1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS and spare tire questions

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by rlanicek, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Jan 30, 2009 at 8:34 AM
    #1
    rlanicek

    rlanicek [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Member:
    #9573
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma PreRunner SR5
    My spare tire was stolen over the weekend. I searched around here for some answers but didn't find them all so please excuse me if this is a dupe.

    Looks like I'll need to get a new 17" Spare Steel Wheel, Pressure Monitor, Sensor Nut Kit, and a Spare Tire Lock.

    Do I have to buy the Toyota spare wheel or will an aftermarket wheel be OK? I'm wondering because of the tire pressure monitor--will it fit in any wheel?

    Once I have everything installed, how do I reset the idiot light? I know what the owner's manual says, but I'm wondering if something needs to be reprogrammed at the dealership since a new monitor is installed?

    Will a 265/65-17 (stock tire size) fit as a spare? What size is the stock spare tire?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Jan 30, 2009 at 9:35 AM
    #2
    Okkine

    Okkine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Member:
    #7590
    Messages:
    771
    Gender:
    Male
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Magnetic Grey Access Cab - 2.7L I4 - 4x2
    You should be able to go with any tire from your tire shop, since you'll need to buy a new sensor anyway (though the sensor may not be interchangeable with your other tires)... I'd look at picking up a spare from a wrecked Taco at the junk yard. Once it's installed, the dealer (or whoever you buy your tires from) will have to program the new sensor into the truck.
     
  3. Jan 30, 2009 at 9:57 AM
    #3
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    +1 okkine your spare tire size is what you posted, you can put the sensor in another wheel just make sure the sensor will fit the wheel i have a spare mojave wheel
     
To Top