1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS BS

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Hongster, Feb 18, 2022.

  1. Feb 18, 2022 at 6:28 AM
    #1
    Hongster

    Hongster [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Member:
    #201468
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Vehicle:
    Maybe getting one
    None
    So I bought some new 3rd gen tires and rims with TPMS sensors on them.
    Now, almost every time about 5 minutes into my drive the PTMS indicator started to flashes for about 30 seconds then turned solid.

    What is going on here? And what is a good PTMS diagnostic tool to buy to take care of calibrations and etc...

    Or is there a way to completely delete this sucker like I did with my 2004 4runner?

    Thank you,
     
  2. Feb 18, 2022 at 6:35 AM
    #2
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    13,376
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Did you attempt to program them into your TPMS Controller?

    I don't think the third gen TPMS Sensors are compatible with the second generation TPMS Controller.
     
    Chris2009 and Hongster[OP] like this.
  3. Feb 18, 2022 at 6:37 AM
    #3
    Hongster

    Hongster [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Member:
    #201468
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Vehicle:
    Maybe getting one
    None
    No, I did nothing other than a reset using the button below the steering column.
     
  4. Feb 18, 2022 at 7:05 AM
    #4
    guyfromky

    guyfromky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2021
    Member:
    #353568
    Messages:
    254
    Gender:
    Male
    As stated, I don't think the third gen TPMS sensors are not compatible with second gen. It's flashing and going solid because there is a malfunction in one or more sensors, i.e. dead battery, broken sensor, or incompatibility.
     
    Hongster[OP] likes this.
  5. Feb 18, 2022 at 7:08 AM
    #5
    saltybum

    saltybum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2021
    Member:
    #384683
    Messages:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Space Coast
    Vehicle:
    2022 Tacoma Access
    Page 433 in my 2022 manual covers how to reset it. Don't know if it's the same with a 2 gen. Mine is SR, no actual tire pressures show just orange lights.
     
    Hongster[OP] likes this.
  6. Feb 18, 2022 at 7:12 AM
    #6
    TartanEagle

    TartanEagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Member:
    #209287
    Messages:
    1,055
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '17 ACLB 4x4 MT
    This.
    I bought used, 3rd gen to 3rd gen, and they worked great for about two months. Now, same as OP, flashing to steady-on. I blame a battery in one of them. (Optimistic)
    I'd truly like to get this tool. But can't justify the cost since I don't run a repair shop...

    Amazon.com: Launch X-431 TSGUN TPMS Tire Pressure Detector Tool,Relearn,Reset and Program TPMS sensors,Work with Launch X431 V/V+,PRO3S+,Pro3,Pro5 and PAD V,etc. : Automotive
     
    Hongster[OP] likes this.
  7. Feb 18, 2022 at 7:19 AM
    #7
    Hongster

    Hongster [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Member:
    #201468
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Vehicle:
    Maybe getting one
    None
    Maybe it's the spare tire is now too low.
    Yeah that's hard to justify for truck owner.
     
    TartanEagle[QUOTED] likes this.
  8. Feb 18, 2022 at 7:19 AM
    #8
    guyfromky

    guyfromky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2021
    Member:
    #353568
    Messages:
    254
    Gender:
    Male
    If he has third gen sensors in a second gen, resetting won't help anything.
     
    wi_taco and Chris2009 like this.
  9. Feb 18, 2022 at 7:20 AM
    #9
    Hongster

    Hongster [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Member:
    #201468
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Vehicle:
    Maybe getting one
    None
    I'll check the spare tire once it's warm up a little around here.
     
  10. Feb 18, 2022 at 7:45 AM
    #10
    Chris2009

    Chris2009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2021
    Member:
    #380833
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2013 Reg Cab 4x4
    ^
    ^
    This

    what year is your truck?
     
  11. Feb 18, 2022 at 8:44 AM
    #11
    GrizzledBastard

    GrizzledBastard OH NO! I've built a Faux Pro!

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2021
    Member:
    #370781
    Messages:
    1,512
    First Name:
    Tim
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    '21 TRD OR 4x4 DCLB Super White
    Not enough bandwidth on the internet to list.
    You're going to need to change the sensors to be compatible with the 2nd Gen ECU. When you get the cost to do that, you'll find that buying the TPMS Scan Tool and new sensors gets real close to making sense.

    I just bought the Autel system on Amazon to add NEW sensors to my new wheels. The Autel syste is used by lots of tire shops because they are multi-frequency, meaning they run BOTH 315mHz and 433mHz sensors so they cover most cars without having to have a specific sensor for each. I bought the better TM508 and 4 sensor for a bit north of $400. Shop wanted $360 and I'd still have no control in the future. I just cloned the ECU info to my new sensors and the truck didn't know the difference. You can get the 1 step below version for less. Mine does OBD connections, though.

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B088GQ287N?ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details
     
    wi_taco and steelcity2 like this.
  12. Feb 18, 2022 at 8:46 AM
    #12
    Dalegribble02

    Dalegribble02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Member:
    #291535
    Messages:
    1,296
    Gender:
    Male
    Savona British Columbia
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 4x4 meg grey
    Dobinson mrrs Deaver leafs archive garage hammer hangers.
    Turd gen sensors don't work with best gen ecus
     
  13. Feb 18, 2022 at 11:01 AM
    #13
    Marshall R

    Marshall R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Member:
    #156224
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marshall
    Vehicle:
    07 White TRD double cab
    none
    This is only hard if you make it hard. I assume you have a 2nd gen Tacoma, since you're posting in that forum. You never tell us what you're driving. 3rd gen sensors won't work with 2nd gen trucks. You need new ones.

    You can get them on Amazon for $88 for a set of 4. If your truck is 2008 or older you'll need a 5th one for the spare. They sell individually for about $25. Any tire store will install and program them for about $10/tire. Then you don't have to worry about it for another 7-10 years.

    I've done this to 3 vehicles with zero issues. On 2 of them I bought new sensors prior to buying new tires and there was no additional charge to install them at the same time they were mounting new tires. The other time was a situation just like you where I bought new wheels and tires for a Jeep Wrangler with incompatible sensors.
     
    Plain Jane Taco and Chris2009 like this.
  14. Aug 28, 2022 at 12:30 PM
    #14
    szidls

    szidls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Member:
    #369042
    Messages:
    301
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM AC TRD OR
    Does anyone have a link for third gen wheel sensors compatible with 2014 tpms? Looking to upgrade to 3rd gen wheels.
     
  15. Aug 28, 2022 at 1:03 PM
    #15
    $yoda$

    $yoda$ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Member:
    #296087
    Messages:
    1,807
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4.0
    2.5 inch lift, 285/75r16s, upgraded stereo system, Magnuson mp90 supercharger system.
    Some of you guys aren’t listening or misunderstanding how this works. The sensors and valve stems are the same size for both. You can take the sensor out of a second gen wheel and put it right in a 3rd gen wheel it will fit just fine but the computer won’t read it so it won’t work. You can’t get a third gen sensor compatible with a 2014. You need a 2014 sensor then you put it in whatever wheel you want. The LG remote and the Sony remote will both fit in your hand but your LG tv is only going to work with one of them. Make sense?
     
    Chris2009 likes this.
  16. Aug 28, 2022 at 2:03 PM
    #16
    szidls

    szidls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Member:
    #369042
    Messages:
    301
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM AC TRD OR
    So the tpms is rendered moot when putting 3rd gen wheels on a second gen truck?
     
  17. Aug 28, 2022 at 4:02 PM
    #17
    $yoda$

    $yoda$ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Member:
    #296087
    Messages:
    1,807
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4.0
    2.5 inch lift, 285/75r16s, upgraded stereo system, Magnuson mp90 supercharger system.
     
  18. Aug 28, 2022 at 4:03 PM
    #18
    $yoda$

    $yoda$ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Member:
    #296087
    Messages:
    1,807
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4.0
    2.5 inch lift, 285/75r16s, upgraded stereo system, Magnuson mp90 supercharger system.
    Sorry not sure why it posted like that but you can click to expand if you want to read it. Hope it helps.
     
  19. Aug 28, 2022 at 4:10 PM
    #19
    szidls

    szidls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Member:
    #369042
    Messages:
    301
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM AC TRD OR
    Thanks for the detailed information. Since my sensors are stock 8 yo it would make sense to replace at a wheel swap. Rubber is good with 12k mileage on them.
     
  20. Aug 28, 2022 at 4:11 PM
    #20
    Plain Jane Taco

    Plain Jane Taco ALL human beings deserve equal treatment

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Member:
    #16179
    Messages:
    40,728
    Gender:
    Male
    USA
    I wouldn't say moot. Inoperable is a better word. If you're going to use 3rd gen wheels on a 2nd gen rig, you need the older sensors (pre 2016 MY) installed in the 3rd gen wheels.

    As has been mentioned, they are cheap and plentiful. Don't waste your money on used senors when you can get new ones for cheap. Any decent tire shop can "sniff" them and dump that info into the ECM via the OBDII port
     
    szidls[QUOTED] likes this.
To Top