1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS dumbass sensors

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Viper-2, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. Dec 17, 2007 at 7:43 PM
    #21
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Thor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    26,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    if this was the case, then everytime u rotate ur tires, u'd have to take them off the rim and rotate them to other rims and make sure that the rims stay in the same place...doesnt sound right to me. i think all the tpms worries about is the actual pressure and they could care less about position, but i could very well be wrong.
     
  2. Dec 17, 2007 at 7:44 PM
    #22
    Viper-2

    Viper-2 [OP] Secret Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Member:
    #2073
    Messages:
    502
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Keith
    Charleston, SC
    Vehicle:
    Prerunner with many mods
    I believe they are set to measure a 25% drop in pressure. I don't really think they are that sensitive.
     
  3. Dec 17, 2007 at 7:47 PM
    #23
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Thor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    26,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    i know...just responding to the other post. i think we have very basic tpms on our vehicles
     
  4. Dec 17, 2007 at 8:07 PM
    #24
    Viper-2

    Viper-2 [OP] Secret Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Member:
    #2073
    Messages:
    502
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Keith
    Charleston, SC
    Vehicle:
    Prerunner with many mods
    :thumbsup:
     
  5. Dec 18, 2007 at 4:36 AM
    #25
    colttsi

    colttsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Member:
    #3786
    Messages:
    48
    I had a problem on a mazda tribute, the light was still on after the tires had been inflated to the right pressure until we tried with a different gauge and the tires had 34 instead of 32 (I don't remember the exact numbers) and once the pressure was right the light came off. There was only a difference of 2 psi.
    Also, the first car I ever switched tires on that had that sensor was a 4runner limited and when we called at the dealer to tell them that the light was still on even though the pressure was correct, he told us that the rims had to go back at their original place or the light would stay on. Of course we hadn't marked the rims but we always do it now.
    I don't know if they changed the system so that we don't have to mark the rims but I can assure you guys that it is true.
    I'm not a fan of these sensors anyway, the risk of breaking them when you change the tires is so great that the garage where i worked before thought a lot about not doing tire changes on cars that had these sensors.
     
  6. Dec 18, 2007 at 5:02 AM
    #26
    Viper-2

    Viper-2 [OP] Secret Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Member:
    #2073
    Messages:
    502
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Keith
    Charleston, SC
    Vehicle:
    Prerunner with many mods
    The dealer has my front at 32 and my rears at 35. I changed them to check this theory...29 in front and 40 in rear...light still stayed off.

    I reset them all to 35.
     
  7. Dec 18, 2007 at 7:08 AM
    #27
    nd

    nd Radical Town. It's a hell of a place!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1047
    Messages:
    12,738
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nate
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off-Road 4x4 debadged
    De badged, 5100's, Black Toyota Baja wheels
    Glad Tire Kingdom stepped up and took care of things. That kind of behavior seems to get more and more rare everyday. If you haven't already i think you should talk to the manager and tell them how pleased you are. I'm sure he hears what he's doing wrong all day everyday but rarely gets any praise when things go right.
     
  8. Dec 19, 2007 at 1:20 AM
    #28
    Viper-2

    Viper-2 [OP] Secret Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Member:
    #2073
    Messages:
    502
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Keith
    Charleston, SC
    Vehicle:
    Prerunner with many mods
    Actually I found out that TJ was the manager and I called him and told him that very thing. He seemed surprised, like he was defensive when I first called and asked for the manager. Then when I told him how cool it was for them to do and how I am now a loyal customer he changed entirely...it was cool.
     
  9. Dec 19, 2007 at 6:15 AM
    #29
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,705
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    I retract my post as my research was incorrect. Sorry.
     
  10. Dec 19, 2007 at 4:00 PM
    #30
    ellsworth

    ellsworth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Member:
    #2433
    Messages:
    96
    Buffalo
    Vehicle:
    08' off rd 6 speed
    6 inch Fabtech, st stabilizers, 18x9 DC -1s 305/65/18 bfg at's
    the problem with common sense is that its not common.. If people would replace there tires at the correct intervals as well as align and maintian air presure peppered with the ocasional rotate there may hvae not been as many issues..Firestone built a poor quaity tire, wana guess what company made the specs for the build???? so who is realy to blame...
     
  11. Dec 19, 2007 at 8:52 PM
    #31
    WilsonTheDog

    WilsonTheDog Kylie's dad

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Member:
    #3496
    Messages:
    4,839
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Myrtle Beach SC
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 DC/SB V6
    Magnaflow 12576 muffler & chrome tip, Westin step bars, 27% tint, Pop N Lock, AFE ProdryS, bed mat, Husky liners, D-rings added, Access Literider tonneau, Pioneer 4-ways all around, GY Wrangler Duratracs 265/75/16, 5100's @ 1.75", 1.5" AAL
    That isn't true. Even the fed investigated and determined Firestone was at fault for the defects while Ford helped cover it up. While bad either way, not exactly the same thing. Consider that Firestone tires were recalled all over the world from Saudi Arabia to Venezuela and of course the US. Firestone rightfully took the heat for their part in that they manufactured faulty tires. There's no disputing that. Considering I researched this to no end since I owned an affected vehicle, I know the facts.

    But of course, none of this STILL has anything to do with Vipers TPMS sensors.
     
  12. Dec 20, 2007 at 4:59 AM
    #32
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,705
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD

    You are correct. Sorry, my research was flawed (trusted a poor source apparently). I looked more into the Federal investigation, and took my foot out of my mouth. :eek:

    Side Note: I still love my Firestone Destination A/Ts. ;)
     
  13. Dec 23, 2007 at 7:03 PM
    #33
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,362
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    Well, I just learned something! :laugh: I thought it reset the pressure the system looked for when you used the button under the dash, and all 5 tires had to be around the same pressure (meaning, you set it at 40, they all have to stay around 40 before the light comes on).

    I keep mine around 40, and the light get coming on when one dropped to 25. Still looked the same to me, so I'm glad the system is there. (Especially the day before I towed 2 vehicles 100 miles each way) It kept coming on and I noticed it was the same tire. Since I'll be replacing all of them soon I just poured some tire slime in for now, and the light's been off for a couple months now. :D
     
  14. Feb 8, 2008 at 10:03 PM
    #34
    08TurboTaco

    08TurboTaco Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Member:
    #4324
    Messages:
    9
    the tire pressure sensors on the Taco are Toyota's newer version of the tire pressure monitoring system known as the "Active Tire Pressure Sensor" system. They read the actual pressure of the tire from the sensors, unlike the previous system that reads the variance in wheel speed from each wheel speed sensor on the ABS system. The new system is very precise and WILL detect any variation in pressure up to 1 psi. The location of the tire on the vehicle is not important. It has a maximum and minimum pressure that will illuminate the TPWS light. Once the light is tripped that data is stored in the TPWS ECU and monitoring of the system will cease. When the reset procedure is done, the light will turn off and monitoring will resume, the light will stay off if all 5 tires are within the max/min parameters. If one of the tires is not within these parameters then the light will illuminate again. If the light blinks, then there is a communication problem between the sensors, the reciever, or the ecu. Most cases of broken sensors are because the "tire shops" do no loosen the sensors before breaking down the beads on the tire and they will crack the sensors. One very important thing to mention. The replacement of the sensors is very simple (mechanically speaking) all you have to do is to loosen the lock nut on the stem. However, if you ever get a tire shop that breaks one of your sensors and just wants to get one from the dealer and "swap" it out it won't work. I don't care what kind of device they try to use to "wake up" the sensors. Each of the sensors has a specific ID number, that correlates to that specific sensor, that has to be programmed into the TPWS ECU, that can only be done with the Toyota scan tool. The big problem with this is that all 5 of the sensors have to be reprogrammed even if only replacing one sensor. If the tire shop replaces the sensor and tells you to drive on over to the dealership to have the system reset, the dealership will now have to break down all 5 of your tires to get the codes. Best bet is to take to the dealer first. Sorry this was so long winded, the TPWS has become a major burden on dealerships as well. And yes, I am a Toyota Master Tech...
     
  15. Feb 9, 2008 at 12:48 PM
    #35
    ellsworth

    ellsworth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Member:
    #2433
    Messages:
    96
    Buffalo
    Vehicle:
    08' off rd 6 speed
    6 inch Fabtech, st stabilizers, 18x9 DC -1s 305/65/18 bfg at's
    All 5 tires have to be broken down to retrieve ID codes/numbers in order to reset the TPMS? I always thought toyota did logical massaging to there software! Could you explain why this information has to be re-entered into the ECU, I am realy curious, seems like a huge waste of time and effort...
     
  16. Feb 9, 2008 at 1:49 PM
    #36
    marvin02

    marvin02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Member:
    #3427
    Messages:
    73
    Vehicle:
    '07 Access Cab SR5 - Black
    Top Dawg Folding Tonneau Cover, DIY Bed Light, Aux. Input for MP3 Player, OEM Bed Mat
    Is this true for 2006 and up or are there different sensors for different years?

    I know that the Toyota car I was given as a loner had a 'Driver Information System' on the dash that would show the actual air pressure in all four tires (mini-spare). Are the sensors in the Tacomas the same as these?
     
  17. Feb 9, 2008 at 2:06 PM
    #37
    muclhed

    muclhed Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Member:
    #4441
    Messages:
    14
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD Sport 4X4 Black Quad Cab 6-Speed Manual
    K&N 63 Series Cold Air Intake, Flow Master Dual Outlet Super 44 Mufler w/Dual Factory Chrome Exhuast Tips, 20x8.5 American Racing Chrome Razor 6 wheels w/ 265/50/20 Toyo Proxy ST tires. Putco Hybrid Chromed Alumininum 5" Oval Step Bars
    I actually had the shop that mounted my 20' wheels break down my old and remount the sensors on my new wheels.....I went +3 and now run 40psi in 265/50 size tires and the system worked perfectly...no light
     
  18. Feb 12, 2008 at 12:41 PM
    #38
    Brents_Tacoma

    Brents_Tacoma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Member:
    #4709
    Messages:
    1
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Sport 4X4
    I think the sensor should be in their current position, dealer will rotate them and reprogram the sensor not remount the tires and for replacement from tire dealer they should take note of the valve with sensor or wheel's current position and put them back to that same location they'd taken off.
    The sensor will tell you which side(tire/s) needs air or too much air.
     
  19. Feb 12, 2008 at 12:52 PM
    #39
    maverick491

    maverick491 Towing Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1462
    Messages:
    1,077
    Gender:
    Male
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 Access Cab, TRD off road, 6 cyl, 6 spd
    Activator III brake controller, Extang Fulltilt toneau, Factory bed mat, Extra D-rings in the bed, 2ndary air filter removed, Garmin Ique GPS, Eco-2, AFE Pro Dry-s filter, USASPEC PA12-toy, Pioneer 3-way speakers, SG II on Blendmount, Gulf States Alarm added.
    Position is irrelevant in the Tacoma at least as the system only tells you that one of the 5 monitored tires is low/high and then it is up to you to find it. I agree that some of the systems on some vehicles (my rig at work for example monitors all 14 tires and tells me what the PSI in each of them is) but in the Tacoma it's just a dummy light not a full read-out.
     
  20. Feb 12, 2008 at 1:04 PM
    #40
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,362
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    That kind of system would be nice! :D I've walked around the truck manually checking the pressure only to find out the 4th on is 20PSI lower that the rest, but looks damn near the same. I leave the spare for last so I don't have to mess with dropping it if the problem is one of the others. lol Would save some time if I knew right away it was the left-rear, or spare for example. Not to mention, you could see all pressures on-the-fly to make sure they are the same for better mpg and handling.
     
To Top