1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Torque converter bolts help

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by RSorenson, Sep 26, 2019.

  1. Sep 26, 2019 at 6:16 PM
    #1
    RSorenson

    RSorenson [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2019
    Member:
    #306376
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma
    Hey all!

    I'm having trouble figuring out how to properly torque my torque converter/drive plate bolts. Space is super limited. I'm trying not to remove brake lines, steering shaft and everything else in the way. I know this is a crucial thing to do which is why I've been so persistent and why my truck is not running yet! Ive tried a 3/8 torque wrench and a 1/4 wrench does not get up to 35ftlbs. Is there a special tool for this? My transmission is already in and torque converter is seated properly as well. This is literally my last step! Also I believe the torque is around 35ftlbs, if I am incorrect please let me know! Thanks in advance.

    2012 Toyota Tacoma, v6, 4.0, automatic, 4x4
     
  2. Sep 26, 2019 at 9:27 PM
    #2
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    6,036
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
  3. Sep 26, 2019 at 9:29 PM
    #3
    RSorenson

    RSorenson [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2019
    Member:
    #306376
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma
    TnShooter

    I've already explored this option.... sorry I didnt specify that it doesnt work. The problem I'm running into is that no torque wrench is going to be able to ratchet unless I move some other stuff out of the way. I'm at a point where I may just crank on them and call it good, the torque isnt that much to begin with. Thanks for your reply!
     
    TnShooter likes this.
  4. Sep 26, 2019 at 9:34 PM
    #4
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    6,036
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    I see.
    I’m not going to lie and say I haven’t “called it good” a few times.
    Add a little Loctite and use your best judgment.

    Is that the right way? No.
    But it sounds like that’s the only way you got.....
     
  5. Sep 26, 2019 at 9:38 PM
    #5
    RSorenson

    RSorenson [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2019
    Member:
    #306376
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma
    TnShooter

    You got that right! I dont believe I'm going to use loctite as none of the bolts had loctite on them to begin with. I may or may not, havent decided yet. Anyways, I was thinking I may just get a feel for 35lbs on something else and call it good, I just hate to do it on such an important area. I guess that goes to say with loctite too. I see how it would be easy to torque them correctly if a guy pulled motor and tranny, but not just the tranny.
     
  6. Sep 26, 2019 at 9:42 PM
    #6
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    6,036
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    Probably don’t “need” Loctite. I just use it for “peace of mind”
    Getting the feel of 35 ft/lbs is a wise move.
    I got faith in you man. :thumbsup:
     
  7. Sep 27, 2019 at 6:40 AM
    #7
    nasaengr

    nasaengr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Member:
    #90609
    Messages:
    194
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Red15 DC OR
    Try a beam type torque wrench with a 12 point socket. No ratcheting and you might be able to get the socket in just the right position to torque it.
     
    PzTank likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top