1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire size and speedometer error

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by socal147, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. Apr 7, 2012 at 3:32 PM
    #1
    socal147

    socal147 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Member:
    #69936
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    patrick
    Apple Valley Kalifornia
    Vehicle:
    12 PreRunner SR5
    Just Bought It = NONE
    Ok, So on my Jeep JK I could program the computer to adjust the speedo for different tire sizes. I know that that Taco cant be reprogrammed to do this? So what does everybody do to adjust the speedo to read correctly....or do you do nothing and just accept the speed error.

    Thanks
    Patrick
     
  2. Apr 7, 2012 at 3:42 PM
    #2
    Dustyroades

    Dustyroades Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Member:
    #49156
    Messages:
    342
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    '09 MGM AC 4x4 SR5 2.7L 5spd
    Front Bilstein 5100s at 1.75", rear 1.5" AAL w/ TSB and OME N182s, P265/75R16 Hankook A/Ts
    In most cases, moving up one tire size actually corrects the speedometer to read accurately, and makes the odometer read a little slow.
     
  3. Apr 7, 2012 at 5:21 PM
    #3
    socal147

    socal147 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Member:
    #69936
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    patrick
    Apple Valley Kalifornia
    Vehicle:
    12 PreRunner SR5
    Just Bought It = NONE
    Very Good,

    Thanks. :)
     
  4. Apr 7, 2012 at 9:55 PM
    #4
    badger

    badger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Member:
    #70102
    Messages:
    784
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    You can calibrate it and correct it perfectly using a Dakota Digital signal generator.
     
  5. Apr 8, 2012 at 12:22 AM
    #5
    David K

    David K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18969
    Messages:
    10,000
    Gender:
    Male
    San Marcos, Alta California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 2 Hella 4000 HID, 1 Cibie Halogen. Bilstein 5100s Ride Rite Air Bags
    That's correct!

    STOCK: 265/70-16 when my speedo showed 68 mph, my GPS showed 65.

    NOW: 265/75-16 (1" taller tire), both speedo and GPS are the same!
     
  6. Apr 8, 2012 at 10:56 AM
    #6
    jjbsocal

    jjbsocal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Member:
    #65077
    Messages:
    680
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    So☆Cal
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCLB PreRunner TRD Sport
    Camburg MT; 4.0 Spindles and UCA's, Fox Extended Travel with Resi's all 4 Corners, All Pro Expo Leaf Pack, Method Standard's, BFG AT's, DTLT's, 1st Gen TRD CAI, Magnaflow Pro Offroad Exhaust..
    I have the Hypertech In-Line calibrator in my 2010 and it works fine.. It can be programmed for tires and gears..
     
  7. Apr 8, 2012 at 11:03 AM
    #7
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    My speedo was off 3-4 at highway speeds. Its correct now with 265/75/16 on.
     
  8. Apr 8, 2012 at 11:10 AM
    #8
    tommyg29

    tommyg29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Member:
    #70437
    Messages:
    159
    Gender:
    Male
    South Miami, FL
    Vehicle:
    12 DCLB PreRunner Sport
    assuming these trucks are all calibrated the same, anyone know the best tire size for accurate reading with the 4x2 17" trd sport setup?
    I have those radar speed signs in my area but havent used one yet to tell my speed. Another way I do it is timing and watching my speed over a known mile or half mile, but thats not as accurate.
     
  9. Apr 8, 2012 at 11:20 AM
    #9
    4Wheelin4Banger

    4Wheelin4Banger Longtime Toyman

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Member:
    #58306
    Messages:
    6,711
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Ferntucky, NV Halfway between Reno & Falabama
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 Access Cab Silver State Edition
    3" OME lift 885s & Dakars riding on 33" KM2s Click the sig pic to see the build thread .
    I just use my GPS and cruise control. According to my GPS at 70 mph when I run my stock 245/75/16 Dungflops I'm going 2 mph slower than my speedo says & when I put on the 255/85/16 BFG KM2s I'm going 4 mph faster than the speedo says.

    Those came with 265/65/17s so move up to 265/70/17s and your speedo should be correct.
     
To Top