1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire Pressure Check Engine Light

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by wilsonpj, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. Jun 14, 2009 at 3:02 PM
    #1
    wilsonpj

    wilsonpj [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Member:
    #15922
    Messages:
    491
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pete
    Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC, SB, Off Road Package
    TRD Cat back exhaust. TRD CAI. All-Pro armor, Brush Guard, LR UCA's, OME 3in lift, 16x8 KMC Enduros and 285x75x16 Goodyear Dura Tracs
    Anyone know anything about a broken sensor that monitors the tire pressure. Sensor is broken needs replacing. CEL is flashing.

    Where is the sensor located? How much for a new one? etc..?

    Thanks
     
  2. Jun 14, 2009 at 3:06 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    104,111
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    If the Check Engine light is flashing, you have a different issue. Go have the code read.
     
  3. Jun 14, 2009 at 4:26 PM
    #3
    Brunes

    Brunes abides. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,730
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    Big Easy, USA
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit Upcoming: ATO Gas Tank Skid and Sliders w/ kickout. ATO Shackle Flip Kit. Down the line: Front/Rear ARB Lockers w/ OBA. 4.56 Gears
    Yeah....Go to autozone or whatever and get them to pull the code. Post it up and go from there.

    If it is a TPMS sensor- Then it's in the tire and you got to the dealer for them.
     
  4. Jun 14, 2009 at 4:37 PM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,814
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    TPMS and Check Engine light are two different things.

    This is the TPMS fault light
    [​IMG]

    Below is the Check Engine light - If you have this lit up, you need to go to Autozone (or dealer) and have them pull the fault codes out of the computer. Report back to us and let us know what you find out.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Jun 14, 2009 at 5:00 PM
    #5
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    The CEL doesn't blink. The TPMS light will blink if you have a bad sensor on one of the tires. They are located in the vale assembly. You will have to go to the dealer in order to fix it.
     
  6. Jun 15, 2009 at 8:34 AM
    #6
    wilsonpj

    wilsonpj [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Member:
    #15922
    Messages:
    491
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pete
    Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC, SB, Off Road Package
    TRD Cat back exhaust. TRD CAI. All-Pro armor, Brush Guard, LR UCA's, OME 3in lift, 16x8 KMC Enduros and 285x75x16 Goodyear Dura Tracs
    It is the TPMS. It is flashing. It is on a truck I am looking at buying. The seller said he would look into what the issue is and let me know.

    I'm just trying to do my homework.

    He had stated that one of the sensors was broken and needed replacement.
     
  7. Jun 15, 2009 at 8:37 AM
    #7
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours

    That sounds legit. At least he is beiing honest with you. If the light is on solid, that means one of the 5 (yes, including the spare except on the 09's) is low on air. On the drivers side door is a sticker that tells you what the presurres need to be at. Those are the minimum pressures for the sensors. Of course, use your tire manufacturer recommended pressures.
     
  8. Jun 15, 2009 at 9:33 AM
    #8
    wilsonpj

    wilsonpj [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Member:
    #15922
    Messages:
    491
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pete
    Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC, SB, Off Road Package
    TRD Cat back exhaust. TRD CAI. All-Pro armor, Brush Guard, LR UCA's, OME 3in lift, 16x8 KMC Enduros and 285x75x16 Goodyear Dura Tracs
    Any ideas on cost, time, effort to get it fixed?
     
  9. Jun 15, 2009 at 9:34 AM
    #9
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    No clue. It is a dealership thing. It is really not a huge concern unless the blinking light bothers you.
     
  10. Jun 15, 2009 at 11:48 AM
    #10
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,814
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    As far as I know, it's part of the valve/valve stem.

    You'll probably have to dismount the tire, remove the old sensor and put in a new one, remount the tire and probably have that tire rebalanced.

    Definately tell that guy to get that fixed BEFORE you commit to buying the truck.
     
  11. Jun 15, 2009 at 12:44 PM
    #11
    Krazie Sj

    Krazie Sj Resident Jackass

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9849
    Messages:
    13,540
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Power Serge
    LV-426 (Acheron)
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off Road 4x4
    Borla Catback Exhaust, Airaid Short Ram Intake, 285x75R16 Mickey Thompson MTZs, 16" Konig Countersteer rims, ARB Bumper, All Pro LT w/Walker Evan Shocks front and back, All Pro expedition leaf pack, 10,000lb Superwinch, Intake Manifold Spacer, Bed Rack with ARB RTT, Rotopack and Hi Lift mounted, Husky Liner mats and an air freshener from 1995.
    Sorry for a partial thread jack, but my sensor has been on since I bought it over a year and half ago. All the tires are inflated to proper spec including the spare. However the spare is a different tire and thus inflated to a different pressure. Do all the tires need to be at the same PSI or do they all have to be at the door jam recommended PSI to get rid of this fucking light?

    I've tried everything including resetting the tire sensor thingy.
     
  12. Jun 15, 2009 at 2:26 PM
    #12
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,566
    Gender:
    Male
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke

    I would assume so. If all the sensors are the same throughout the system, then they would have to be. The sensors however, are nothing more than switches. Get a different sensor that switches at a different pressure and maybe you have a solution... who knows?
     
  13. Jun 15, 2009 at 3:27 PM
    #13
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    The ECU needs to be reprogrammed with the new sensor.
     
  14. Jun 15, 2009 at 3:57 PM
    #14
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,814
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    It's an FM transmitter/receiver type system right? So, would that mean the new sensor has its own frequency the ECU has to 'learn'?
     
  15. Jun 15, 2009 at 4:25 PM
    #15
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    8,282
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    What I have been told is each sensor has a code that is programmed into the tpms ecu, if yours breaks and gets replaced the old sensor code needs to be removed and the new one inputted via a special tool. The ecu only can store 5 codes in the case of 06-08. Not sure about the 09s since they only have 4 sensors guess they get a free pass on one code? :confused:

    The codes are stamped on the black butterfly looking thingy that hangs out on the other side of the valve stem inside the tire. You gotta remember to write down these codes for they are not recorded anywhere so I'm told. :rolleyes:

    To a point imo its a racket, 4 of my sensors are on my steel wheels/winter tires stored under a tarp in the backyard. Spare sensor is still in place. Alloys with no sensors are on truck. As long as I stay "in range" more or less 40ish miles no light. After that blinky light. One of Neon's Tacomaworld business cards fits perfectly covering up the idiot light until it resets on its own in my driveway.

    Good luck to the OP have seller fix on their dime!
     
  16. Jun 15, 2009 at 6:46 PM
    #16
    medic2230

    medic2230 Ditch Doctor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    11,609
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Columbus, Ga
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper
    Trust me it does blink. That's when you need to see what the hell is causing it then. Mine did it with misfire in multiple cylinders. Was on solid with misfire in a single cylinder.

    Murph
     
  17. Jun 15, 2009 at 6:47 PM
    #17
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    I think that is the first time I have ever heard that. Thanks for the info.
     
To Top