1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Timing Belt Replacement - Thermostat Question

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Yamasaki, May 31, 2010.

  1. May 31, 2010 at 2:21 PM
    #1
    Yamasaki

    Yamasaki [OP] Yamaha + Kawasaki!

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Member:
    #36374
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tacoma Limited TRD 4x4
    I will be paying the dealer to replace my timing belt/water pump/drive belts on my '03 Taco. I don't have the tools/patience to do it all myself.

    I am also ordering a pair of radiator hoses (upper/lower) and the thermostat and will have the dealer replace these 3 parts at same time.

    Since I will be providing the hoses/thermostat, I was wondering if the dealer will be charging me any extra labor to replace these parts?

    I figure with everything apart, this should be a non-issue but I know dealers always like to add fees especially for customer supplied parts (These are OEM repalcement parts ordered from Toyotapartscheap.com)

    If its extra labor I get it, but if there is not extra time required, I would like to know. Thanks.
     
  2. May 31, 2010 at 2:30 PM
    #2
    fpradojr36

    fpradojr36 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21718
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jr.
    90804
    Vehicle:
    04 Prerunner 2wd
    Sorry to tell you but for sure they will charge extra. When you do timing belt replacment there is no need to take off hoses and t-stat. Maybe you can bargain with them and tell them for a discount. Or try and take it to independent shop it will be cheaper. It's a pretty easy job, its just holding cam's together when putting belt back on is a pain..
     
  3. May 31, 2010 at 2:31 PM
    #3
    StatutoryAPE

    StatutoryAPE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Member:
    #37926
    Messages:
    568
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Phoenix,AZ
    Vehicle:
    2000 Prerunner xtracab
    TRD Headers,CAI, dynomax super turbo, blacked out headlights, Smoked LED tails, Billy 5100 w/OME 881's and 5125's in rear, rear tube bumper, tint 35% front 3 windows & 5% in rear 3. fiberwerx 4.5's
    i dont see why they would charge extra labor since it will all be apart like you said. but if they do, i dont them charging much more
     
  4. May 31, 2010 at 2:37 PM
    #4
    btkicker

    btkicker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Member:
    #26465
    Messages:
    209
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    '10 4x4 Reg Cab Manual
    They won't charge extra.
     
  5. May 31, 2010 at 3:48 PM
    #5
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,179
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    Are the parts from TOYOTA?

    Sometimes the dealers won't install anything unless its TOYOTA parts.
     
  6. May 31, 2010 at 3:54 PM
    #6
    crazyasu45

    crazyasu45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Member:
    #17241
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2013 MGM DCLB 4X4 TRD SPORT
    3" SUSPENSION LIFT
    I think they would charge extra labour...just not as much since the engine is already apart...but it still takes them a little time to put it in...:cool:
     
  7. May 31, 2010 at 4:24 PM
    #7
    biggdog747

    biggdog747 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Member:
    #32729
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    MI
    Vehicle:
    taco
    if you are replacing the water pump the t-stat sits inside of it so they can just pop the new one in. they will have to remove the top hose so its just the bottom one. if i was doing the job at work i would not charge any extra for that.
     
  8. May 31, 2010 at 8:51 PM
    #8
    ubnpast

    ubnpast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24814
    Messages:
    200
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Central Jersey
    Try zip tying the belt to the cam gears, it works on other cars, havent done my tacoma yet although its overdue and I have the parts..
     
To Top