1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tpms has anyone upgraded

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by myth01, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. Feb 9, 2012 at 5:24 PM
    #1
    myth01

    myth01 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Member:
    #42063
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    south sf, ca.
    Vehicle:
    08 taco Trd sport
    eclipse nav.-w/ Bluetooth & iPod 3'' revtech add a leaf lift kit snug top ss truck cap dive tank racks in back Aux fuse box Aux back up lights, w/ interior fj cruiser stock switch Back up cam Turn signal cams Interior inverter -switched Aux audio/video inputs -RCA (including iPhone cable)w/ 4 input switch Mag light mount Tyredog stand alone tpms Spare tire extension hose Avid off road light bar(powder coated)
    Has anyone upgraded their Tpms system to a real time pressure display system?
     
  2. Feb 9, 2012 at 5:26 PM
    #2
    Dark_Taco

    Dark_Taco ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Member:
    #7576
    Messages:
    760
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    08' TRD Rugged Trail Edition
    I want to disable my TPMS for good.
     
  3. Feb 9, 2012 at 5:31 PM
    #3
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    Not me, I think the TPMS is a pain in the ass.
    My light comes on all the time. It's been on for a year now. Got tired of resetting it.
    I can set the pressures in all tires and it comes back with in a month.
    Recheck the pressure and it is still the same.

    Some one said it might be the spare tire. Who knows.
    I give up.
     
  4. Feb 9, 2012 at 5:32 PM
    #4
    Noslow100

    Noslow100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Member:
    #63108
    Messages:
    505
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    VA
    Vehicle:
    08 SR5 4x4
    Toytec 3 Inch lift kit with Bilstein 5100's, and more
    Indeed mine is a pita. I have just learned to ignore the tpms light.
     
  5. Feb 9, 2012 at 5:34 PM
    #5
    08pretaco

    08pretaco Almost there

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9502
    Messages:
    9,059
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Oliver
    az
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 4x4 CM 5.7L SR5
    AFE pro dry s, Husky X-act Contour
    its sucks because with my 16x8 and 315's i need to be at 18-20 psi to not wear the tires shitty and the fucking light bothers the hell out of me. if i ever take the cluster out either i will remove the bulb of electric tape it
     
  6. Feb 9, 2012 at 7:24 PM
    #6
    myth01

    myth01 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Member:
    #42063
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    south sf, ca.
    Vehicle:
    08 taco Trd sport
    eclipse nav.-w/ Bluetooth & iPod 3'' revtech add a leaf lift kit snug top ss truck cap dive tank racks in back Aux fuse box Aux back up lights, w/ interior fj cruiser stock switch Back up cam Turn signal cams Interior inverter -switched Aux audio/video inputs -RCA (including iPhone cable)w/ 4 input switch Mag light mount Tyredog stand alone tpms Spare tire extension hose Avid off road light bar(powder coated)
    Ok here is a little info. First your spare is monitored as well, add air and your light should go out. If you need to change running pressure, there is a pressure set button below the steering wheel. Set your tire pressure turn key to on but not the engine, hold the set button do I think ten seconds and that should do it. I'm looking for active pressure read out, like a number display
     
  7. Feb 10, 2012 at 6:56 AM
    #7
    myth01

    myth01 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Member:
    #42063
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    south sf, ca.
    Vehicle:
    08 taco Trd sport
    eclipse nav.-w/ Bluetooth & iPod 3'' revtech add a leaf lift kit snug top ss truck cap dive tank racks in back Aux fuse box Aux back up lights, w/ interior fj cruiser stock switch Back up cam Turn signal cams Interior inverter -switched Aux audio/video inputs -RCA (including iPhone cable)w/ 4 input switch Mag light mount Tyredog stand alone tpms Spare tire extension hose Avid off road light bar(powder coated)
    Nobody?
     
  8. Feb 10, 2012 at 7:01 AM
    #8
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I'm pretty sure most people are aware of how to reset the light. The issue becomes going to aftermarket wheels and the TPMS not being compatible. The only way to get the light to turn off then is to remove the LED or create a pressure vessel in the cab and keep the TPMS in them (like a wheel barrel tire).

    Also, not all the Tacomas have a sensor in the spare, only through 2009 I believe.
     
  9. Feb 10, 2012 at 7:15 AM
    #9
    stockplus

    stockplus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Member:
    #30281
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    L.J.
    Way way north of Redding
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 SR5 Access Cab
    TC, ToyTec, Boztec, All-Pro, ATO
    I ran the Orange TPMS system for about 2 years. It worked relatively well, and the display was nice. The only problem I had was that between the Orange and two digital tire gauges, none could agree on what the real tire pressure was. They were within 3-4 PSI usually but never exactly the same. Also, don't expect realtime updates to pressure and temp with this particular system.

    Somebody broke into the Taco last summer and stole the display unit :eek: rendering the system pretty much useless. I wasn't happy about it but I also didn't really miss having it either. :) It's a good for giving you an estimate of your pressure situation...but it's pretty easy to just get out and use a gauge.
     
  10. Feb 10, 2012 at 8:04 AM
    #10
    babytruck

    babytruck Babytruck, babytruck...I've got a babytruck :)

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Member:
    #56797
    Messages:
    8,997
    Gender:
    Female
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2010 Barcelona AC 4x4 4.0 6spd
    But why wouldn't anyone want to keep the spare properly inflated?
     
  11. Feb 10, 2012 at 8:07 AM
    #11
    Maticuno

    Maticuno Resident Pine Swine

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Member:
    #57287
    Messages:
    2,903
    Gender:
    Male
    California High Deserts
    Vehicle:
    08 DCLB Sport
    Pioneer AVIC-D3, SWI-PS, Sirius Satellite Radio, 2X In-Cab 110V Outlets, Constant Fog Light Mod, Inverter Always 400W Mod, Anti-Pack-Rat-In-Intake Mod, Eibachs on 5100's, 2" Toytec AAL, B.A.M.F Rear Diff Skid, 265/70R17 Goodyear Wrangler Authority tires
    Because some people enjoy the "oh shit" feeling when they go to change out a flat and realize the tire with the hole in it has more air pressure than the brand new, never been used spare.
     
  12. Feb 10, 2012 at 8:19 AM
    #12
    jester156

    jester156 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Member:
    #24005
    Messages:
    797
    Gender:
    Male
    Cumberland, RI
    Vehicle:
    08 V6 4x4 DC TRD, 6spd
    TRD Supercharger, TRD CAI, Sirius, Rear TSB, Front 5100 with Eibach coils, 1.5" AAL, URD short throw, fog light mod, weather tech liners,
    my 2008 has one in the spare,

     
  13. Feb 10, 2012 at 8:24 AM
    #13
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    I don't have TPMS sensors in my wheels. I need to pull the LED to get that light to go away.
     
  14. Feb 10, 2012 at 9:43 AM
    #14
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Full size spare FTW!

    Although I've found you're more apt to need/use a tire plug kit than the spare.
     
  15. Feb 10, 2012 at 9:52 AM
    #15
    rpking

    rpking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Member:
    #58543
    Messages:
    215
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roger
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 4x4 TRD off road
    painted engine cover, bed cover, color match door handles, window tint, seat covers, weather gaurd floor mats, TRD stainless steel cat back exhaust, front skid pan, bug deflector, custom holster mount in center console, OME 884X springs and shocks, 2" AAL, OME shocks
  16. Feb 10, 2012 at 4:04 PM
    #16
    myth01

    myth01 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Member:
    #42063
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    south sf, ca.
    Vehicle:
    08 taco Trd sport
    eclipse nav.-w/ Bluetooth & iPod 3'' revtech add a leaf lift kit snug top ss truck cap dive tank racks in back Aux fuse box Aux back up lights, w/ interior fj cruiser stock switch Back up cam Turn signal cams Interior inverter -switched Aux audio/video inputs -RCA (including iPhone cable)w/ 4 input switch Mag light mount Tyredog stand alone tpms Spare tire extension hose Avid off road light bar(powder coated)
    Btw the the button under the dash is a set button not reset, the pressure sensors when brought to proper inflation reset themselves. I run 33's and used the set button to calibrate the sensors to 36 psi. I even deflated to test it
     
  17. Feb 10, 2012 at 4:24 PM
    #17
    HAVOC

    HAVOC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Member:
    #72230
    Messages:
    118
    Gender:
    Male
    Set all 5 tires (if your spare has a sensor) to 20 PSI. Turn the key on and hold the "set" button until the tire pressure indicator light shuts off/stops flashing. Then turn the key off. Fill your tires to 35 PSI ( or whatever). Now the light should only come on when the pressure in a tire drops to 20 PSI. You might disable it by locating the TPMS (tire pressure monitoring system) computer and unplugging it. (Do not touch the button after setting your tires to the correct amount of air.)

    You have to thank car owners who drive their cars with very little air in a tire, have a blowout and have/cause an accident/rollover (Ford Explorer). This system comes on all new cars.

    I work at Lexus and have cars come in all the time with the light on.
     
  18. Feb 10, 2012 at 10:29 PM
    #18
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    My TPMS button was below the gas pedal. I hit it with by boots (Big Feet, I guess?) a few times. So I popped it out and stuck it up under the dash. A buddy of mine has a 2011 and his TPMS is in a whole different place. I guess I'm not the only one that kick the poo out of the switch?

    2007 Tacoma here....

    I'll air the spare when I get a chance to lower the tire. The valve stem is on top
    and I can not get to it.
     
  19. Feb 11, 2012 at 4:44 AM
    #19
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
    My real time "system"...:p

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Feb 11, 2012 at 5:04 AM
    #20
    Jeffch

    Jeffch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Member:
    #69251
    Messages:
    353
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x base Blk Sand Pearl
    Well I am thankful then no sensors in rims on truck besides spare. I have no light on I read somewhere the radio signal can reach a
    50 mile rad I have yet to go more then 50 miles from my spare
    set that have sensors ? No light yet would bug me to have it on
     
To Top