below your original post. The white plug in the top right corner, black wire yellow tracer it is a constant 12 v supply. I tapped and soldered in this pin so didnt have add a taps hanging ariund when I installed my 3.1 amp charger similar to op that fit by my atrac button under ac controls.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016
  4. Jan 10, 2016 at 6:53 AM
    #24
    Mush Mouse

    Mush Mouse Club Soda Not Seals

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Member:
    #35188
    Messages:
    4,756
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mush
    where ever you want me to be
    Vehicle:
    2013 SR5
    its a Toyota truck and that's all the modifications needed
    me too I pluged into the 15amp slot first with my add a fuse and the fogs lit and had to use my switch for on/off, decided to use the ACC circuit so they goe off with truck:notsure:
     
  5. Jan 10, 2016 at 12:43 PM
    #25
    Gottafly

    Gottafly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Member:
    #163090
    Messages:
    127
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robb
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Black Tacoma TRD Sport
    Where did you find your ground? Any pictures?
     
  6. Jan 10, 2016 at 3:17 PM
    #26
    dofartshavelumps

    dofartshavelumps [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Member:
    #154214
    Messages:
    266
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    NH
    Vehicle:
    2015 SR DCSB 4x4 4.0 MT
    This is the only pic I have right now - I tried to circle it in red, there is a curved metal bracket with a 10mm hex screw in it and I just pulled that out and put a ring terminal on the ground and put it back together. You may be able to see it when you pull the small tray out to access the fuse panel.

    usbground.jpg
     
    TRDSport10 likes this.
  7. Jun 27, 2017 at 9:29 AM
    #27
    Doughnut Spaghetti

    Doughnut Spaghetti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Member:
    #211939
    Messages:
    2,809
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kristofer
    Lansing, Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma SR5
    This is exactly what I want to do because my phone is in the exact same location.
     
  8. Oct 26, 2017 at 7:40 PM
    #28
    Justbrian

    Justbrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Member:
    #231943
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Tulsa OK
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR
  9. Oct 27, 2017 at 6:25 AM
    #29
    Doughnut Spaghetti

    Doughnut Spaghetti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Member:
    #211939
    Messages:
    2,809
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kristofer
    Lansing, Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma SR5
    It's a seriously easy project. I think it took me 15 minutes from start to finish. Also, very useful especially if you mount your phone in that location for using GPS.
     
  10. Aug 11, 2018 at 10:57 PM
    #30
    Jultepod

    Jultepod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Member:
    #171306
    Messages:
    618
    Gender:
    Male
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2013 Gray Tacoma TRD
    K&N cold air, Exhaust, rims and tires, 3" king extended travel coilovers and total chaos UCAs, rear diff breather mod, CBI off-road ditch brackets with Cali raised LED pod lights and painless wiring harness, 4xinnovations rock sliders, cab mount chop.
    This was a great tip. I ordered a Dule USB port from caliraised thinking it was a direct plug and play. Well needless to say I was sadly mistaken. This thread and your pix were awesome. Really helped me out. On mine I ran it to the empty slots in the middle dash. Was a bit of a pain in the ass since I was in a hurry and couldn't find out how to pull the center dash apart to get the wires ran. So I just ran some string through where I flashed some light and pulled the add a fuse line through. My switch isnt a direct fit like I thought and it's kinda ugly but works better than factory 20180811_174227.jpg 20180811_183259.jpg 20180811_184652.jpg
     
    Biscuits likes this.
  11. Dec 31, 2018 at 12:08 PM
    #31
    Taco2011trdsport

    Taco2011trdsport New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Member:
    #277584
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD Sport DC
    Just bought the parts to do this mod and have a question about the fuses to use on the add-a-circuit.

    So in the add-a-circuit, you guys use the original 7.5A fuse(if I’m tapping into the ACC slot) and for the tap in fuse(top slot), what fuse did you guys use? 5A fuse?
     
  12. Feb 1, 2019 at 11:12 AM
    #32
    Geraldo's Taco

    Geraldo's Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Member:
    #281070
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2015 Pre-Runner
    Same question, sort of. Can I put a 10A in and use the 7.5A on top, or should I leave it 7.5A and use a 5A in the top slot?
     
  13. Feb 1, 2019 at 12:27 PM
    #33
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,417
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Bottom slot is for original circuit...top for added one. There is a Max to the overall amps depending on who makes the contraption. Should leave original circuit at set OEM amps.
    upload_2019-6-7_17-3-31.jpg
    upload_2019-6-7_17-4-48.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
  14. Jun 7, 2019 at 1:57 PM
    #34
    jimthzz

    jimthzz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Member:
    #117292
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    California
    Vehicle:
    Prerunner, 2W SR5, shortbed
    I did this today. I plugged mine into the power fuse slot. 10-minute job. Always on has more appeal to me. Thinking of a dash cam but didn't want to hardwire. USB ports gives me options, like for a temperature gauge.
     
  15. Dec 21, 2019 at 11:38 AM
    #35
    prone2xl

    prone2xl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Member:
    #18803
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    2008 Silver TRD Sport DC
    sorry to bump an old thread but @dofartshavelumps how did you end up cutting the blue diode to have the lights turn off? I have searched and couldn't find your instructions on that if you listed any. thanks !
     
  16. Dec 23, 2019 at 5:27 PM
    #36
    dofartshavelumps

    dofartshavelumps [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Member:
    #154214
    Messages:
    266
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    NH
    Vehicle:
    2015 SR DCSB 4x4 4.0 MT
    Yea, I cut the diode - still working with no issues. I think there were 2 of them I had to cut. I think I pulled the cover off (pried it off) and then used small cutters. It was a while ago but I think that is what I did.
     
  17. Dec 25, 2019 at 2:00 PM
    #37
    prone2xl

    prone2xl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Member:
    #18803
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    2008 Silver TRD Sport DC
    Thanks guys.merry Christmas everyone! @dofartshavelumps and @Doughnut Spaghetti question. On your Add a fuse, you tapped into the accessory one that’s 7.5 right? What other fuse did u use for the USB port? I bought the mini kit like u showed on Amazon but went to do the mod today and realized i didn’t have the 7.5 fuse that would fit in the device. Also i didn’t know if it was ok to go up higher as in 10A since I’ve seen both in videos and on here. Confusing enough! Haha and if not to add even more. I can’t get that damn dash apart to reach that top row switch next to the fogs. There was some website but it doesn’t work anymore. :(
     
  18. Dec 27, 2019 at 1:46 PM
    #38
    prone2xl

    prone2xl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Member:
    #18803
    Messages:
    662
    Gender:
    Male
    Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    2008 Silver TRD Sport DC
    Just did this mod today and I ended up using a 7.5A fuse for both as I learned u don’t want to go higher on the new item fuse than the original fuse amperage

    1F9F9F60-BF9F-4CD7-9EE4-C886CB0E7C74.jpg
     
    Muddinfun likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top