1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tie Down Straps

Discussion in 'Towing' started by ausfahrt, Jul 8, 2016.

1. Jul 8, 2016 at 1:47 AM
    ausfahrt

ausfahrt [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Steve
    FL & VT
    Vehicle:
    2015 SR5 MT 4X4 V6
    If you're towing then there is a pretty good chance that you are also strapping down cargo. I have been hauling motorcycles for a couple of decades now and thought I would share what works for me.

First of all, I like the cam-buckle type of strap. I know that there are guys who prefer the ratchet type but those have failed me in the past. So for years I used a no-name generic cam-buckle strap without issue but I always check them whenever I stop for gas.

My old straps were getting a little ratty and I was in the market for some new straps and came across and bought 1.5 inch Powertye straps. I love these straps!

I recently hauled my Harley full dresser 1600 miles without incident. The Powertyes are made in the USA and I am not at all affiliated with the company, I'm just a happy customer.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Jul 8, 2016 at 10:56 AM
    tgear.shead

tgear.shead Well-Known Member

Member:
    Those may be ok for holding cargo that probably won't go anywhere anyway, but they won't do any good for tying down cargo that needs TENSION.

I think if you had ratchet straps fail, it is probably because you had too small of ratchet straps. I've seen some ratchet straps that I sure wouldn't trust, and others that just don't hold up well (snap-on straps are CRAP, the side plate is much too thin as a lever, and they bend).