1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

That GD tire pressure light...

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by Grey Jay, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. Nov 4, 2010 at 1:27 PM
    #1
    Grey Jay

    Grey Jay [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20735
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Sudbury ON Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD
    Can't stand it...

    I know I have read somehwere how to get rid of the tire pressure light, but I think it was off a camry or something.

    I have two questions ( actually three I guess):

    How do you do it on our trucks?
    Has anyone ever actually done it, and how long did it take you?

    I would like to get some wheels and winter tires but I can't stand that stupid light. My wife's '10 RAV does not have it. I wish my 08 TRD didn't either. Please no "just put a peice of electrical tape on it" replies.

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. Nov 4, 2010 at 1:38 PM
    #2
    uood8

    uood8 If You Search...You Shall Find.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Member:
    #18086
    Messages:
    1,290
    Gender:
    Male
    Greensboro, NC
    Vehicle:
    '14 4x4 OFFROAD DC
    AFE Intake, URD MAF Calibrator
    Your wifes '10 does have it, IIRC it is part of the TREAD act. aka..Federally mandated to be on vehicles.

    I guess you could take the LED out, other than that i don't know of anyway to disable it.
     
  3. Nov 4, 2010 at 1:51 PM
    #3
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,908
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Only way to completely disable it is to remove the LED as far as I've read (barring a piece of electrical tape which you explicitely stated you wanted to avoid). You could also make the makeshift pressure vessel out of PVC and keep your sensors in the cab so the light stays off. Someone else here has wheel straps that strap the TMPS sensor to the wheel itself and then uses standard valve stems on the wheels.
     
  4. Nov 4, 2010 at 1:55 PM
    #4
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    8,278
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I have two sets of tires & rims for the "seasons".
    I only use one set of sensors (in the winter set since my truck came with steel rims).
    During the summer, my winter set is in the garage.
    I do not a light unless I get out of range...its pretty far..I've park 20+ miles overnight & not gotten a light.
    When that happens I put a business card on the dash.
    When I get home & park, it resets overnight by itself.
    Its been this way for 3 seasons & was the same with my tundra before that.
    FWIW, my truck is an 06 w/ a sensor in the spare.

    you can always break down the tires and do the wheelbarrow mod or pipe bomb mod. Search the forum to find the threads on that. They are documented pretty good.

    Speaking of spare...
    Check it, it might be low (the blinking you have now).
    You gotta drop the tire to do this.
    I ended up flipping mine so I can check it now without dropping it.
     
  5. Nov 4, 2010 at 4:21 PM
    #5
    Grey Jay

    Grey Jay [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20735
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Sudbury ON Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD
    This is a Canadain vehicle, pretty sure it doesn't but since I put winter rims and tires on no problem and the summer tires are not stored anywhere near the vehicle.

    Thought about this too. Do the sensors need to be installed with the valves through the sides so the sensors read the differential between the inside and outside pressure, or, can they be just dropped in a pressureized tube?
     
  6. Nov 4, 2010 at 4:46 PM
    #6
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,908
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    The sensors do not read pressure differential between the outside and inside. There's a kit out there that straps the whole sensor to the wheel so the entire assembly is inside the tire and it works fine. As long as the part that is currently inside your wheel is in a pressurized vessel, it will work. Another easy option is a wheel barrel tire. Just drop all 4 sensors in the small tire and pump it up.
     
  7. Nov 4, 2010 at 5:53 PM
    #7
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,399
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    That's me!

    Here's the link to a similar product. The ones I have were from discount tire. No problems after 20,000 miles. JeremieKC is also running these and has had no issues.

    http://www.revolutionsupply.com/strapkit.aspx
     
  8. Nov 4, 2010 at 6:00 PM
    #8
    teamfast

    teamfast Get busy living, or get busy dying.

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Member:
    #39840
    Messages:
    837
    Gender:
    Male
    Petawawa, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCLB
    In channel vent visors, Leer 550 Tonneau cover, weather tech digi fit liners, Viper 5901 remote start/security, 2" fr spacer, 3" TC AAL, BFG AT TKO 275 70 17 All Pro Front IFS Skid, Trans skid & TC skid, 12" roof mounted flip down dvd player.
    I have this too. Its time based for mine. After sitting in driveway overnight it resets. On the 20 minute mark from home or (out of range) it will flash for one minute then stay on until i return home and start the cycle all over again.

    There are a few threads on this and There is one in particular that explains how to unplug the TPMS ECU. search TPMS in TW forums.
     
  9. Nov 4, 2010 at 6:03 PM
    #9
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,908
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Thanks for posting the link! Those things are a great idea for aftermarkets. I stuck with stock because I didn't want to lose the sensors since it is a nice feature.
     
  10. Nov 4, 2010 at 6:30 PM
    #10
    uood8

    uood8 If You Search...You Shall Find.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Member:
    #18086
    Messages:
    1,290
    Gender:
    Male
    Greensboro, NC
    Vehicle:
    '14 4x4 OFFROAD DC
    AFE Intake, URD MAF Calibrator
    ahh canada...it very well might be without it then.
     
To Top