1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS bypass

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by mikesfarm, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. Aug 29, 2011 at 5:51 PM
    #1
    mikesfarm

    mikesfarm [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Member:
    #60725
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 4wd Tacoma AC
    If it is a hassle and or $ dealing with TPMS sensors when changing wheels or when tire stores break them. Can you not make a very small "pressure vessel :) " and just put all five sensors inside and put it under the truck bed or elsewhere ? Do the sensors need
    to spin to put out data ? Do they keep track of wheel speed ? I really do not mind manually keeping track of my tire pressure.
    Regards
    Mike
     
  2. Aug 29, 2011 at 5:53 PM
    #2
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    You can make a capsule for them and pressurize it.
     
  3. Aug 29, 2011 at 5:58 PM
    #3
    mike686

    mike686 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32285
    Messages:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Waldorf
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    See Build Thread
    You can also do it with just one and put it in one central location
     
  4. Aug 29, 2011 at 6:01 PM
    #4
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Doesn't the tpms system poll all of the sensors? Otherwise how would it know if only one tire is low?
     
  5. Aug 29, 2011 at 6:57 PM
    #5
    mikesfarm

    mikesfarm [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Member:
    #60725
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 4wd Tacoma AC
    Ok I see the mod of cutting the wire behind the glove box. Does this mod work on 2011s ?
     
  6. Aug 29, 2011 at 6:57 PM
    #6
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    It does not
     
  7. Sep 16, 2011 at 12:32 PM
    #7
    sledneck

    sledneck Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Member:
    #53361
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD Sport DC
    MBRP Stainless Duels, AFE CAI Stafe 2, lBilstein 5100's, 886's, smittybuilt Nerf Bars, UWS box, 6000K HID's, Grillcraft grille, Switchback LED signals and DTRL's, 20% tint,
    I built this out of PVC pipe, used thread tape, PVC glue then sealed it with a valve from local tire shop. Put all 4 TPMS sensors in it wrapped a cotton shirt to protect them and filled it with 37 psi and put it in my toolbox. Works great

    IMAG0393.jpg
     
  8. Sep 16, 2011 at 6:14 PM
    #8
    bivey

    bivey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Member:
    #31456
    Messages:
    418
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes but it is illegal for any tire shop to do something like that. I have heard people putting them in the spare and hoping they don't have a flat and need their spare.
     
  9. Sep 16, 2011 at 6:23 PM
    #9
    vbibi

    vbibi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Member:
    #20060
    Messages:
    477
    Gender:
    Male
    san fransisco bay area
    Vehicle:
    2009 4door long bed
    It will be hard to replace the batteries when go bad.
     
To Top