1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Calibration

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by sts167, May 10, 2010.

  1. May 10, 2010 at 6:16 PM
    #1
    sts167

    sts167 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34775
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    I currently running 16" steel rims on my 09. What should I expect to pay to calibrate 4 TPMS sensors for 17" TRD alloy rims I am putting on my vehicle? The dealership wanted $105 to calibrate the 4 sensors; seemed a little steep.

    Also, would I be able to reuse the sensors that came with my steel rims? I have sensors for the alloy and steel rims, but dont want to switch to the alloy sensors unless I have to.
     
  2. May 11, 2010 at 11:04 AM
    #2
    sts167

    sts167 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34775
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
  3. May 11, 2010 at 11:07 AM
    #3
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,804
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    i guess the only way to tell is to take one out and try to bolt it to the alloy wheel.sometimes the angle is off,but they still might work.
     
  4. May 11, 2010 at 11:13 AM
    #4
    TacoDanny

    TacoDanny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Member:
    #32768
    Messages:
    281
    Gender:
    Male
    OC, CA
    Vehicle:
    '10 4x4 Offroad
    King CO w/ res, Camburg UCAs, King Rears w/ res, Ironman Rear Leafs, CBI Rear Bumper w/ Swingout, KR Fab sliders, Ultragauge, Satoshi grill, Weathertech floor mats, DeMello 3 Hoop Front Bumper, AFE CAI Intake, Retrofitsource FX-R Projectors
    I paid around that much to get my tpms paired to my vehicles.
     
  5. May 11, 2010 at 11:24 AM
    #5
    straycat241

    straycat241 maXXXed out mid travel

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Member:
    #7545
    Messages:
    996
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    paul
    montclair, ca
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner TRD off road 4x2
    airaid intake, jba headers, jba exhaust, DMZ enginecage, King 2.5 coilovers , 1.25camburg uca's, total chaos lca's, shock hoops with Icon 2.5 piggybacks, camburg 4.0 Spindles, Defined engineering SUA, King 2.5" Shocks w/Reservoir, King 2.5 Bumpstops,shocktacobumper,moto metal 951's, compartment locks, blackgrill,Glassworks fenders front and rear,ViS racing glass hood,PIAA 510s,hella 500's,black rebadge,fabtech spare tire holder,tailgate delete,mudflaps delete,cobra 19 ultra iii
    i "fixed" my tpms system blinky light is now coverd with tape
     
  6. May 11, 2010 at 11:28 AM
    #6
    LostRebel

    LostRebel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Member:
    #15389
    Messages:
    361
    Gender:
    Male
    Almost Canada, USA
    Vehicle:
    Black Access Cab 4x4 TRD Off Road
    Fisher plow, BakFlip and Snugtop cap, Demello Sliders, Scanguage,
    The 40 deg. sensors from the stock steel wheels will not properly fit the alloy wheels, which are intended to be fit with a 20 deg. sensor.

    Some members have had success fitting the steel sensors in the alloy wheels by flipping them 180 deg., but the sensor becomes susceptible to breakage during tire mounting/dismounting and when the tire is run flat.

    It is a common misconception that only Toyota dealerships have the tool to reprogram sensor IDs. A tire shop in your area most likely has the proper scan tool to enter the new sensor IDs in your truck's ECU, and their fee may be considerably less than the dealer.
     
  7. May 11, 2010 at 11:29 AM
    #7
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,400
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Nothing needs to be calibrated if you are able to use your old sensors on your new rims. What exactly are they charging you for?

    Some have reported that you can use the TPMS from the steel rims on the aluminum rims if you flip them 180 degrees.
     
  8. May 11, 2010 at 11:46 AM
    #8
    wiscdave

    wiscdave Lets Do It!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Member:
    #5392
    Messages:
    2,551
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Rock Warrior
    Past ride - 3" OME 885s&Shocks/ TSB 1.5AAL/ AX184 Rims 285 Firestone destination ATs/ 2 Shallow mount P310s in Supercrew Box - Punch 601s, Beefed up Hunter Brush guard, Tint, Fog light mod, AFE Drop in, AC and Fog light mods, scangauge
    Call around, local shops will do it as well.
     
  9. May 11, 2010 at 2:52 PM
    #9
    sts167

    sts167 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34775
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male

    Thank you all for your replies... if I am able to use the original sensors I don't believe they need to be recalibrated either. I just have my doubts that the originals will fit the alloy rims.
     
To Top