1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tire pressure light

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by johnny58, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. Apr 8, 2010 at 12:14 PM
    #1
    johnny58

    johnny58 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Member:
    #33036
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    British Columbia Canada
    Vehicle:
    tacoma sr5
    Does anyone know how to turn the warning tire pressure light off?
    I bought a new set of rims without the sensors and the light is driving me crazy.
    thanks
     
  2. Apr 8, 2010 at 12:23 PM
    #2
    misterquad

    misterquad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Member:
    #17118
    Messages:
    501
    Black tape mod!!! Best thing I did for my truck.
     
  3. Apr 8, 2010 at 12:29 PM
    #3
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    The system cannot be disabled per se.
    Black electric tape or a business card works great, is very easy, quick & free.
    You can take the dash apart pull the bulb, another guy covered it inside his gauge cluster.
    In the 2006s (my year) there is a mod to ground the system out but has been documented in later model years (07+) not to work.
    You can always pick up sensors, mount them in the tires and get them re-programmed at a tire shop or the dealer or use the wheelbarrow/pipe bomb method.
    Did you sell your oem sensors/rims?
     
  4. Apr 8, 2010 at 1:11 PM
    #4
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    I went through the same thing as the OP (except I researched if it could be turned off BEFORE I had the tires mounted), and there is no way to turn it "off".

    There are 3 things you can do other than the black tape or pulling the bulb.

    1. Buy a wheelbarrow tire from a hardware store, put the sensors in it, pressure it up, and bolt it to the frame out of sight. A few members have done this. There's a thread floating around about it.

    2. Build a pressured container for them out of PVC and a valve stem. Pressure it up, put it behind the seat.

    3. Mount the TPMS sensors to the new wheels using TPMS Straps. This is what i ended up doing. Doesn't matter if the wheel isn't designed for the TPMS sensors. 10,000 miles and no problems so far. TW member JeremieKC has these as well.

    A link to the straps is here.
     
  5. Apr 8, 2010 at 4:56 PM
    #5
    misterquad

    misterquad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Member:
    #17118
    Messages:
    501
    My decision was to not spend a single dime to fool the idiot light and just disable it. No need to buy a wheel or strap just be done with it once and for all and cover it or unplug it.
     
  6. Apr 8, 2010 at 5:43 PM
    #6
    johnny58

    johnny58 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Member:
    #33036
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    British Columbia Canada
    Vehicle:
    tacoma sr5
    Thanks everybody for the help. I still have the rims and use them for the winter tires.
     
  7. Apr 8, 2010 at 5:59 PM
    #7
    astral

    astral On my second taco now....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28482
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2011 TX PRO
    Good info. I never thought about this before. How are the sensors mounded on the stock rims?
     
  8. Apr 8, 2010 at 6:27 PM
    #8
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    The sensors are at the base of the valve stem on the stock rims, so they just hang there out of the way. On some aftermarket rims though, the angles on the inside of the rim make it impossible to use the sensors as the valve stems.
     
  9. Apr 8, 2010 at 7:28 PM
    #9
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I use my original steel rims/sensors on my winter tires. They are in storage now. My alloy summer tire set which is on the truck now have no sensors & I have no light. Have you tried the reset procedure from the owners manual?
     
To Top