1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS interchange

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by PR45, Sep 1, 2009.

  1. Sep 1, 2009 at 12:37 PM
    #1
    PR45

    PR45 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21661
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner SR5 4cyl
    Can TPMS sensors from steel wheels be used in alloys by turning them around? Or is it mandatory to have the alloy version only in Toyota wheels?

    Thanks...
     
  2. Sep 1, 2009 at 1:18 PM
    #2
    Tex FF Taco

    Tex FF Taco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Member:
    #19714
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Denton, TX
    Helo's with 285/75 R16 Revtech 3" lift w/AAL K&N Drop in Air Filter Subwoofer
    When I bought my aftermarket wheels (alloys), I had the TPMS moved from my steel wheels to the new alloys. They had to reverse mount them to fit. Just be careful when buying new tires though, if you pop the bead of the tire on or off near the sensor it will break the sensor (per discount tire).
     
  3. Sep 2, 2009 at 10:52 AM
    #3
    PR45

    PR45 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21661
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner SR5 4cyl
    Anyone else do this? Results?

    Thanks....searched far and wide, can't find others who've done this.
     
  4. Sep 3, 2009 at 11:48 PM
    #4
    PR45

    PR45 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21661
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner SR5 4cyl
To Top